You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Genesis

in The Ink Well3 years ago

So many ideas came to mind as I read this. First of all I was amused. What other posture makes sense, when nothing really makes sense :))

Then I remembered a line from a movie I'm sure you never saw, "Family Business", with Sean Connery. In the movie a young woman seeks out cancer patients. She either buys up their life insurance policies or gambles on their apartments, which will soon be empty (!). Sean Connery turns to her and says, "You better hope God has a sense of humor".

Also, when you write about needing gods so people don't have take responsibility for themselves/their actions. I saw a Turkish TV show recently, "Ethos". The central character in that show won't make the smallest decision without first consulting her religious advisor. Same with my religious tradition, Catholicism. The priest makes decisions about the most miniscule events people's lives.

It's always an experience reading your material. I wouldn't want to spend too much time in the dark places you visit though. I know those dark places, but like to pretend everything will be alright. That's the only way to get through the day.

Hope you are peaceful.

Sort:  

I am a Catholic as well, so I know what you mean about the priests and even protestant pastors being completely involved in the day to day decision making of adult men and women. If we fail, it's the devil's fault. It is never our fault.

I have seen some of Sean Connery movies especially his time as James Bond but I don't think I've seen Family Business. The woman character should definitely pray God has a sense of humor because that's a horrid thing to do to people fighting for their lives.

It is always a pleasure to read your comments. You grasp parts of the stories that shed more light on the nature of our existence even further than my amateur attempts at critiquing our existential realities. Thank you @agmoore