Waking up to better and worse

After a decent recovery from Covid, it looked like my supervisor would be able to deliver the sessions next week - except now her partner has it and with a small child at home, she might have to skip anyway , which means I will have to deliver her parts. I am not really looking forward to being on the stage in front of 150 people, so I hope that things will work out and I can stay low-key instead.

But, regardless of what I hope, plans change and therefore I have to be prepared to do my job if things don't go well. This means learning my supervisor's job for the three days of various delivery and organization tasks, which is going to take some time, which lo and behold, I don't have much of this weekend, as my wife is away all of tonight, my daughter has a dance show on tomorrow and on Sunday, I will already be in Helsinki to have work meetings with the Team, as people are coming in from the US for this event.

Right now - I am heading off for a massage.

That's nice!

One of the work benefits that come from the company is some additional credit that can be spent on various activity, like exercise, cultural events and since WFH became so pronounced, massage. Some of my credits are expiring next month, so I am trying to use them up now.

image.png

Take care of yourself!

While it is a nice perk, working from home hasn't been the best for my body all up, as my office (at least I have one) isn't exactly built for physical excellence. I do have an adjustable-height table thankfully, but I really, really need a new work chair, but have been holding out until the office area is actually renovated. Two and a half years is a long wait!

But as I mentioned in the brackets, at least I have an office. I have many friends who are working from their homes a lot still, but they are sitting at kitchen tables and on beds. Suffice to say, two years of this hasn't been great for their back health and I wonder how much impact it will have on hundreds of millions of people globally. Poor physical condition is the average at the best of times and now it has been amplified even further in so many ways, including mentally.

This morning, I spent a couple hours in an onboarding session with a recent hire, and he brought up his mental health. He found in the first months from when lockdowns started, he recognized how much better his mental health was, after escaping the grind. However, after a 18 months, it started to decline and he realized that a big part of his wellbeing came through human interaction.

Now that everything is opening up again around the world, things should improve. But what he has noticed in himself, that last week when he was on a couple day work trip, he was extremely tired afterward. Not only that, the way he interacted "live" has changed and he found it difficult to connect with people in scenarios that used to be easy.

Again, what kind of changes does this make if even 20% of the global population struggles to get back into a workable routine? For some, this disruption will be good, for others, a detriment to their career potential and quality of life. Then on top of this, there are changes to the way children interact with each other, with many teachers anecdotally reporting changes in social behaviors. Maybe in some ways it is for the better, but I think that at least in the short- to mid-term, it is going to likely put pressure on more than our spines and waistbands.

In the long-term, it is impossible to predict the breadth and depth of the effects the last few years will make on us and due to the wide range and complexity, much of it isn't going to be attributed to this period of time, even if it is related. Pretty much, everything is affected in some way and while there will be an average across the spectrum, at the individual level, outcomes can be dramatically different. How many are going to be "left behind" as the world moves on and, what kind of affect will the disconnected have on the rest?

Personally, I don't think I am stronger after the last few years and feel far weaker in many ways, especially physically. It is impossible to say how much is due to the conditions of the last two years and what is brought on by the stroke, but I do know that I wasn't feeling great before the stroke either.

But this is all very personal, so results are going to be wide on the spectrum. But, I wonder, now that work from home is still common and many people are continuing, how many are doing so because they are better at home, and how many are staying home because going back scares them, as it is now uncomfortable and they have lost their motivation to push themselves.

Well, at least for a few moments, a massage helps and it is a good way to start the weekend.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

Well, since I am RFH (retired from home) it's somewhat different for me. I tend to be a bit of a loner anyway so not having to deal with people has probably been a net positive for me :)

Seriously: I go to an AA meeting twice a week, and I haven't missed very many of those. Call it 6 weeks worth in the last 3 years. Covid can potentially be a bad risk for me, but untreated alcoholism is uniformly fatal. So taking the lesser risk of Covid has kept me in contact with people I know.

Besides, I have not one, but two mental health advantages. Sam the wonder dog and my motorcycle. One demands a certain level of care and concern (he'll bury his nose in a body part until I pay attention) and the other is utter freedom, Good combination,

so not having to deal with people has probably been a net positive for me

Perhaps for other people too! ;D

That is an interesting point. Have people been missing meetings because of Covid and, have there been relapses etc that you know of?

There is no doubt that my 'low covid profile' was good for society as a whole :)

There were (and continue to be) missed meetings-particularly those with underlying conditions.

There have also been some relapses in my group, but there always are some. I honestly have no feel at all for a 'covid spike' in relapse. Not even a hint of yes or no...

I am not really looking forward to being on the stage in front of 150 people, so I hope that things will work out and I can stay low-key instead.

Imagine all the hot female ones naked. Isn't that the key to public speaking? I read it somewhere.

Imagine all the hot female ones naked.

I work in an IT company... :D

Good point.

Ok, new plan.

Take a sickie. You're Australian, that's what we do so they won't be surprised.

I was going to give you the best advice on finding comfort on the stage, but I see your brother already gave it to you.

That's nice that you're going for a massage. I hope it's a strong one to stretch and condition your muscles.
As a former chiropractic assistant, I'm an advocate for proper backcare and I'm normally particular about my workstation. I have a detached folding table that's a good height and designed to work from the bed that I'm using. It's not my first choice, but in my confined space, it's one of the best options. I make sure to have good back support with firm cushions though. Just yesterday I purchased a folding chair to use with a folding table so I can rotate my work station.
My chiropractor who is a good friend will visit me, and my workstation is the first thing he'll observe and then squeeze the connecting muscle (which is never pleasant) of anywhere he knows will be affected by incorrect posture. I'm always happy to hear about your health improvements, so enjoy your massage🙂 and your presentation.

:)

I imagine people naked all the time!

It must be hard at times to have good "working conditions" in a confined space.

I haven't been to a chiro for many years, as they aren't popular here and from what I have heard, they aren't very well trained. In Australia, I would go often enough.

The massage was good. It is firm enough for me and still I fall asleep!

I imagine people naked all the time!

Hmmm. Good Boy!😁😆

Yes, avoiding chiropractic care is better than falling into the hands of a bad one. My Chiropractor is a Danish guy who studied at the Anglo-European college here in the UK... one of the best I have ever had. He works internationally for Olympian Athletes and I would confidently recommend him to anyone.
Australia is known to have good chiropractic care, so if I was ever there and needed treatment I would not hesitate.

The massage was good. It is firm enough for me and still, I fall asleep!

That's the kind of massage that I like...😁


PS. I went for a massage in Morocco.
I got the massage and didn't know.
The masseuse spoke no English, but she had a pretty smile.
She applied oil...and I kept smiling back at her thinking, oh this is gonna be good...she's so meticulous with her oil application.
She then beckoned me to get dressed and directed me to the cashier.
I asked her when was I going to get the massage. "Finish massage" she said grinning.
I batted eyelids, paid and left.

Never again has that happened to me. We establish at the start that I need it firm.😂

There seems to be a network of Chiros in Australia that recommend each other. Find a good one and whenever travelling, ask them who to see in other states! :D

That would be my nightmare massage.

My wife booked me a massage once and it ended up being a little to "sensual" for my tastes. The woman was surprised it was for a man and I think it is designed for women who don't get enough intimacy at home.

Find a good one and whenever traveling, ask them who to see in other states!

Now, that's a smart approach to finding a reputable one.
My Chiro was able to recommend a good one in The Philippines, but he was in Manila and I was in Cebu.
Like a stroke of luck though, I encountered a masseuse with extensive experience who was highly skilled. I had her visit me at home and her services sufficed my regular chiro-care and improved my back problems.
Having regular massages is "the only thing" I miss about no longer living in the Philippines.

"sensual" for my tastes. The woman was surprised it was for a man and I think it is designed for women who don't get enough intimacy at home.

🤣
For my taste too:) I eventually realised that the establishment in Morocco was indeed for sensual massages...
#ThanksButNoThanks :)
🤣
😂
🤣

I don't think people want to run back to the office but from a legal perspective Working From home is the new minefield so companies will soon be telling people to get back to the office. One example of a guy tripping over his own laptop cable in his room at home and suing his company as it is his workplace and the cable shouldn't have been there if his office was set up properly. So the company has to now have liability insurance on locations where their employee works. It's a minefield. My brother in law is refusing to go back to the office stating he will leave as his profession is in demand and he will sign up to the company that allows him to work from home the most,

I have wondered when the suing would start - as they say, most accidents happen in the home and now, that it is also a proxy company office, the accidents are going to mount up.

The company I work for has been WFH if you want, before it was cool.

A busy weekend for you it seems. Your supervisor obviously has a lot of faith in you if they chose you to deliver their part of the presentation.

I think work from home may be a detriment to peoples over-all health in many ways, like you said poor work conditions, new habits being formed since few are around them to see them, and interaction on a personal level are or can be absent. A lot of hurdles to overcome before returning to a work environment.

They have no choice but to choose me! :D

I wonder if the global soap usage has gone down since WFH became widespread - and hairspray - and the purchase of pants.

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment !STOP below


Hey @bashadow, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Even schools unfortunately, for theory lessons you have to sit in a chair all day. We should have more practical activities with trips so that young people become accustomed to different lifestyles.

At school in a chair all day, but it is also broken up with lunch, recesses, various activities and moving from class to class. Home office is pretty immobile.

What I do, I repeat the presentation in front of a mirror, imagining double the people in attendance than what is expected, so when you see them your brain will be like Meh, not even half of them, so you will relax after that. It works.

I remember at Uni being told to repeat the lecture in the mirror, as it helps teach yourself as the lecturer.

This isn't one of those presentations though unfortunately, it is quite dynamic and requires interaction from the audience. I just have to know the content well enough and then rely on engaging them. It should be okay, but I haven't delivered to such a large group in a very long time.

I am sure you will do alright. Like the bike, we never forget how to do it.

Remote working could be seen as a great thing; however, if we question it, it might have some real negative effects. I have been working mostly remotely for two years. Here are what I have experinced in negative:

  • You might lose organizational or working culture

  • You might work with less breaks than in office

  • You might get used to be lazy

  • You might lose being a social creature then have some psychological problems

I have experienced the same, except the laziness - though when I do have lazy days, it is very easy to do less than an in office lazy day :)

Personally, I don't think I am stronger after the last few years and feel far weaker in many ways, especially physically. It is impossible to say how much is due to the conditions of the last two years and what is brought on by the stroke, but I do know that I wasn't feeling great before the stroke either.

Is normal to be weak especially when you stop doing something you normally do daily, it will take a little bit time to recover and start living normal again.

I wonder if I will ever recover from this! :D

You can do this everything starts from within the mind.

Dear my friend @tarazkp , Do you envy for smallstep's sweet sleep? When we were little children, we were able to sleep so comfortably under the care of our parents!

Do you want her to live a life like you as she grows up? Can you later tell her that your life was successful and happy?

I never slept well as a kid and I don't think I have had a successful life. It is a cautionary tale, if anything.

Dear @tarazkp ,
You are well aware that not getting enough sleep is detrimental to your health. People with sensitive sensibilities often do not have a deep sleep. It is probably one of the causes of stroke.
I feel that you have had a somewhat successful life.
Because it is very difficult for an Australian to live in Europe for 20 years.
I wish you good health until the 60th birthday of Small Steps!

151403492043113 (2).jpg

Why don't you try to do your work while you're lying on a sofa, for example and put your computer on a pedestal. It's a comfortable position. The office increases stress on members and causes fatigue.

Worst position ever to do work!