In Search of the Best Breakfast Burrito

PSX_20221009_105757.jpg
Here in Illinois there is no place with a good breakfast burrito like in Arizona or Texas. So after trying all the places around here and failing in finding the perfect burrito I decided to make my own as I remembered them. One of the main elements is creating the right type of tortilla.

PSX_20221009_100505.jpg
First we start off with three cups of flour. Here I used up some all purpose flour and finished the rest with whole wheat flour.

PSX_20221009_100602.jpg
Next add one teaspoon of salt.

PSX_20221009_100631.jpg
Then one teaspoon of baking powder.

PSX_20221009_100700.jpg
After mixing the dry ingredients together add 1/4 cup of olive oil. Mash it into the flour with a fork.

PSX_20221009_100750.jpg
Next add a cup of water and mix everything into a large ball.

PSX_20221009_100837.jpg
Now let the ball of tortilla dough sit for at least ten minutes. In the meantime start cooking the ingredients of the burrito interior.

PSX_20221009_101242.jpg
I had the potatoes cooking the whole time slowly while I rolled the tortillas and toasted them on the pan.

PSX_20221009_100935.jpg
Back to the tortillas. Now that the dough has set, begin rolling them into plum sized balls.

PSX_20221009_101020.jpg
Throw more flour down on the cutting board before rolling. This will keep them from sticking.

PSX_20221009_101058.jpg
I typically roll them in one direction first then at a 90 degree angle next to try and get them as round and thin as possible.

PSX_20221009_103205.jpg
When toasting tortillas just toast them long enought for bubbles to rise and get browned. If you toast too long they won't be able to roll anymore.

PSX_20221009_103230.jpg
Now for the rest of the ingredients. I had some leftover brisket that I cubed. Any type of meat can work here or if you want you can just go with eggs.

PSX_20221009_103255.jpg
Another ingredient is of course scrambled eggs with a bit of salt and pepper in them.

PSX_20221009_103315.jpg
My wife was given a bunch of pepperocini peppers and I decided to use some to add a mild bit of spice.

PSX_20221009_101327.jpg
Now all the ingredients are mixed and toasted a bit more. If you want you can melt a bit of cheese on top.

PSX_20221009_101406.jpg
Now the process is almost done. Stack as much of the filling onto the tortilla so you can still roll it. Here I added some medium salsa on it too.

PSX_20221009_101449.jpg
I like to roll them open ended on both sides so you don't end up with a ton of tortilla and no filling in the last bite. Finally I get my tex mex style breakfast burrito in Illinois rather than a plain egg in a stretchy tortilla with way too much cheese in it lol.

That's all for now thanks for looking :-)

Sort:  

Wow, this looks really delicious.

Its a good portable style of meal, easy to pack for lunches as well.

Yeah, that's right mate

Very good food.i got hungry after seeing it😁

Thanks, once you have the tortillas made you can put pretty much whatever you want in there.

Of course I'll make it.
Glad to see your posts

This looks really good!!

If I had better luck foraging this week it might have included mushrooms.

I'd eat even without them. At any time of the day :D

I might try and experiment with the tortilla next time where I add some tomato paste to it to get red tortillas with a bit of tomato taste to them. I know it can be done with spinach to make them green but we'll see if it works with tomatoes lol.

Okay, your post has officially made me hungry for burritos. These sound and look great and I think I need to put them on the list of "need to make" for this coming week.

I love a burrito with some spicy mince topped with tomato salsa, guacamole and sour cream and a sprinkling of cheddar - it's so Mexican I know, but holy moly do they taste amaze-balls!

Haha definitely now I have lunch figured out, guac is amazing with some pico de gallo.

👌 mmmm yummy! Thanks for the inspiration. I'll be pulling out my sombrero this week 😁

This is going to be super delicious
From it's look one can tell, so what are you using to step it down?

Just a wooden rolling pin, basically any cylinder shaped object could work. I've even used glass cups to roll tortillas before.

Awesome, but I meant if you would be using a beer, tea or water to eat it (stepping it down)😁

Haha now I get it, for this one I used chai tea to stepit down lol.

Nicely done. We have try tortillas a few time but haven't gotten any we really liked. Brisket, eggs, and potatoes that would be great but sounds perfect in a burrito 👍

I tried ordering a breakfast burrito from a place next to me and since I know the guy there I told him how to do the recipe. Little did I know he put french fries in the burrito because I mentioned potato, egg, steak and salsa lol.

The Great British Bake Off had Mexican Week. They contestants were all baffled by what pico de gallo was 🙄

I bet they thought they had to harvest the beaks off of chickens as the main ingredient lol.

Looks delicious @sketch.and.jam 😉😊
Have a great new week!
Thanks for sharing 👋🏻

It turned out pretty good, now my wife will be expecting tortillas every week from now on lol.

That’s even better… she should be when they turned out pretty good. 😉😁🤣😂 especially when not many good ones are around. Home made always taste so much better anyways.
You can try many different fillings 😎

Turns out you're a master chef too. This is so amazing, it looks so delicious. I have never eaten this food, and I have to try this with the recipe you gave

Its a nice quick and easy recipe, sometime I add spice to the flour to add a bit more flavor.

Actually I don't understand about this food at all, if i have time later in the kitchen i will try it