You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Ink Well Weekly Fiction Prompt #1: Heart and Soul/Far away spring

When I started writing I was thinking about the birth of love in an adolescent couple.

Certainly that happens in a timeless way. Nevertheless, I incorporated some clues about time: the use of carriages and horses, the proximity of the forest, the celebration of spring with bonfires, the presence of the guilds (carpenters and peasants), the use of the ninth hour as a reference to measure daily time ... Annaliesa's age gives the most important clue, although it is perhaps a little cryptic. In medieval times young people came of age at the age of twelve.
I'm glad you liked my work, @theinkwell.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing those details! It's lovely to see the writer's mind at work and learn about the thinking that went into a particular tale.