WE93; I WANT TO CHANGE SOCIETY ...


IMG-20220225-WA0071.jpg



Happy weekend, hive wherever you are.

I finally got back to writing after almost a month. I just came back from a long trip and also went hiking a while ago. And when I get back into my hive blog, I remember it's the weekend now, and it's time to check out the weekly topics on Weekend-Engagement.

I read through all the theme options, and they were all really interesting. A second ago, I wanted to tell you about a dream I had as a child, and I also wanted to tell you about my wishes if I could come back at the age of twenty. Wow ... years of ambition, dream and colors of a young adult.

But, I finally decided to talk about point number four.

Four: I want to change society...
If you could change one thing about society, other than politically, what would you change and why? What would that change mean to you or others now and in the future, how would it impact life and do you feel it would be a lasting change?

What would I want to change from society if I could afford it?

I want to change the normal standard of marriage age for women in my country, Indonesia. In my country, our society is very busy with matters of marriage age especially for women. Our society considers the appropriate age for women to get married, which is between 22 and 28 years. If married at the age of more than 28 years, is considered a spinster. This is very annoying.

I am now 31 years old and single. I'm starting to feel that people's minds are very old-fashioned. Imagine, I'm sure not all women are oriented to marriage, many smart women who prefer education, or other things for their own development.
There are those whose life orientation is devoted to career fields with the aim that later, when they enter married life, they are more financially prepared.

Our government, has begun to tighten the minimum rule for women to marry, which is 21 years. In the past, the official rule from the government was at least 17 years and this triggered many cases of domestic violence, up to early divorce. Imagine, a young girl who should be able to achieve the highest education, instead chooses to marry just for fear of being labeled as a spinster by neighbors and relatives?

I really want the common people to start changing their mindset. If, a woman decides to get married at any age when she feels financially and mentally secure without being overshadowed by the fear of normal standard age deadlines, then she will be better prepared to face the complicated things in domestic life. more mature in making decisions, not just deciding on a divorce because of a premature attitude.

This will have a major impact on the lack of divorce rates and early marriages resulting in an increase in the number of neglected children (many cases of divorced young couples who already have children, neglect their children). Also, reduce violence against children resulting from the second marriage of their parents.

I believe that women deserve their desire to grow up to be great and empowered.

Thank you hive for reading my blog. see you next week in this community. always take care of your health.

Sort:  

That was really hard to change our society :D

I agree. Seems impossible

Your involvement in #weekend-engagement WE93 is greatly appreciated by @galenkp and THE WEEKEND community team. We hope you have a great weekend and will come back again soon.

WE TFE image (1).png

Image created using canva

Thank you so much.

Hello @titisnariyah

Thanks for your ideas, I think society has many problems and issues between people leading to domestic violence definitely need to be tackled - not just in your country, all around the world. I would love to know if there has been research done into this regarding the perception of age of marriage in your country.

Yes, you are right.

I'm not sure if anyone has actually done any research with valid data on perceptions of age at marriage. However, many feminist influencers and woman activists have talked about this.

Thank you for your comment and for apreciation my blog, dear @andrastia . Have a great sunday!

Hope you success to reach your dream..