You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Grandfather Clock (Short Story)

in The Ink Well3 years ago

Nicely done, @raj808. You had me at...

"When will they approve the contract?" Catherine stared out of the window, watching dead meat seed the fields with last year's nascent crop.

I experienced an involuntary shiver right then, and it stayed with me throughout. I was glad to read your description in your comments, as I wasn't completely clear on all that was going on, but there's such delightful phrasing that it carried me along. I love the idea that Derek is trapped inside the clock.

The minute hand teetered on the edge of tick...

TOCK

I will never view a clock the same way again.

Sort:  

Ohhh the horror 😉

Glad the story sent a shiver up the spine. I think this story could benefit from a longer re-write in regards to fleshing out the plot. I was very pleased with how I built atmosphere and setting, but was certainly aware of ambiguity in the stories action.

Main thing for a horror flash fiction is to scare or unsettle, I feel like this story got the second one down pat.

😱 Mwa ha ha ha ha 😂

It must be thrilling to achieve that! I may have to try out the genre one of these days.