Please Come Home.

in The Ink Well18 days ago

"Hey baby, Chin up, everything will be alright," Jade my little sister reassured me as she sat next to me trying to cheer me up.

pexels-photo-6382612.jpeg

It's been two days since Dave left the house angrily, "I'll be back shortly," that was his last words as he left the room.

"Where could he be? Why can't he just call me and why did he have to switch off his phone?" My eyes were teary as I held onto Jade, the only one I've got in the world asking questions that no one had an answer to.

I grew up with no papa and no mama, rumor had it that my parents were separated a few weeks after Jade was born. Mama died when I was just four years old and Jade was just two years old.

Life wasn't a bed of roses for both of us as we grew up to care for ourselves, when I was 20 years old I met Tarry, the man who became my home and we got married after three years of courting.

"Why can't I just be happy Jade? All my life when it begins to become sweet, it goes sour, just why?" I felt the tears run down my cheek as my head began to ache from the incessant tears since yesterday, "I need my son home, I miss Dave, I want him back, I hope he is safe and I hope he thinks about home." I held Jade closer, as I began to shiver, "Where did I ever go wrong?" I kept asking so many questions wishing for an answer.

"Jade all Dave wanted was for his dad to be home on his 18th birthday, ever since he was 16 Dave never set his eyes on his dad and two days ago, he became an adult with no idea if his dad was alive or not, is it wrong to be married to a soldier? Tarry has never written me letters, neither did he call, the only one who reminds me so much of the love we shared Dave left home angrily, will things ever get better," I was interrupted by Jade "Sis, you're worried over so many things, let's take one day at a time, I have a feeling that Tarry your beloved husband is safe and soon he'd be home and as for Dave? He too will be home, please take it easy and just chin up," she stood up looking all tired as she walked into the kitchen" What should I make you? Cheese and baked bread?"

"Yes please," I muttered, having Jade beside me was the only reason I held on until I heard a knock on the door, "get the door please," my coarse voice echoed from the sitting room and as soon as Jade opened the door, we were all awestruck, "Tarry!!" It was so unbelievable, my face brightened a little as I jumped off the couch and hugged him so closely "Why Tarry, two years without keeping in touch?" He held my waist so closely and looked right into my eyes "Be grateful I am alive, I miss you so much and I miss Dave, where's my son?" How much I have loved to hear that voice but suddenly, I let out a tear "he left home angrily two days ago, because you weren't home to celebrate his 18th birthday,".

free-photo-of-photo-of-my-brother-after-he-got-out-of-the-army-photo-by-lance-reis-kickassdesigns-on-ig.jpeg

Tarry felt broken as he fell to the ground, I am sure he was disappointed in himself and there I saw a hero let out a tear, "it wasn't intentional, he was in my heart all day and all night," Tarry brought out a diamond bracelet and handed it to me, "if he ever comes home after I'm gone for duty please hand this over to him, daddy loves him dearly," this one act brought me so much mixed feeling of joy and sadness if only Dave was here.

I brought out my cell phone and sent him a voicemail, Dad is home Dave, please come home," hoping that someday he'd receive this message and find his way back.

Five hours later, I received a text "That must be a prank, " immediately I put a call across to him " Dad is here son," I gave Tarry a slight nudge as he also spoke to him through the phone.

Dave came home the next day and we all reunited, it was one of the best days of my life, to have a complete family after a long while, Jade, on the other hand, was extremely happy that her sister (I) finally felt at peace knowing my world hadn't crumbled as I had earlier thought.

Even though Tarry would leave soon for another call of duty, I had never been this happy in my life, "Wish me well baby," his soft voice whispered as he held my hands and those of Dave for a few moments. "You'd make it out alive," I and Dave chorused and then I planted a kiss on his forehead finding it so hard to let go of him.


Image 1

Image 2

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @amiegeoffrey! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List

Thank you.

Awesome work @amiegeoffrey! You're truly dedicated to Hive and making an impact with your daily posts.

The names got me confused, I had to mentally remember who the son is, the brother and the husband, lol.

I am happy that Tarry made it home in time for Dave's birthday and Jade has always been around to encourage his sister. I hope her husband comes home alive the next time.

Hehee
There was no brother 🌚

Who is Jade?

The sister to the wife of the soldier 🌚

F*ck, I read that as brother, lol

Haha, so sorry the names did you dirty, it's just a son and husband, Dave is the son while Tarry is the dad who is a soldier. Thank you so much for reading through.

!LUV

sabrinah, amiegeoffrey sent you LUV. 🙂 (3/4) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

What a wild ride she had been on. I can't even imagine how stressful it must have been with Dave taking off like that and Tarry being MIA.

I'm so glad Tarry made it home safe and sound, and how sweet is was that he had that diamond bracelet for Dave. That part melted my hear.

And Dave coming home - that's the best news, and I bet that reunion was something else. I can just picture them hugging it out, tears of joy streaming down their faces.

Nice story

There's no greater joy than spending quality time with family, I am glad you enjoyed the story, thank you.

You do a good job using conversation to drive the story forward, @amiegeoffrey. It was a good idea to introduce Jade into the story. This gives someone with whom our protagonist can discuss the conflict in the story. Something you might have done earlier in the piece is identify Dave, perhaps here:

It's been two days since Dave, my only son, left the house angrily, "I'll be back shortly," that was his last words as he left the room.

Readers are under the impression that the husband has left. This impression is reinforced when we learn that the protagonist's father had walked out. It seems history is repeating itself.

Sometimes it's useful to hold a juicy bit of information, to keep the reader on edge, but always writers need to keep in mind the goal of clarity.

This story has a good arc. The crisis is introduced early, and the resolution is satisfying.

Thank you for sharing this with us, @amiegeoffrey.

Okay, thank you for the feedback, I do appreciate your time here too.❤

It was a really nice write up. I also got confused by the names, but I know there were two sisters, a son (Dave) and a dad (terry)
Being away from home to serve your country is a pretty serious job but getting home and not meeting your family can tire a man apart

Hahaha, so sorry the name confused you, and thanks for enjoying my story. Your presence matter.❤

Send 2m to my opay like that 😁😁

My bank app is not working again🤔😪

Everyone
Like it becoming scary now

Hi @amiegeoffrey, it's good that Dave, got over the annoyance he had with his dad for not being on his 18th birthday and that in the end the family was able to get together again.

My greetings

!ALIVE

@amiegeoffrey! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ osomar357. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

There's nothing like having a special bond with family members, thankfully they all reunited. Thank you so much for reading.

It's often hard for a family where their dad is a soldier on special duties. I believe it wasn't easy for the wife and Dave who wished to see his dad. But glad they reunited again and joy at last

Yes, thank God they reunited at last and hopefully Tarry makes it back home alive next time too, thank you for reading through.

Awww the closing line made me teary. Sometimes I wish military men could get a better job for the sake of their family at least. It is heartbreaking knowing your love one has a 50 50 chance of survival in thier jobs..

It's heartbreaking, all they need is our love and prayers. Thank you for stopping by.

!LUV

bipolar95, amiegeoffrey sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/4) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

You are welcome dear 😘

Your story is a touching tale about the strength of family and hope in difficult times. It shows how love and mutual support can overcome distance and uncertainty. The protagonist's determination to stand strong despite challenges and the family's final reunion are powerful reminders of the power of love and perseverance in the darkest of times. Nice story

Oh yeah, I think the most beautiful bond in the world is that of family, I am glad you enjoyed reading through, thank you so much.

!LUV

jadams2k18, amiegeoffrey sent you LUV. 🙂 (2/4) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Very nice. Loved the flow. Very happy that the end was happy, I was half expecting a twist :)

Cheers from a fellow #dreemerforlife

Haha, I thought of doing something different.🤗🤗 thank you for stopping by.

excellent story ✔️

#dreemerforlife

To be very honest, I didn't know where the story was heading towards. If Dave was going to be happy on his birthday or not at the end. I wanted to know what happened at the end. I'm glad it had a happy ending altogether.
And btw, I'm glad Jade was there to console her.
#dreemerforlife

I'm glad you enjoyed reading, thank you.

Aww, beautiful story! Glad they all got reunited and happiness came back to the family. I thought I was about to read some tragic story😂, but trust me, happy endings are very beautiful😌.

Yeah, happy endings are beautiful too, thanks.

You are welcome