You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pots and Kettles

The story reminds me of Aladdin and the magic lamp. Since the beginning of the story is a fairy tale, I was able to get over the confusion after Jane followed the voice of the kettle without being particularly surprised that it was talking. I guess that's the way fairy tales and dreams are. Absurd things happen, but you don't really care.
Specifying wishes is certainly a lesson worth learning. In a deeper sense, they are downright dangerous, because although much of what one says just so happens to have no further significance for what happens between people, it often turns out that the many voices and their many wishes are actually heard and taken up. In this respect, this fairy tale, like all fairy tales, has a deeper meaning. I know a joke about this, but it would be a bit too salacious to tell here. LOL

Sort:  

I understand your point, I feel like even minus dreams and fairytales, a lot of us do a lot of crazy things without thinking about it.