Weekend-Engagement #165: BIRTHDAYS

in Weekend Experiences10 months ago



If I were asked what my favorite event would be, I'd say it's "BIRTHDAYS". I like it because it's a celebration of life. The celebrant is given yet another year to experience life. Life may not be so kind at times, but being able to experience a lot of things with the people dear to you is already something to celebrate and be happy about.

I enjoy celebrating my and my loved ones birthdays together. I don't like big parties, but I do enjoy eating something with my family or very close friends. My family, relatives and close friends usually get together at home. We mostly prepare our own food and share it with everyone.


image.png

My younger cousin, Godwyn, celebrated his 13th birthday in our house instead of hanging out with his friends.

I don't know why, but celebrating with family is very important... especially in my family's case. Perhaps, I and my younger cousins consider each other best friends that we tend to celebrate each others birthdays most of the time.

image.png


During my 31st birthday, my aunts and my younger cousin Nicole decorated our house for my birthday as well. In my family, 31st birthday is somewhat memorable because it's the last birthday when your age appears in the calendar. haha I don't know if other people practices this, but we do.

image.png

image.png


During this birthday, some of my favorite people aside from my family also came to celebrate.

image.png

Since it was an extra special birthday, I also prepared some spaghetti for the kids in our community...



When the pandemic happened, it was quite difficult to celebrate our birthdays together, but we tried...



image.png

During the pandemic, we couldn't go back to my father's hometown to visit my grandpa for her special day. So, we sent my cousin there some money for cake to surprise grandma and asked to have a video call celebration. Birthdays are just so special.

image.png


During my papa's birthday this year, we didn't have money to celebrate, so mama and I originally just prepared some special food for the three of us, but then, my cousins suddenly came bringing some cake... and my best friend also came with some lasagna and mango float so we could share and celebrate papa's birthday.

I love it when people remember our special day. I tend to hide my birthday from my social media accounts because I don't want Facebook or the like to remind my friends of my special day... but those who greet me without being reminded means so much. I also make it a point to send a message or call my loved ones who are faraway on their birthday.

I believe that when you greet someone or you're greeted on your birthday means you appreciate that person for being born. You appreciate their existence in your life. With or without big celebrations, having someone wishing you a happy birthday would make that day extra special.

image.png

Duofie with mama on her birthday this year. Papa grilled some meat and fish, and I bought her some mango cake. :)

Sort:  

I love birthday too. Those photos are lovely...
Thinking about birthdays now, it has been so long I celebrated my birthday with a cake, despite the fact that I love cakes so much.
It is always fun to celebrate birthdays with family.😊

Thanks a lot... I hope you could get yourself some birthday cake on your special day. :) And yes... birthdays are always fun with family. <3

It's amazing how close you are even to your cousin, malalayo kamag anakan ng parents ko kaya wala akong naka close sa kanila, sad.

Anyways, celebrating birthday with family is always the best talaga ee. Expect the happy happy kapag magkakapamilya, yong iba may pa videoke pa, sene ell, lol.

I'm an only child and grew up with my cousins, so close talaga... Though yung nasa pic mga baby cousins ko na... para na akong nanay lalo na sa 13-year old... then yung cute na lady is 21... yung ka-edad ko na cousins and those who are older have their own families na, so mejo bihira nlng magkita din... )

and yes!!! the best talaga with family... sa YouTube lang kami ng.karaoke.. hahaha xDDD

Oh, Im so inggit talaga. What's the feeling kaya of having s closest cousin to you, I want to experience it too but well, keri na rin kahit wala 😆. Babata pa talaga nong iba na, parang naging cousin slash nanay kana nila uwu.

Post manually reviewed and approved for an Ecency boost. 😊

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @hive-168869.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more