You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The challenge of starting a new development project

in Programming & Devlast year (edited)

Nice rundown of your thoughts when trying to assemble a tech stack. I can totally relate to the whirlwind of choices out there and trying to match them up to what would work and what you'd possibly enjoy using. But that doesn't mean you HAVE TO use new tech.

Yes, new tech has benefits... and drawbacks. Probably in the same ratio as older tech after years of working hands on with the stack and trying to bend it to your will. I'm not bashing the new stuff at all, but never feel like what you have experience in is less than worthy, in this case PHP. If you really enjoyed PHP, pick it back up and start using it again.

Most of the exotic and extreme efficiency come from heavy customization and creative abstractions. So when you step back and think about it, these "faster" race wars can be insightful, but also may serve to be amusing at best in the long run.

Would love to hear more as you dive into the development and hit milestones and revelations along the way. Hope you enjoy the app build!

Sort:  

Hey! Thanks for the nice and interesting comment!

I thought about using PHP, but in the companies I worked for there is this idea that PHP is inherently insecure. No matter the version, no matter if you thought about it during development. That's why I ruled it out. It would have been difficult to sell the idea to them.

JavaScript, and more specifically Typescript, is interesting for me as I'll have only one language for both front and back ends. I do also have a VSCode extension under development and it's typescript too.

I don't have enough free time to invest in different languages, so it's an obvious choice.

Ahh ok. I thought the app may be a project for yourself or your own company. It's important to have the companies you provide to, fully backing the technologies you choose.

Can't go wrong with JS front and back. Me personally though, I liked it but never loved working in it. But, that's for my own projects :)

Great chat!

To be precise, it's a project I hope to be able to monetize one way or another.
Worst case scenario, I'll learn stuff and make it free ^^