WE : Up or Down to Die

image.png

Source

Well, I was eagerly waiting for this weeks Weekly Engagement Concept to come around as by now, taking a quick look through the given topics has become an usual habit. When the moment finally came, well it came with a dilemma. The topic Up or down just took the cake for me as having the bad luck to suffer from both Acrophobia and Aquaphobia, deciding whether I should choose the deep dive into the ocean or a boost up into space is like asking myself to choose what’s more preferable way to die.

Well, now I did give it some thoughts and that’s what my weird mind came up with:

If I choose the travel in deep dark ocean, without a doubt the mental exhaustion would tag along. Now, in a worst case scenario, the most probable way would be death by drowning. Unless, of course if fate decides to follow the game among us and a serial killer gets on the loose or I die of a heart attack.

Now, I did some quick google search to find out how long it takes for an adult to drown and the result just terrified me even more. Did you know it takes ten to twelve whole minutes to die under water? They even wrote down the whole drowning process step by step. It felt like giving a person the death card and saying, well if you choose this option, you will have to complete this, this and this phase to finally acquire the goal. Now, drowning alone seems so terrifying, now imagine drowning thousands miles deep into an ocean, in the middle of complete darkness.

Sounds extremely painful and terrifying, doesn’t it?

Now, if I take the option to travel into space, the probability of dying has a few variables. Again, assuming I am not dying of a heart attack, the possibility of death can occur by explosion in a spaceship, but in this scenario, two things can happen. I die instantly by the explosion or somehow survive it and die by the fall from hundreds and thousands of miles above. Or, I could get sucked out of the space shuttle with or without wearing any spacesuit.

If death occurs just by the explosion, it will be a quick death, hence no problem. But if I somehow survive the explosion and start to fall into the earth's atmosphere with the help of gravity pull, well the scenario would be different. I would at least have a few minutes to panic and in the process curse at myself, curse at fate, curse at the people who built that useless spaceship, condemning everything and everyone, then finally accepting death like a helpless potato and dying instantly after hitting the ground.

Now, if I get sucked out of a space shuttle with a spacesuit, well then I would die due to the lack of oxygen and the duration lasts from 30-180 seconds. But If the accident occurs without me wearing any safety gear, well then I would freeze to death within 15-90 seconds. And in both senario, my body will float around the universe for an infinite amount of time without facing any major decay. Which to me, sounds somewhat cool and aesthetic.

So, after in depth analysis of all the possible death scenarios, I would gladly choose the travel to space for a week.

Sort:  

I never consider looking at the prompt as morbid as it is right now. When I checked the other works they are sharing the fascination and wonder to the said places but you give me a fresh perspective out there I had fun reading it and questioning myself too. Will I want to die slowly in the ocean or outside space?

All credit goes to those two annoying phobias I have, gave me a decent amount of time to think about death XD

If you want, you can also write about the questions you are having. It will be a fun read. :v

WE THX IM.png

The original #weekend-engagement concept by @galenkp featured in the
WEEKEND EXPERIENCES community.

Image belongs to @galenkp

You post has been manually curated by BDVoter Team! To know more about us join our Discord.


Delegate HIVE POWER to us & earn HIVE daily.

FOLLOW OUR HIVE AUTO CURATION TRAIL

helpless potato

helpless egg* ples

untitled.gif

Dilo na Potato hoite dilo naa :3

Damn, your reputation is 69.69, just noticed.

Once, I too was worthy of holding those numbers, but now you are the chosen one it seems. 👑

untitled.gif

Ohh shat up! :3

I thought, it will pass soon and no one will notice -_-
You and your shooting eyes :3

Eagle vision you know, Assassins Cred type of shit. ⚔️

untitled.gif