Edward, my magic: Inkwell prompt #61

in The Ink Well2 years ago (edited)

Baby, is that you? Are you back?_, called out my mom who was busy with some vegetables chopping on the kitchen's counter.

Yes mum, it's me. I replied as I tossed my bag on the couch and flopped onto it. I could feel myself drowning in the soft, nicely clothed three sitter. Turning my head towards the door-free kitchen as I laid tirelessly, I shut my eyes to gather some strength before I could go on with awaiting chores in the kitchen; the aftermath of my mom's cooking.

Hey dear, rang my mom's voice waking me up from the thirty mins unplanned nap. Long day, yeah?, she smiled as she gently pulled me to sit up.
Mum it was tiring today, I replied.
It is well my dear, she encouraged. I am done with dinner's preparations plus I did a little clean up too, I'm tired dear. And I know how well you tidy up that cooking space of ours, be a sweet heart to clean up okay?

She handed over the kitchen towel, planted a kiss on my forehead and she was heading out the living room. I sighed, braced myself and finally stood in front of the washing sink filled to the brim with dishes and other kitchen utensils.
Sliding on the gloves since I reacted badly to most dish washing liquid, I began to wash off dirt and grease from a round glossy platter.

Then memories of him, shades of his broad comforting smiles, that cute dimple dancing on his right cheek, his overtaking confidence, his warm presence, his averagely big build with those hard packs I loved to touch, the memories of his caressing hands, those eyes that spoke volume, those tender lips I always bit to my utmost satisfaction filled with ecstatic joy, that overwhelming height of his causing him to make me look vulnerable. All of it, they were all his, only his.....

They were once mine to behold without any restrictions whatsoever but now he's disappeared from me without a trace, I whispered to myself with a shaky voice bringing back my roaming thoughts to the presence of dish washing.
I loved him even when I didn't want to. I only sorted friendship after I got a helping hand from him who was a good samaritan when I was stranded in the bus stop unable to purchase a bus ticket home.

It was about to rain that faithful evening plus it was rush hour so a whole lot of people wanted to be home before the downpour. In the course of leaving work on time, I forgot my wallet in my office drawer, rendering me cashless. At the bus stop, I realized I wasn't with a dime and then Edward, my good samaritan showed up with a purchased ticket.

I was so grateful I offered lunch the next day with him to show appreciation for the selfless help. One meeting led to many others and we began dating. He has been nothing but magical. I have been in quite a number of relationships before but neither of them felt as safe I was with Edward. He was a fairytale playing in reality to me.

He even bonded well with my mom and has spoken most times with my dad who does a lot of traveling. They both accepted him wholeheartedly. He was the glue that held a temperamental me in place. He was a breath of fresh air that you can't get enough of. He was the magic in my life

But all that magic left like a flash of light the very moment I discovered he lied. Edward was married to a Maria who he never made mention of till I paid him a surprise visit. It was so heart shattering. I trusted him, I believed he was the heaven sent magic to come bring back life to my dead love life but

I guess he really wasn't......

4CC5DD76-3AC4-4803-A045-1A9A244D3A8A.jpegSource

I was all done with chores and since I lost my appetite to deep memory flashes of Edward, I decided to get some sleep after freshening up. Mum was already asleep, I guess she was really as tired as she had commented.

I was about flipping over the light switches when a gentle knock rang on the door. It was still an early evening so I wasn't at all surprised. Besides, dad most of the time, returned from his enormous trips on different occasions by that time of the day so it was fair and safe to check who was on the other side of the door.
I slid the door open and I found Edward starring at me like I was the needed oxygen to give him life in a suffocating situation. He held out, grabbed me and had a warm, tight hug wrapped around me. I was still as confused as earlier.

Then he found his words, "Maria and I were never really married. I just accommodated her as a friend after a broken marriage and I'm her guardian from her ex-husband who's a sick stalker. So she disguises herself as my wife especially in the midst of strangers".

"Don't get me wrong dear, I've spoken about you countless times but she hasn't had time to see you in person that's why she acted that way, introducing herself as my wife". "She's her to apologize and clear the air too but I asked her to sit outside till I call for her".

I was puzzled with those last words of his. Why should he do that? He could have just come directly with her to the front door instead of having her sit outside in danger of her ex-husband at large. "Edward, you shouldn't have. Let her in please", I said.
In a heartbeat, Maria was sitted in front of me and Edward beside me with his broad hands clasping mine. Mom came out for a glass of water and she was told everything. "I've always believed you were true to my daughter", she said to Edward. "I just hope you don't keep things from her in the future to come".

"I won't ma'am, and thank you for your approval", he replied. "I've had one thing on my mind for a while now to ask your daughter", he said smiling lazily turning towards me. "But I'll do so when the time is right. As for now, my darling", he continued, "will you please forgive me?". "I would never think of keeping you in the dark, I'm sorry".

I replied with a smile, "as long as you promise not to be found wanting, then your apologies are accepted", I said brightly into his face. The magic in my life I thought I had lost was back. Happiness engulfed me as I placed my head on his shoulder while holding his hands.

Sort:  

Link to the previous post

Copying and pasting previous posts or significant parts of them could be seen as fraud when:

  • Reposting the same content without significant additional original content/changes; and/or
  • Reposting content within the same payout window

Fraud is discouraged by the community and may result in the account being Blacklisted.
Please refrain from copying and pasting previous posts going forward.

If you believe this comment is in error, please contact us in #appeals in Discord.

I'm sorry about that, it was a mistake of publication on the wrong community 🙏😭

How can I rectify this mistake? Help, thanks

It looks like you worked out the double post situation by removing the other, @blackalbino1. That is the best way to handle it.

Your story is interesting and well-told. What a surprise when Edward first turns out to be married, and then again when it turns out he is not married by helping to protect a woman from her ex. That's a clever plot.

Thank you for posting in The Ink Well, and for supporting other writers by reading and commenting on their stories.

I’m glad the honest mistake didn’t cost me a my hive reputation. A similar case has once happened to me so I’ll be as careful as I can.
Thanks for reading through….

I enjoyed your story, and the very interesting twist, @blackalbino1. I was worried that Edward was making up a lie so he could keep both relationships, but when he brought Maria as proof, that cleared it up!

I have a suggested edit for you. You used the word "faithful" in this line:

It was about to rain that faithful evening...

The correct word is actual "fateful," as the expression is about fate and destiny, not about religion or faith.

Good luck and keep writing!

Oh yeah, how could I have missed that. Thanks for the correction @jayna and I am happy to the moon and back to receive a comment from you
Ps: I’m a big fan of yours especially because of your #actifit posts 😜

I'm usually not caught off guard with stories. I can tell where they are leading often, but your story was a nice surprise for me. You didn't rush this at all, and you added lovely details to each scene. Nice development and the twist at the end was not expected. I enjoyed this story

Thanks for stopping by and I’m glad you got an unexpected surprise from my post, hehe

I know right. Some people are just made for us whether we try to rush things or take them slowly. Anyways, I’m glad you were entertained 😊