You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Inkwellprompt - Dearly departed

in The Ink Well3 years ago

Dealing with death is always difficult, but especially when it is sudden and unexpected.

When I read this line, I wasn't sure who it is referring to:

When I heard about the sudden departure of his father, I could not help it but to think of how he would manage to push through in his academic pursuit.

I inferred that the narrator had a friend who was the son of the many who had passed away. This could be something you mentioned prior to this. What is the boy's name? When you add more details to your stories, it will bring them to life, and help the reader to become more interested and involved.

As an administrator in The Ink Well, I often provide constructive feedback on stories to help our writers develop their skills. I also encourage writers to read the other stories in the community and learn from them. (And we expect everyone who publishes in The Ink Well to read and comment on other writers' work.)

Additionally, we have some excellent resources for developing writers in our catalog of fiction writing tips. Good luck with your writing!