(WE92) Weekend-Engagement - Who inspires me?

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago (edited)

Every weekend I have the opportunity to reflect on various real or fictitious topics that make me discover the person I am, how I would act in a situation, or what I think about that topic, questions that seem simple but are not, suggested by @galenkp in the weekend community.

This time he gives us 6 topics to choose the one we want, it can be one or several, last week I selected 4 out of 5 , today I will develop 2 out of 6.


Topic two: Who inspires

Who has inspired you to be your best self? You can choose anyone at all for this answer, except your own family members. Is it an author, movie or book character, member of your community, Hive person, businessperson, podcast presenter, sportsperson, someone from history? Tell us who it is, how they inspired you, what actions you took and how your life has been improved because of it.

Source

Some people are clear about who inspires them, usually, it's a mentor. I have never been a fan of anyone in particular, if you ask me what kind of music I like I can say several genres, but not a singer, it happens to me with books and other aspects.

However, this topic made me stop for a few seconds until someone who inspires me came to my memory.


Daniela Bascopé


Vintage Moodboard Slides.png
Image created by me with canva Source with resources from Mango Matter en Pixabay


I admire her, I am inspired by her life story, and whenever I have a difficulty I think of her to be better.

She is a Venezuelan television, film, and theater actress, singer, writer, director, screenwriter, and influencer born in 1982 in Texas USA and moved to Venezuela when she was 5 years old, she started her career at an early age and from her first steps, she caught my attention as an actress having success in this area, up to this point I felt admiration for her simply because of her outstanding acting performance.

When she was at the peak of her career at the age of 25 she fell ill with cancer, a type of aggressive Hodgkin's lymphoma that metastasized and then settled in her bone marrow causing leukemia, it was shocking for me to see her in a TV commercial asking for help from the population for her treatment, what impressed me the most was her physical state, she was so thin her appearance was cadaverous and she was sitting with support, I thought she would not survive.

As she was a citizen of the United States, besides being a public figure, that facilitated the logistics, she got the financial support of several foundations, including the presidency of the Republic of Venezuela.

She survived after a bone marrow transplant, was completely healed, continued working in various disciplines, created a foundation together with her grandfather, Dr. Herman van Grieken, called Bascopé Van Grieken Foundation, dedicated to assisting and guiding patients with lymphomas and leukemias. While she was in this process she created her first book "Vencer y Vivir" (Overcoming and Living) where she narrates her entire process even before the diagnosis, how she experienced the physical and emotional crisis, the people who helped her, and gives a guide that serves as an inspiration to hold on to life when everything is against her. She opens up and shares personal intimacies such as how she tried drugs, how demanding, perfectionist, and obsessive she was with her work, among other things.

When Daniela overcame cancer and her book went on sale, I had already begun to admire this woman beyond as a professional of the performing arts as survivor of this terrible disease, I wanted to buy her book but I could not, although it was not expensive I did not have the money to give me this pleasure, several times I entered the bookstores and flipped through the pages trying to read a paragraph before the seller came and asked me if I was interested. I would put the book back in the display case and go on my way.

After her recovery Daniela Bascope has worked on several personal projects, creating channels on various platforms such as youtube where she shares motivational capsules and tools to overcome obstacles and live better, on Instagram she shares tools on her spiritual path, she is also on Twitter and of course, she has her website, where she presents all her work, additionally, she is a businesswoman, entrepreneur and invests part of her time doing social work as a speaker and motivational speaker.


https://youtube.com/c/danielabascopechannel

image.png

https://instagram.com/dbascope?utm_medium=copy_link


image.png

https://twitter.com/DBascope?s=20&t=5RUPmks1M5b3KCcDnWRbZg


image.png

https://www.danielabascope.com

image.png


Anyone would have many reasons to admire her for her professional achievements, mine apart from recognizing her merits in this aspect are more human to define it in a way, I admire her will to live and overcome obstacles, not everyone wins the battle against cancer and in my family there are many who lost, I myself have had a very fragile health in my past identifying with her story, but it fills me with joy that this woman today has a home (husband and son) overcoming all prognoses of infertility getting pregnant without artificial methods.

I follow her in almost all her networks and I receive when the universe puts her in my frequency her advice to live better, I admire her because far from looking like a guru with great wisdom she shows herself as human, with flaws and mistakes from which she learns and shares, for me a successful woman in everything you can dream of.


Anecdote to highlight


In 2020 on the eve of my birthday browsing instagram I saw that this author was doing a contest to give away her book the one I mentioned above, it would be given away from 3 people who wrote the reason why they wanted to read it, I think my eyes popped out of their socket and I immediately participated and what do you think? Yes, I won 🏅🏆, she sent me her book with a nice dedication (I know it's a generic way) but I felt it personal 🤣😆 and I started the adventure of reading her book.

In that instant I understood that what you long for and ask the universe sooner or later is fulfilled, in the perfect time it will come, I was so happy that I jumped, jumped all afternoon, when I downloaded it I started to read it and the wait was worth it, the book pleased me from beginning to end, every time I remember it expressed Wuaoo is amazing what a person can overcome, there are your physical, psychological, and spiritual battles, a book that leaves you tools to fight your own battles.

This is one of the birthday gifts I treasure the most and of course I use it to joke in front of my friends who didn't believe she had sent me a birthday gift.


Screenshot_20220311_172403.jpg

Screenshot_20220311_172417.jpg


On instagram I made a short post that reads:

On the eve of my birthday wishes from the past begin to materialize. I always wanted to read this book and to receive it from the author herself is quite a privilege, thank you God.

She replied: Enjoy! ❤️

Every time I feel I can't take it anymore and I feel like complaining about insignificant things I remember Daniela and I start to value my health, my family, my environment and everything that surrounds me. If I fall I get up and try again, I no longer look at the obstacles or the disease as a punishment, but as a sign that tells me that I must stop and do better, that I must accept, learn and overcome to be a better person that benefits myself and those who relate to me.


In order not to abuse your time, I end this question and leave for my next post another topic I wish to develop.

If you have come this far, thank you! you want to give me your opinion, suggestion or contact me, I'm just a comment away. This is my participation in (WE92) Weekend-Engagement


Thank you for your visit and support 💐

Images without source are screenshots

Sort:  

She's indeed a great motivating figure. Thank God she survived the cancer.

That experience, although quite bad, made her a better person and every day she invests time and money in helping others.

Thank God he saved her, so that she could fulfill her mission.

Yeah, that's true.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I find her so cute, I loved her character in La Doña.
I didn't know she was a resilient woman, excellent post.

Yes, her process with the disease was quite strong, she almost died several times in the same year, and in her book she tells how she got sick (she is convinced that she created the cancer) and also how she got cured.

It has excellent content for healing the soul, body and mind.

It should be noted that I don't know her, she doesn't even know who I am. 😆

@jcchelme saludos 🥰

Thank's for supporting @galenkp's #weekend-engagement posting topics concept WE92

WE TFE image.png

original im src

That's quite a story and I'm glad it has inspired you. What a wonderful birthday gift that was, I am sure that the book is counted as one of your most important treasures.

Have a lovely weekend.

Hello @andrastia, good morning, it is a book that deserves to be read several times. Thank you.

Hola Ana María (@soyunasantacruz).
Definitivamente Daniela es como un milagro, es evidencia viviente de que la fe logra dominar el universo y cuando hay control mental y a eso una fuerza espiritual inmensa se pueden lograr cosas inimaginables.
Esa chama transmite desde siempre, amor, ternura y después de lo que le pasó y superó transmite fuerza, energía positiva.
Es algo parecido a lo que siento desde que te conocí por estos pasillos de Hive.
Tú transmites algo maravilloso que pocos dan y yo he tenido la bendición de percibir.
Como siempre, es rico leerte, consumir tus contenidos que dejan nutrición al ser y al intelecto aparte de alegría.
Bendiciones para ti y toda tu familia.

untitled.gif