The first time & My Story- WE83

Some people will remember their first time doing something for the rest of their lives. Whether it is their first day at school, or their first time drinking alcohol, the first kiss, the first love, or the first time traveling abroad, etc..most people will remember what happened that day for a long period of time. I do believe that first times are valuable lessons in life because they help us understand the world around us and how we react to certain things. They teach us valuable lessons about ourselves and others. ❤️

I was taught that we should cherish our firsts

It's always exciting, yet nerve-wracking at the same time, to do something for the first time. You want it to go well, but you're not sure of what might happen. No matter how much experience you have with that particular activity, there is always some sense of uncertainty when doing it for the very first time. That happed to me and I was fortunate enough to have had the opportunity to make my first travel abroad adventure happen in 2014, right away after my graduation. The best part about it was that I was able to learn something new, explore the new country and become dependent financially. It was a surprising but invaluable experience.

image.png

image.png

image.png

After living there for a few months I realized that the place had its own charm and was very different from what I expected it to be.

I had always pictured myself moving to the USA after graduation, however; I found it impossible for me to purchase it during that time and I didn't want to be the financial burden of my parents if I want to study more. After then, I realized that I did not need to live where I wanted to visit. So I decided to search for a job and sent my cv to recruiters in some countries in SE Asia instead. It was one of the best decisions I have made because out of many applications and one month after sending my CV, I received an offer and interview from Singapore for the position of " Branch Manager" for the Franchise Retail Business. It was my first opportunity after graduation, and I will tell you all about it and my working experience in Singapore another time. 🙂

When you've never left your home country, it can be hard to find out what to expect when you first move abroad. Culture shock and homesickness are common issues for people experiencing great change in their personal lives. Luckily, Viet Nam and Singapore are both Asian countries that share many of the same customs and traditions. So I didn't find it difficult to adapt to the new culture and life in this country.

image.png

image.png

From the moment I stepped off of the plane in this unfamiliar country, my eyes were opened to a new world of opportunity and challenges. Everywhere I looked, there was someone with a smile and a "Hello!" While the welcoming nature of people here was certainly welcoming and appreciated, the language barrier is what posed my most difficult challenge. After moving here, I had to understand the different accents and phrases. Then a few months later, the locals were enjoying speaking with me more because I could follow what they spoke. 😁

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

I was surprised at how modern it is as soon as I stepped out of the airport with luxury cars everywhere, amazing architecture, and how advanced their infrastructure is with gorgeous buildings, malls, and restaurants where you could get anything you wanted or skyscrapers with those fancy lights shining from them.

It looks like she stepped into a new world where everything is beautiful and luxurious 😅

Furthermore, the country's modernity is also very appealing to me. The nation has the world's most efficient public transportation system, and they are constantly adding new buildings to their skyline. The shopping in Singapore is some of the best in the world; you can find high-end clothing brands, electronics, and even luxury items.

Food is one of the most things I really enjoyed while I was in Singapore. It is diverse and delicious, and there are numerous dining options from many different countries around the world. For example, Singapore has food from Japan, Thailand, China, Vietnam, and India. The food is not just in restaurants in a specific country or just in a specific city in the country. For example, there's Thai street food in Little India and Japanese food in Chinatown. That means you can have a variety of different tastes when visiting one place.

image.png

image.png

There are a few different things about doing something for the very first time that make it difficult and challenging. It's a mixture of emotions that are hard to explain, but it can be hard to have courage when you are so worried about being judged. Hence, making it easy and considering it as a great opportunity to learn and to explore things outside, after the first time, things seem better and easier because now I know what to expect.

My time in Singapore went smoothly and I met a few friends who were very nice to me. I found that by simply being patient and open-minded, things often got better. It was also important for me to find ways to feel grounded in my new home, which ultimately helped me adjust more quickly to the new environment.

I've learned to become independent after working overseas for years, and also been able to financially support my family through these years. Being abroad for years has taught me to be resilient and resourceful in unfamiliar places, which will make me more prepared to face the unknown in the future.

image.png

image.png

Even though I moved to other countries later, Singapore has left an indelible mark on my heart. ❤️

This is my entry for WE83 post topics: Your first time, hosted by @galenkp. When I read the topic a few hours ago and I can't wait to write about "my first time" right away. I believe that we have many stories, great memories, and experiences to look back on our very first time to do something new, to meet someone special, or travel to another country. :) I'd love to invite @dora381 @kimloan @sunnyvo @winnietran @crazy-bee to share your firsts.. ❤️ Looking forward to reading your stories

image.png

image.png

image.png

Sort:  

một trải nghiệm thú vị ch ha <3 bài viết xuất sắc luôn ạ

Thank you em nhé :)

Your youth has had valuable experiences. That is a person's greatest asset in life.

Thank you anh. I am proud of those great experiences from my youth and will never forget them. ❤️

Lần đàu tiên r kéo dài mấy năm luôn c nhỉ. công nhận hồi đó c trang đã máu lửa r 😀 học xong một phát chào VN đi luôn. Mà công nhận cuộc sống ở Sing hợp với tính cách c :))
!LUV c

Yeah, liều thât haha vác balo lên đi một mình luôn. Sin hợp với chị thật, nó làm mình năng động hơn nhưng bàn về thiên nhiên vẫn thích NZ hơn nè :) Giowf già rồi hết muốn bon chen, chỉ muốn tìm nơi an yên và có tình yêu là đủ haha

Much !LUV

haha vậy thì chỉ có thể là NZ thôi

Giữa Singapo với newzealand, chị thích làm việc ở đâu hơn chị

Mỗi nơi có 1 thứ kkhacs lạ để chị yêu thích. Nói về thiên nhiên thì thích NZ hơn, nói về thứu ăn sự nhộn nhịp hay hiện đại thì Sin nhỉnh hơn nhiều :)

Một trải nghiệm tuyệt vời chị à. Em cũng muốn đi du học lúc này,mà tài chính gia đình không cho phép, nhìn chị dám bước ra bên ngoài thế giới khiến em cũng có động lựng trong những năm sắp tới.

18t còn quá trẻ để thực hiện theo đuổi những ước mơ của mình nè, hiện tại em đang làm rất tốt với những bài chia sẻ của mình trên Hive, hy vọng sau này nó sẽ giúp em 1 phần nào đó trong chi phí du học tương lai :)

Làm mình nhớ lại lần đầu tiên đi du lịch rồi bị nghiện xê dịch tới bây giờ 😅

Trang có thời gian muốn đi khắp nơi nhưng giờ muốn dừng lại 1 nơi ổn định mọi thứ rồi lại đi tiếp haha.

That's really great experience Sis, went working abroad after graduation that must be very exciting. I don't know whether you feel nervous or not, but I felt excited and nervous at the same time working abroad.

Yes, the same girl :) Especially when I did not have any prior experience in the field I applied for. I was fortunately taught everything from the very beginning by my employer. :)

You're really lucky. You have gained a lot of experience with that journey. Everything is so beautiful. The pictures are beautiful.

Thanks so much for this wonderful comment @templeflower, very appreciated it

All parts of the journey were enjoyable to me, including happiness, challenge, and even pain. Everything I gained gave me a lot of valuable knowledge and great memories :)

Again, thanks for stopping by and have a great weekend ^^

Gosh what a stunning place. In comparison to South Africa, where I am, it looks almost alien in its glamour and beauty! I mean, we have our own assets here, but the buildings and architecture of Singapore are just breathtakingly beautiful.

Even so many differences exist between my country and Sin. I'm not sure if Viet Nam will have the same development 100 years later, haha. To me, that's the reason why this little island country has made such remarkable progress. Everything is absolutely amazing.

Thanks for the visit. I greatly appreciated it and hope you have a good weekend there :)

Nice one.
Travelling is another way of learning aside the fun that is attached to it.

It's true that the more we travel, the more we learn about the world and the people in it and also, there is so much fun.

Thanks for stopping by and I wish you a happy weekend. ❤️

ui, chị viết hay quá đi, thật khâm phục chị luôn á. Em cũng muốn được đi nước ngoài làm lắm nhưng ngày xưa em chưa đủ dũng cảm để buông bỏ Việt Nam mình, còn giờ thì chỉ còn chờ cơ hội để được đi du lịch thôi 😅

Thank you em, tụi em còn trẻ còn nhiều cơ hội nè. ở độ tuổi em c chưa đi du lịch được nhiều như em. Một khi em đã quyết tâm làm gì thì cố gắng hết mình để đạt được điều đó. :)

Beautifully written post, living in a different country, change people, open their mind, even if you said that it was a similar culture as your culture, I am sure the cosmopolitan life must have changed you, big cities do that, they help us grow and makes us stronger (if you can survive this life)!

Yes it has changed me a lot. At the beginning of my career, when I had just stepped out into the world for the first time, I was shy to meet and talk to other people, I was cautious when starting a new job and I was hesitant to do something I had never done before. However, I have more confidence in myself and what I have accomplished. Now I'm always ready for any adventure :)

Thank you Ed for stopping by and your kind words, very much appreciated it :)
See you around and have a great weekend :)

You too, enjoy your weekend!!!

Just wow. Singapore is beautiful.

Very well-written post.

Sin is definitely amazing and worth visiting.
Thanks for stopping by and have a great weekend ahead :)

Have a great weekend too!

** I found that by simply being patient and open-minded, things often got better. **
I like this so much. I cant say anything other than your story inspire me a lot anf i love how pretty your words are. Wish you have a lot of luck.

Aww thanks for your kind words and am glad to hear that my story inspires you.
I greatly appreciated you taking the time to check this out, and enjoy your weekend ❤️

An article contains many emotions. At that time, I was happy for you because you could work abroad, have more opportunities to learn and gain experience, both work experience, and life experience. Admire you so much. I hope that you will have more valuable firsts that make your life more colorful and more successful.
thank you for mentioning me, have a nice weekend dear

Awww thanks my lovely @kimloan. You don't know how much I admire you for what you have accomplished in life. Even though I hope to have more adventures in the future, deep down inside, I still want someone besides to love and care for me. :) In the end, that's what we women desire as we don't want to be alone :)

I also really hope you find your love soon, someone who can give you true love. I look forward to seeing you have a happy life with your partner. 🖤

❤️❤️

!Luv you :)

Wow. What a wonderful post! That's just a terrific story.

I always knew there was more to you than a motorcycle and a sharp eye for detail. Thanks for sharing some of it with us!

Good to see you again!

Hi Tom. Glad to hear from you.

I haven't seen you in a while and I was wondering where you have been. Hope all is well with you and I appreciate you stopping by :)

Have a great weekend and Happy New Year Tom


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I must admit I am a little sad we didn’t get to visit Singapore during our seven years in Asia. I am very sad we didn’t get to Vietnam also. Hopefully the opportunity will present itself at some point in the future. Travel is great, it changes you and helps you grow, challenges your preconceived ideas about places , proves you wrong and right all the time. I love changing my surroundings. Bet you’re immensely glad you broke out into the world to do these things now!