You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement week 21: It's all about food y'all!

in Weekend Experiences4 years ago (edited)

Glad to hear that you had fun on the cruise in Ha Long Bay and it was interesting to have Spring rolls as a reward. Was it fried or fresh spring rolls?
I heard lotd of Vietnamese people living in Oz, I was told that they even have Vietnamese markets in Sydney. I have tried some Vietnamese restaurants overseas and yes the taste somehow a bit different. The owners told me that they need to change a bit to adapt with local people so the foods there not totally real Vietnamese taste. 😃 Pho and Banh are most popular and sold at every restaurant overseas.
I understand what you are telling about coffee 😊. Some of my Westerner friends make a bit coffee with a cup of fresh milk and they told me that VN coffee too strong & sweet for them when they first time tried it As the coffee is made from dark roast coffee and
condensed milk 😃
However, they tried second time and many times after they become addicted to Vietnamese Milk Coffee.

Sort:  

When I had the coffee shop the guy two doors down was a Vietnamese guy that really liked coffee. We got to be pretty good friends and he started giving me some grief about serving him coffee Vietnam style so we worked one out. Condensed milk and the same beans that we used for espresso, very dark. I've completely given up the milk, but I used to love making him a coffee (and one for me) every day. I still use really dark beans for my coffee at home.