Learn To Code. You Don't Have To Be A Pro.

in Programming & Dev3 years ago (edited)

The Old Days

I'm not a professional programmer. I just play around with coding and sometimes try creating things, either because it's something I can use or to figure out how something works. Sometimes I'm successful and sometimes I have to give up / put it on the back burner because I see that it's going to take more time than I have to dedicate.

That said, I've done quite a bit of coding over the past few years since I started to get into it. But most of it is just sitting on my computer, doing nothing.

So I decided to start putting some of it on Github. I've had an account there for a while but haven't used it much except to check out what's happening with Hive projects or find some code that I can use. But as far as contributing my own code, haven't done much of that.

Not that I think my code would be that useful to other people. I mean, I wrote a Python script to generate picture bingo cards for children's ESL lessons, for crying out loud. It's nothing Earth shattering. But you never know. There may be an ESL teacher out there with enough Python knowledge to make use of it. Or somebody teaching kids another language. Or who knows what. I have no idea. But it's out there now.

I'm actually kind of proud of this one because I went to the trouble of making it capable of generating bingo cards of any size grid. You want bingo cards with a 100 X 100 grid? Just input "100" when it asks how many columns you want. (This actually took a while to figure out. If you asked me to do it again I'd say no because it was mainly an exercise in stressing myself out unnecessarily. )You'd need to put 10,000 png files in the image folder first, and the resulting images on the bingo cards would be super tiny, and you'd need super tiny bingo chips as well, but it might make for a fun kids lesson about counting and size rather than nouns. I should actually do this some time for a kids lesson. But I'd have to write another script first to download 10,000 different png files and put them in the folder.

So here's the link to that if you happen to be interested -> https://github.com/kendewitt/BingoMachine

Anyway, yeah, I want to put more of my stuff on Github. Also starting to look for Hive projects that I can possibly contribute to. If it's front end HTML CSS Javascript, OR Python, I feel fairly confident. If it's Node or backend stuff I'm interested but probably not yet experienced enough.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing. Can't wait to see what fun you have with Hive. I especially like playing with Hive in Python - usually from Beem, but it's pretty easy to hit the api's directly if you just want some quick data

Thanks for the encouragement. Yeah I've played with Beem and Hivejs, but just to find out how to get post data and stuff, no write operations. Right now I'm working on sprucing up some of my ugly code so that it's at least presentable on Github. Some of it I can't even remember what it was supposed to be for as I don't always name stuff properly and it's only half done, etc., so have to figure that all out. But after I get all that sorted out I will be using some of my spare time to play with Hive libraries.