You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Ink Well Weekly Fiction Prompt #1: Heart and Soul/Far away spring

Thank you for your nice and informed comment, @justclickindiva.

I think you have been able to read in my exercise situations that are not expressly said but are tacit and/or form part of the substratum that the reader contributes. As some scholars say, readers finish writing the books.... You imagined the conflict (which at some point may arise because of the different social backgrounds of the bride and groom) and resolved it, reading the significance of the symbolism and thinking for the mother:

The mother also knew what the fir tree symbolised. She knew that her daughter had found a dedicated suitor.

I wanted my story to be peaceful, to worship the beautiful face of love.

I have also been a reader of medieval stories. I love and am gripped by anything to do with that era where the world we know today came into being, even though it is conceived as a dark time.

Grateful again for your reading.

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Yes, I feel the mother didn't protest when the daughter showed her each of the sprigs because she already knew what they represented. The suitor reaffirmed his intentions each time he gave her daughter one.