You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cookie Cutter Creators

in Weekend Experiences6 months ago

Cookie Cutter Creators

When I saw the title of your post, I thought that you were talking of people who were always posting slight variations of the same post. No, it was literal today.


Does Smallsteps read your blog sometimes? Did you show her all these pictures?


Though, I am not going to heaven - I am not allowed in.

Is it because you think that only believers will go to heaven? 😃

Sort:  

I thought that you were talking of people who were always posting slight variations of the same post.

This reminds me. I don't mind people revisiting ideas and building upon them, but some seem to have a very short cycle of thoughts, without even bothering to evolve it into something more engaging.

Yes - literal today!

Is it because you think that only believers will go to heaven?

That is the rule, right? ;D

I am a non-believer, but I am open to finding out I am wrong after death. However, most religions seem to take the stance that God has a very large and very human ego that needs to be constantly satisfied and worshipped. That it has no more important things to do, other than care about whether I believed or not. I find this view interesting, because if that insecure and petty God is what is in heaven. Something that would keep a good person out of paradise, because they didn't believe - I wouldn't want to be there. However, the other interesting thing is that hell accepts all, no matter their sins.

I am not much of a theologist though :)

I lost my faith when I was 50 years old.

Sounds like there might have been a specific event. Care to share?

My parents were professional Catholic. One brother of my father was a priest, and one of my brothers is also a priest.

For a long time, I had doubts. But, losing faith seemed to me a betrayal of my culture and education. And a betrayal of my father, even though he had already died.

I don't remember the title, but it was a book that triggered my decision to no longer believe in a personal god, one that judges each one of us and to whom we can ask for help or forgiveness.
I also noticed that religious people are not better than non-religious ones.

My mother died in 2018. So, for more than 15 years, I have been a non-believer while she was still living. We never spoke about it. I know that she knew, and she never tried to save me. During my sojourns in France, sometimes I would go to church with her, but not to communion.

We are 10 living siblings. In addition to my brother the priest, I believe that only my two eldest brothers are practicing. When I travel with my brother Philippe, I go to church with him too.