A Post About Nothing. That's What My Plan For This Weekend was... Let Me Tell You Why...

It happened... It finally happened.

My final nightshift ended and I am free for 14 count 'em FOURTEEN days I gotta tell you folks it couldn't come at a better time. The last few weeks at work damn near killed me. I have been so run-down and my health has suffered if i'm honest.

Yup I KNOW, it's a great look isn't it?

image.png

The carrot has been hanging in front of me though, 14 days away from the charming place I affectionately refer to as the nihilistic hellhole of broken dreams, despair and apathy ((I said affectionately already, right?))

This weekend was pencilled in for rest, recuperation and recovery, nothing else!

Life just isn't like that though, is it?

No it's fair to say it hasn't exactly panned out how I had hoped but now it is Sunday and the latest (in a never ending series) round of life-drama has been resolved and I am free to chill... Oh man what a feeling. I currently have a liberal glass of whiskey (an early birthday gift for next week), I am wearing my Grinch pajamas and I am getting to indulge n one of my favourite pastimes, blockchain catch-up and planning for the next couple of weeks.

We work one hellishly long Summer cycle at work that sees everybody on the shift, tired, carrying strains and twinges and snapping at eachother. Yup it's as much fun as it sounds, it is exactly the same every year. After this time away I will go back for around a month and then from the end of October till almost March I work 4 days on and 6 days off... It is bliss.

This is the spell when I can really pursue my goals on the blockchain and really get the self improvement community rockin'.

That is also the spell when my place in the top third of the engagement league run by @abh12345 is assured every single week. If you ain't in it, get in it and gamify your blockchain experience by checking out where you rank among the rest of the Hive community.

The post you are reading now is my inaugural post in the 'Engage the weekend' community run by @galenkp join here and check out the rules, it's an easy, chilled community that is all about anything weekend related, what are ya waiting for?

Maybe the community could bring us a taste of the weekend every single day (Yup even Monday's!)... Wouldn't that be nice?

Sort:  

Hi @stevenwood,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Hello @stevenwood,

Night work shift? A nightmare, I would say. Three years ago I formally stopped working, in what they call companies. For 26 years in the public sector of my country and 4 years in the largest logistics company in the world, well, this is part of their advertising strategy. The night hours are exhausting.

I celebrate that your night shift for this season will come to an end. Now, as you say, you will have more time to continue spreading #hive engagement.

Fourteen days off in a ROW? On purpose? Sounds like
Retirement :)

I just love that you are in your Grinch PJs with a glass of good whiskey in hand. I've got a great thick cigar going and just about to watch the last half of the Cardinals game against the 49ers. Life is good, isn't it?

Glad you have some time to decompress. Everybody needs it, you included.

great to see you get 14 days off we all wish we could retire at 20 really though haha and never ever do anything related to manual labour. Now you get to go to a hive meetup and have 2 weeks of work wonderful!

Doing nothing this weekend after the hours you've put is sounds like heaven. Enjoy.

I joined the EL a few months ago.

I just joined the Engage the Weekend Community. So far, it seems like a really nice place. Still taking a look around.

A good move joining the EL, a great way to track your engagement...Asher does all the work! :)

Also, thanks for spending time in the engage the weekend community, I hope you post in there and have some fun connecting with others. :)

You're welcome. I enjoyed spending time yesterday in the community. Meeting new people is always fun and interesting. I get to see what others are doing and how others are coping during this pandemic. See you next weekend.

Hopefully I'll see you around earlier than the weekend, but if not that's all good.

My thinking was that posting was to be done for the weekend. And that posts were limited to a maximum 300 words. If I misread, I'll return to your post and go over the requirements again. Apologies.

Nah, that was just for last week and the #weekend-engagement topic which comes out every Friday with a different theme. You can post weekend-related content in the engage the weekend community any time you like and you can post as many words as you like. Just keep it weekend-related.

Perfect. I'll remember that; then look for the topic on Friday. Have a good day.

Hello @stevenwood, yay awesome days ahead! I can feel your excitement on the 14 days off. Just swinging by and hope you get the well deserved break and fun to compensate for the night shift. 🙂

Bask in your 2 weeks off and enjoy mate. Eocking the grinch pj's by the way

Those duds mate...Seriously, catwalks of Milan stuff right there.

Thanks for the community shout-out and for posting here...Enjoy your freedom, mate...Well deserved!

Thanks G :D

Oh no I couldn't do Milan!!! I would feel like I was letting down all of the other iconic fashionista capitals by not being there for them too... There's only so much Steven to go round, ya know!

Not that you'd know it from the bloody wordcount!

I am sure you can tell by now when I am having a catch-up of the myriad of comments I have not gotten chance to responding to, I gotta be the only person taking part of Weekend Engagement stuff at the end of the following week lol.

I noticed the comment catch up, and the word-count.

Congratulations @stevenwood! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 9000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 10000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Top outfit!

Cheers for the mention, I hope you are enjoying the sunshine in the UK - I’ve brought the clouds with me to Spain 😎

Enjoying doesn't even begin to do it justice. After a pretty poor Summer, these days have been more than welcome, just at the start of my 14 days off work too... Bonus!

I hope Spain is warmer today, if you need the links to each piece of the subtle ensemble,that made up this outfit, just let me know dude.

Enjoy the rest of your time away Asher :D

Its good You get some rest, I have done the same kinds of shifts!
Have a Great Upcoming week!
👍🏼😁🐝🌴🐝😁👍🏼

Congratulations @stevenwood! You received a personal badge!

United Kingdom

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking