You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fade To Black

in The Ink Welllast year

This is beautifully written, @yaziris. I enjoyed reading more about your grandmother.

A life well lived, with people and love, is all we can hope for in this life. And your grandma seemed to achieve that. I hope she felt that in her waning years and hours. It's heartbreaking that she had faded from the central place in the family sentiment. I suppose it is not unusual, with how busy people become with the own lives. But our elders brought us younger folk into the world, and in an ideal world, they would be treated with utmost love and respect.

Deep down, do we ever grow up?

I loved reading that. I don't personally think we do. The expression "young at heart" is really true. As long as we have youthfulness in our hearts, we can still enjoy what this life has to offer.

Thank you for sharing this story in The Ink Well. I your grandmother's memories stay with you always.

Sort:  
I hope she felt that in her waning years and hours

She certainly has. I'd say she was very content overall. And all those contradictory feelings people have are just natural and part of what life dictates sometimes in the end.

As long as we have youthfulness in our hearts

Yep! This 💯 and it even has a positive impact on our physicality.

Thank you for everything Jayna.. Much love to you my dear friend ❣ ♥️