What's Up MATE

Happy Belated Australia day to those in Australia. I actually wanted to post yesterday but I had a stomach ache and it ended up as diarrhea so the time I was going to write the post I ended up in the bathroom trying to shit everything out. Ok maybe that was too much information I'm sorry. Today I will share two instances where I spent time with Australians. One instance will be in person and one instance will be virtual.

Physical
I believe the first time I ever met an Australian was during my university time. I studied under an Australian program so the university was actually based in Australia but I was studying in Malaysia. There were occasions where the Australian lecturer would come to Malaysia and teach one or two classes over the weekend. Something I noticed was that the Australian teachers were super chill and nice compared to the Malaysian lecturers. Before meeting them though, I did hear from people that came back or chose to study in Australia that they were like this but I didn't truly understand. After meeting them though, I can see why people would want to go to the Australia campus to finish their last year of degree. They said it was super easy and super hard to fail. Due to how expensive it was though to live in Australia, I chose not to go there to finish my last year.

****Virtual****
The first time I met Australians virtually was through a podcast. It was the first ever podcast I ever attended in my life. The hosts of these podcasts are from Australia and their hive names go by Bobaphet, giortix and mattclarke. I don't want to tag them but you can check their hive accounts out. Anyways it was just a podcast about Splinterlands which is an online web3 TCG game that we play and love.

I went on this podcast with my mentor, Aruchard. The podcast was just talking about how we got into crypto and Splinterlands. The hosts were super nice and I'm looking forward to attending another podcast in the future because there was just so much more that could've been talked about but we just didn't have the time since the podcast was only one hour.

image.png
link to podcast

For the future though, I may want to meet the hosts in real life if I ever visit Australia when I have the money. I'd also want to meet up with galen as well. Well that's all for me this week. Enjoy the Australia day weekend!

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Shawn on the podcast discussing splinterlands.. nice bro..

haha u didnt know about this? it was last year. only few months ago

I missed it I think.. didn't know about it.. 😕

haha it's ok now u know

I see Matt Clarke there, a good dude indeed. I've met him many times and even took him and his son shooting. I hope you get the chance to hang out with him.

oh how did you know him? From hive as well? Yes he was super nice from the podcast and quite knowledgeable as well in crypto.

From Hive yeah, we used to have monthly meet-ups in my city, sometimes with 20 or more Hive people in attendance.

"used to". Then why did you guys stop because of covid but covids over now though

Not now, but yeah that stopped it back in 2020. They still have a smaller thing now I think but it's all about Splinterlands and I'm not interested so I don't go.

oh that sounds like one id go to haha but I'm not in Australia. Hopefully you guys are able to start it back up with the bigger group. Like a monthly or quarterly meetup would be fun i feel

I didn't mind the meet ups but with them being focused on Splinterlands there's little point to me being there. Maybe the general meet ups will start again though, time will tell.

Happy Hive birthday.

hey thanks lol i ddint even realize that. damn 2 years here

Congratulations @shawnnft! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2024

This post has been manually curated by @alokkumar121 from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @alokkumar121 by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

If you make it over here make sure you visit Adelaide, and make it to one of our monthly meet ups

oh you're also from australia O.O. who did u meet up with monthly