Never Truly Healed

in The Ink Welllast year

pexels-alex-green-5700165.jpg
Photo by Alex Green

I was sitting up on my hospital bed, staring out the window. My mind was occupied with a hurtful thought. A piece of orange entered my mouth while a tear exited my eye. Thinking became praying. Praying became asking. Why did God not protect me? Why did he let the seed of Tuberculosis grow in my 16-year-old lung? I stopped asking, fearing it might break into blaming. I dared not voice any hint of anger, although deep down it might have been clear.

Seconds later, a figure was visible in my peripheral view. Yellow blouse, skinny jeans, black long hair, and the familiar Bible in her hand. Now I can’t remember her name, but I know I used to call her My, short for mommy. For the sake of this story, let’s call her Anna. I and the other teams call Ana "My" because we saw her as a mother figure in our faith in Christ. She was seen as a mother nurturing us with the word of God. She, together with some of my Bible study peers, visited to pray over me in the hospital. Hands raised over me while curious eyes stared over us, but I did not mind. It felt so good to be prayed for like a portion of the sky opened up and let a ray of light shine just for me. My heart found comfort and hope, but that did not last long.

After the prayer, Anna held my hand and let loose a deep breath. We looked at each other for a couple of seconds before she revealed what was on her mind.

"This might sound hurtful and sad, but God revealed to me that there will be no healing for you unless your parents offer their lives to the Lord and come with us," she said.

Words got stuck in my throat. I swallowed them all and hope went down with them. I let another tear do the talking. All the other interactions with them that day never made it to my memory. How could I think of other things when I was going to die? I was sure death was near, and I remembered how I got so close to it.

A few months before being infected, I found myself attending a different church. My family, especially my father, did not take it so well. He cut my allowance, so I ended up walking a few kilometers from home to church just to attend service every Sunday. I got slapped in the face for my choice. I also ran away from home for a few days just to prove my heart was set on my newfound way of life and worship. Those were the sacrifices I gladly offered, and I regretted nothing. My blazing faith made me hungry for more of God’s presence. When I learned there would be a week-long Bible study in another church, I and some friends decided to attend. That time, I didn’t think of anything else, only learning more about God.

Then the changes happened. Days after the Bible study, beauty found a hole and leaked out of my face. No matter how I style my hair, I looked unattractive. I knew my observation was not exclusive to me. My classmates saw it too. My health drastically declined, and my chest started hurting every time I breathe.

When the reason for this decline was found out, suspicions circulated that I got it from one of the members of the church where we attended the Bible study for a week. This got more believable when days after my diagnosis, two other friends who came with me were infected too.

The disease not only hurt my body. It also hurt my chances of convincing my parents to let me worship God the way I wanted let alone invite them to come to service with me. Every day in the hospital my family reminded me whether in words or silence that my sickness was a warning, a sign that I should reassess my religion. My family will never see this as a blessing. They would never change their ways. For that failure, I would not be healed. I lost the battle to win my parents' souls, and I lost a part of my devotion to God. Those were the thoughts that kept ringing in my head like constant drops that created ripples of anxiety.

My attendance at the new church got more seldom as time passed. My ties with the organization snapped one day at a time until I felt I am no longer connected to them. What was worse was that more time later, my relationship with God got severed and I am no longer the girl who was hungry for His presence. Shame and doubt clouded my divine communication, and time did not fix that.

Contrary to my anxious expectation of physical death, I got completely healed after nine months of treatment. However, I could not say I am healthy. I lost something more precious than life, and perhaps that was death already.

Sort:  

This is quite emotional and touching. I lack the right words to express what this post elicits in me

I already appreciate your reading my story. This is the first time I wrote about this experience, so thank you so much.

What an interesting and intense experience, @cloflo. Time and the love of your family will give you comfort from the spiritual loss you suffer so painfully. There is no one way to love God and he will not leave your life. Thankfully your illness yielded to treatments and the dark prognoses failed.

Thank you very much not just for giving me again your time but also for posting your prompts. I am often surprised that the prompts give me opportunities to remember things in my past and process them again.

I still choose to be grateful to God despite everything that happened. It might not be enough, but I think that's what I can do for now. Hopefully, there are still things-- better things waiting for me in my spiritual journey.

Congratulations @cloflo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 6000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the March Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - February 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the March edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Thank you!

Awesome job @cloflo! Keep pushing yourself and you'll reach your Hive goals before you know it.

There is a song called "losing my religion". While I was carefully reading your story, this melody resonated in my head.
Losing faith is difficult, sometimes the family itself makes disputes over religion. It's hard to find what to believe when no one truly supports you.
Interesting story, thanks for sharing.
Good day.

I know that song. A classic! For me, it's dark and kinda sad, but I love listening to it. I just realized I relate to it somehow. Thank you for reading my story. I was having second thoughts about sharing this but I guess being vulnerable is just being human.

Very interesting your story, keep worshiping God, he will heal you spiritually and you will feel an inner peace. Have a happy night.

Thank you @rammargarita. I know a part of me holds on to the promises in your words.

"This might sound hurtful and sad, but God revealed to me that there will be no healing for you unless your parents offer their lives to the Lord and come with us," she said.

I wonder, if this is true Clo, I never had an encounter with someone from the church saying such words to its member. I hate it if this was just a spur-of-the-moment from My. The truth is God provides healing, but not always in a physical state.

God will always be by your side. You are loved regardless.

Ayun lang - praying for you and your family for this journey.

Before, I had so much respect for her that I believed her. However now, I'm thinking it might have been a manipulation or something like that to expand the church. I don't exactly know what to believe.

Thank you for the prayers. I hope your family will be blessed more. Also, thanks for stopping by.