I'll choose 2 pieces but they will never be enough.

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago (edited)

photo-1499415479124-43c32433a620.jpeg
Simon

"Music is the language of the spirit. It opens the secret of life bringing peace, abolishing strife."

— Khalil Gibran


Author's Note:

Well, you know the drill with this one - I essentially talk shit about my day and you read if you're interested.

You don't have to though, you can always just skip this part :)

So about my day... Yeah, nothing too exciting happened more or less. I mean, I found some candy in my pocket when I was walking on the street so, I guess that's cool.

Still, can you imagine that?
Pieces of month old candy just hiding there in my pocket? Crazy stuff. Ha! I'm sure they were just left over candies I stole from that kids birthday party last month.

Anyway, I ate the candy and funny ... they tasted a little expired - probably because they were though. But who freaking cares! I say, expired candy is the best kind of candy!

Oh shit, i just realized I gave that expired candy to a kid today! Oh fuck! Is he gonna die now? Am I gonna go to jail???....

Wait a minute, the hell am I freaking out for? XD
I ate the candy too and I'm okay!(sort of) So I'm sure the kid would be just fine. Still though...

Anyway, enough jabbering, let's get right into the prompt shall we?


I choose No. 2

"Name two songs or pieces of music that have meant a great deal to you, defined moments in your life, made you feel great happiness or great sorrow when you hear them or take you back to a special moment. Explain why in each case. You can link the YouTube videos if you like."

— Oracle


Ahh... Music. Isn't the whole concept just sublime! Henry Longfellow once said: Music is the universal language of mankind and I absolutely agree!

It doesn't matter what language you speak(well, apart from sign language), music can speak to you in a way that goes beyond the mundane form of communication.

Honestly, when I saw that the prompt only required 2 pieces! I was completely torn on which ones to choose. Good lord, there are just so many! So many of them which have touched my life and heart in so many beautiful intiy ways, that I find it hard to narrow myself down to just two!

Regardless stil, I did the impossible and ended up picking 2 pieces I feel are most significant to me in my life.

Here are the 2 pieces, most closest to my heart:

No.1 - Mia and Sebastian's Theme(from the movie La La Land)


You know the expression Mia had on her face the whole time during the performance, was the exact same I had on mine when I first heard the piece for the very first time.

Why, there's really not much to say here. This piece - this movie - was essentially what got me into playing the piano. I was immediately inspired by the beauty and subtleness of its melody.

Yes, I distinctly remember little old me, grabbing my keyboard that night after I watched the movie, and slamming the keys hoping, begging, and crying to be able to play the piece someday. And you know what? I can play the full thing now!

Hmm, maybe i'll make a recording of me playing it some other time because right now, I'm a little rusty lol

Ah yes, I can still recall the feelings I had upon hearing the piece. They were nothing short of: warmth, love, nostalgia, melancholy, inspiration, charm and satisfaction.

You can listen to the original soundtrack by Justin Hurwitz here just incase you don't want to watch the scene:

Ah... Isn't it funny how we constantly change our opinions on which song/piece is "our favorite" but when we listen back to that one special piece of music we hold so dear to our heart, we immediately feel that gushing, overhelming sense of nostalgia and satisfaction. Yeah, I feel the same way with this one.


No.2: Beethoven Piano Concerto No.5(Emperor) 2nd mvm


You know, when it comes to the music of Beethoven, Mozart, and Chopin... I am always left spellbound. These people did not just compose music, they became part of it.

Oh, everytime I listen to this piece, I can't help but think of one thing and one thing only:

The life of a family.

I'll tell you why in a second.

You see, it all started when i went for a concert where the same concerto was to be performed. I was merely a young boy then, and knew nothing much about the music of Beethoven but needless to say, I became ecstatic when the orchestra began with the first movement.

All, was good and fine with the first movement but I'ld say it was the second movement that changed my life. Damn... I will never forget that memory.

I swear, I don't know if it was a vision, a hallucination, or even a freaking past life memory but when the orchestra began with the second movement of the piece, I began to see images. Honestly, the whole thing felt like I was watching someone else's memory and goddamn, it felt so real!

The music... It began drifting me to this 18th century looking scene with two couples. To summarize a bit:

They were young lovers, probably soulmates always destined to be together, whom ended up tieing the knot and getting married

Intially, their marriage was sweet but soon turned bitter when they discovered they couldn't bare children. Unfortunately, the infertility put a strain in the marriage and soon, things started to take a turn for the worse.

By the looks of things, the marriage seemed as though it will come to an end but as love will have it, their marriage prevailed and they remained happily married for another 6 years

Much later, good news came of their miraculous parturition and a baby girl was brought into their life and soon next, a boy followed!

And from there on out, it was a wonderful and beautiful life for them all.

Sounds a little insane huh? But ever since that experience, this song has become very very sentimental to me. I can never really go halfway without balling my eyes out. It really is such beautiful transformative music.

I am especially fond of the ending though: When those high registered chords begin playing in a child like manner, you can almost hear the laughter of the children through the piano. How sweet...


Hmm, they say it takes a certain type of person to listen to classical music but I say... Those who have ears will be able to hear the beauty too.

And in the words of the late great Louis Armstrong:

Music is Life



Before I go, let me leave you with another piece of music that is most special to my heart. It's a Prelude in E Minor by Frederick Chopin.

Not so fun fact: I have made my family swear to play it at my funeral when I die :)

Thanks for reading and keep exploring!

Sort:  

WE THX IM.png

Thank you for supporting the original #weekend-engagement initiative conceived by @galenkp and featured in THE WEEKEND community

The image belongs to @galenkp

Congratulations @zeraton! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the May Power Up Month Winners
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-05 - Winners List
Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!