Electricity: Without It, We're Helpless

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago (edited)
So I really needed to make some progress this weekend-- here on Hive, but mostly moving things around and getting some cash for bills-- but then the power went out... for 15 HOURS.

Yeah. Fifteen long, depressing hours... and most of them were spent in silent darkness, as it went out just after 3pm yesterday. It was due apparently to a number of major thunderstorms with high winds and a possible tornado... here is one CBC STORY talking about the day's weather anomalies.

Storms in Ontario Canada- Hive Talks.jpg
Photo c/o COOPER BAUMGARTNER on Unsplash.

I didn't see any tornadoes though... only the blank clock-face on my stove and the deepening twilight. So I did some reading-- The Greatest Salesman in the World, by Og Mandino-- by candlelight (which was nice) and got as much sleep as I could overnight.

But Terrible Weekend Vibes!

And it got me thinking about our complete dependence on this new world product of ours, this commodity that has been an integral part of our lives for so long that we rarely get a chance to truly appreciate it...

ELECTRICITY!

It's like the whole world stops when we don't have #power... and yet it wasn't too long ago that we lived our entire lives without it. Crazy, right?

Electricity- Weekend Hive Talks.png

I have candles for light, but I was worried about my refrigerated and frozen food (and I still am, but I'll check it all out once things have cooled back down) and I really wanted some hot food and a cup of coffee.

And I know what some of you are thinking... there are generators and renewable #energy products these days which should minimize the impact of outages like this. But I honestly didn't hear of too many people who were prepared-- definitely nobody in my circle.

All of the stores and services in our area-- rural Eastern Ontario, #Canada, but not far from a few city centers-- are closed completely during power outages too... so backup electricity is clearly still not commonplace.

We were screwed for fifteen hours, basically.

With Great Power Comes Great Fallibility.

I really should be better prepared next time. There isn't much I can do about living in an apartment building with no backup power, but I can definitely have a few emergency protocols, a better store of non-perishable food and a few small renewable energy sources to use in an emergency.

Something... 'cause God damn!

Modern Humans Are Useless.

If one of us went back in time 150 years to anywhere in the world, we would die pretty quickly after being ridiculed and ostracized by the locals for our obvious lack of ability or utility.

Modern Humans- Weekend Rant on Hive.png

We would be a liability, worth less than a head of cattle.

The End.

That's my rant. I still have a bit of #weekend to work with, and I'll make the most of it... but I guess I just needed to get it off my chest. (Big sigh: let us pray for the species.)


No joke! We have some serious demons to exorcize. I'm curious to know how many of you have a backup power source? Wait... don't tell me just yet. You'll make me jealous, and I still have a bit of lingering homicidal rage. (Kidding... I've had my morning coffee.) Thanks for stopping by! Peace out for now. ✌️
Sort:  

Man living without electricity is a damn pain. We have had some trouble here with our providers for the past few years, and it's getting worse and worse. they implemented something called loadshedding where different areas will be without electricity for 2 hour shifts. depending on how bad some days we will have 3 to 4 sessions. But thankfully this is not an everyday occurrence but common. and 2 hours is looong without a cup of coffee! So i feel you!

Now most restaurants and cafes have generators so we can get our fix and we make use of ups to power things in case of an emergency!

!PIZZA !LUV !LOLZ

What do you call a hippo who says something and does the complete opposite?
A hippocrite

Credit: reddit
@thatcryptodave, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @mimismartypants
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ.
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(1/2)

If one of us went back in time 150 years to anywhere in the world, we would die pretty quickly after being ridiculed and ostracized by the locals for our obvious lack of ability or utility.

Not much of a steampunk fan, huh? For some that would be the ultimate LARP experience.😁

Ha! I suppose every game needs its NPCs... maybe we could be town drunks or carnival ride operators! 🙃😂

!LOL

I really want to buy one of those grocery checkout dividers
But the lady behind the counter keeps putting it back.

Credit: marshmellowman
@holovision, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @thatcryptodave
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ.
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(4/6)

U r not in the rising star discord =)

:P

https://discord.gg/TWDP8aSMhF

I've been in there many times before, but I'm not sure if it would list me as a member or anything. Is there something happening there right now that I should know about?

!PIZZA

I pinged you because I saw your account on the log buying cards 😅 - no worries about joining there unless you wanna know the latest stuff happening almost on the daily basis.

!BEER
!PGM

Fair enough. I should definitely pay more attention than I do. Thanks for the nudge. 🙂

!LUV
!LOL

A dated a ghoul once but I had to break up with her.
She had a mean spirit

Credit: reddit
@forykw, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @thatcryptodave
LOLZ staking coming August 14! Please read our latest update for details on how it will impact you.
(2/10)


Hey @thatcryptodave, here is a little bit of BEER from @forykw for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Loved the post, I think one key takeaway is humans being useless in the modern era, not owning their own utility or means or production, and being at the whim of those who control the systems we take for granted. Thanks for sharing pal !PIZZA

Thank you! We are definitely shadows of our former selves... sad, really. I appreciate you taking the time to read and leave a thoughtful comment. Cheers! 👍

!LUV
!PIZZA

@mrhellbox, @thatcryptodave(1/3) sent you LUV. wallet | market | tools | discord | community | daily

⚠ The LUVbot will soon require that no other ! commands accompany it. Details here. Hivebits (HBIT) has already employed this.

I have a backup generator set but that's because we don't get steady electricity in my country. We need electricity for storing our food and for getting water so we can't do without it. I think if I went back in time, I would function well without electricity because I've done so for months before but I wouldn't want that. I love electricity how it makes life easier.

It's official then: you are the new captain of Team Dave for the apocalypse. Welcome aboard! (You should try the hors d'oeuvres.) 😋

Hi Dave.

You are spot on here for sure. We are very dependent on the power grid and would be mostly screwed if it went down for more than a few days max.

While I appreciate that you have cited the source of the CBC photo, I would heavily caution you against using it unless you have their written permission to do so. Please edit your post by removing it until you have their permission or replace it with a free to use image.

Thanks for posting, And here I'm complaining about load shedding of 2,5hrs. I'm glad you got that cup of coffee, 15 hrs without coffee would be the end of me.

Andy

Thanks for taking the time to read and comment, @andrastia! And I appreciate the heads-up... I didn't think the cited CBC image would be an issue, but I switched it to something safer.

I was sure the caffeine deficiency was going to do me in for sure... but I'm alive to tell the tale. And I certainly feel a more intense appreciation for everything electrical. 🙃 !LOL

!PIZZA
!HBIT

Hi Dave

Always a pleasure. I tend to steer well clear of using any photos that could have copyright especially from news agencies and the like, they aren't above swatting us with copyright infringement lawsuits, just safer to not take the chance.

Lol yes well if I don't have coffee for a day I get a withdrawal headache that doesn't go away until I get my fix, so I get it (one coffee junkie to another 🤣)

I hate the cuts in power, drives me mad and totally screws up the line of productivity of the day, but what can we do - we're at their mercy. Modern society ain't so modern and you're damn right we'd be wiped out quick stix in the olden eras.

Have a better day with power this time.

Cheers
Andy

It sounds like you get regularly planned outages where you are... not a common thing here in Canada, although I have heard of instances of that kind of load limitation more recently in some cities.

Oh, you can bet your best cowboy hat that today will be much, much brighter... electro-pun intended! 😉

Yes here it's practically every day for between 2 and 7 hours. Third world country. It's pretty darn shite. When Canada has load shedding like that, I'll know that the entire planet has gone down the gurgler.

Lol if I were a gambling gal - but never over my favourite cowgirl hat 😄

Holy smokes! That's a lot of time without power when you add it all up. Is electricity expensive? How do you produce electricity where you are?

The bet's off then! That's a nice hat and I want it. (Kidding, of course. 😉)

!LOL !PIZZA

Hi Dave

Yes, it's becoming part of our routine, it's ridiculous really, but not much I can do other than work around it.

Electricity is becoming more and more expensive, they push the price up every couple of months it seems. We have coal and nuclear power stations here, there's a lot of corruption which I won't go into here, but let's just say that the infrastructure isn't as reliable as it should be.

Nope, my hat ain't going anywhere, it's got sentimental value. I would be devastated if I lost it. It's 17 years old!

Have a good Tuesday 🙂

My dog chewed a hole in my shirt
We have the same taste in clothes.

Credit: reddit
@andrastia, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @thatcryptodave
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ.
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(2/6)

What's the difference between a rain gutter and a clumsy outfielder?
One catches drops, the other drops catches.

Credit: reddit
@andrastia, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @thatcryptodave
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ.
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(3/6)

Success! You mined .9 HBIT & the user you replied to received .1 HBIT on your behalf. mine | wallet | market | tools | discord | community | <>< daily

I would be in your shoes too, no back up power source for me!

Ugh... the apocalypse is not going to be fun. 😁

jaja hell no it won't be 🤣🤣🤣🤣

But I honestly didn't hear of too many people who were prepared-- definitely nobody in my circle.

After watching The Twilight Zone episode "The Shelter" we felt it would be best not to tell you about our preparations for an emergency.😁

Are you the ones in the shelter or the mob with the battering ram? Either way, I commend you for your forethought! 🙄

!LOL
!PIZZA
!gif duck and cover

I am the one who tried to sue after my neighbors were able to break through my bomb shelter like it was made out of wood and cardboard. I lost the suit. Turns out I didn't pay attention to the "It can take a six-megaton blast. No more, no less." on the bomb shelter warranty.

No kidding! I was thinking exactly that as they were discussing their pipe strategy... great acting though. It was a killer show in its time.

!LUV
!PIZZA

I sent my girlfriend a 'Get Better' card.
She's not sick, or anything - I just think she can get better..

Credit: reddit
@memehive, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @thatcryptodave
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ.
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(2/6)

Gosh the acting is just sooooooo bad! But yes, the chaos decends - not a fun place to be on either side of that door really.

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@thatcryptodave(2/15) tipped @forykw (x1)
thatcryptodave tipped mrhellbox (x1)
thatcryptodave tipped memehive (x2)
thatcryptodave tipped andrastia (x2)
mrhellbox tipped thatcryptodave (x1)
mimismartypants tipped thatcryptodave (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Congratulations @thatcryptodave! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 2000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 2250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Congratulations @thatcryptodave! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Be ready for the 6th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2022

Congratulations @thatcryptodave! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 50 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 2 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Be ready for the 6th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2022

[@quekery] Hi we are still missing your payment.

You can find the details here.