Weekend Engagement 107 - Would you rather (2022.06.24)

The Weekend Engagement 107 by @galenkp.


I decided to participate in the weekend engagement by posting for the first time. Or at least I currently do not remember whether I posted before, or not. I know that I commented under other people's posts, but I currently do not remember posting. But maybe I did.

Either way, I choose the "Would you rather" topic for this weekend.

Would you rather

Would you rather work in a job you totally hate but pays you well or work in a job you love and find inspiring but the pay was low and you had to strictly budget your financial matters. Explain your answers.

This is an interesting question. The current reality in my case is that nowadays I am doing two part time jobs, which I love, but both of the jobs are paying a low salary, and I indeed have to strictly budget my financial matters. But at least I can afford my current rent on my own, even in the winter, so the money is enough for the month, and nowadays I am even able to save a little money. This will not the case in the winter, but financially I will get through. And that is the main point.

My answer to this question

I thought and I am still thinking about this a lot. You have not specified the time frame for the job, but for a short time (from a few months to up to one or two years) I would gladly choose a job I totally hate, but pay me well.

Why?

Because I would be willing to suffer for a short time for a better future. I know that it would be better over time. At least in my case.

How?

With a well paying job, I would be able to save enough money to buy a house, so I would not have to pay rent again, and after I bought a house, I could either return to the job I love, or not work at all, because without having to pay rent, I could live on my low pension-like income, and I could spend the entire day with my Harris's hawk.

Probably many people would gladly pick this option. I know some people, who hate their jobs, and they also receive a low salary. That is probably the worst thing. But this is the sad reality for some (maybe many) people.

Hopefully my answer and my explanation makes sense, and it is understandable. Probably even acceptable.

This is my Harris's hawk and me.

(Image not shown due to low ratings)


Images were hidden due to low ratings.
Sort:  

WE THX IM.png

Thank you for your entry in the original #weekend-engagement concept conceived by @galenkp and featured in THE WEEKEND community

The image belongs to @galenkp

I would take the job that pays well and suffer for a while so the rest of my future is my own.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment

so this is your hawk , he looks beautiful :)

It makes a lot of sense, there are things that are worthwhile of course, for a period of time as you say, what is necessary to then run away and do what you are passionate about and live with dignity.

@xplosive Wow - The Harris' hawk looks awesome!😍

singature small avatar.png

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment

Wow, I totally agree with you… I don't know if I'd do the same, but it's practical and reasonable. Thinking about it, I guess I'm jumping on the same lane. A hateful job, but with good payment.

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@xplosive(2/5) tipped @vm2904 (x1)
xplosive tipped jfang003 (x1)
xplosive tipped isgledysduarte (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Why did you stop posting when you started receiving downvotes?

 2 years ago (edited) Reveal Comment

On second look it doesn't look like you don't get engagement on your posts so strike that, not sure why you would need others to encourage you to post if you already receive good engagement.

Dear @Acidyo Nice to see you responding to this young gentlemen's post. I don't feel appropriate to write here, but since we are a community and love to support each other, I think this post will do the justice to his situation https://ecency.com/life/@xplosive/amazing-news-my-situation-is

As we all know that people with disabilities require special care physically and mentally, and he is living alone with his hawk so most of the posts he writes surround his life.. His engagement ratio is quite nice and his response to community is also very good.

The situation was that some large accounts, were "coaching" him with insults, made up rules, and dvs.

For no good reason. They are free to use their stake and words how they like..

When it happens people just encouraged him to not get discouraged.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

If someone accused me personally of farming post rewards, my initial thought wouldn't be to stop posting just cause I was getting downvotes. Not to mention it may look as the only reason you post is for rewards.

Either way, you're very active in engaging on chain, I fail to understand why you don't get more engagement on your posts. Maybe try something new, dunno. You don't need others to encourage you to write, just do it for the sake of writing and consider the rewards just as a bonus, meaning that if they don't apear some time then don't pay too much attention to it, same goes for downvoters, they come and go.

Thanks for sharing and joining the weekend engagement too!

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment

Yeah I am enjoying the Weekend Engagement posts :)

Every one's hot their choice. I respect yours.