Quick end

in The Ink Well17 days ago
My leisure time is often spent on social media, and when I'm checking statuses on WhatsApp, I can be found surfing Facebook. The latter gives me a feed of friends and their images, which I delight myself to like, not necessarily because I liked the pictures but as a way of supporting their efforts after posting pictures, especially if your picture is not awkward or of low quality.

ring ring

The Facebook Messenger notification popped up from a lady I was not familiar with, and rather than respond immediately, I checked up on her profile and realized I had just liked two of her pictures recently, and we had a few mutual friends that may have prompted us to be friends, of which I did not take cognizance.

source

"Hello, Doctor, liker of my pictures." The lady said her profile name was more Blessing (actual name withheld).

"How could I not appreciate a beautiful damsel like you?" I teased her with a reply.

"Don't flatter me; pictures can be deceiving." She said. "By the way, do you know me?" She asked further.

"I'll surely love to know you, if you don't mind." I replied, and she replied with a laughter emoji.

"I don't think we know each other. Anyway, my name is Blessing."

"I'm blessed to be in your DM. Blessing, my name's James, but you can call me MJ." I said. We began to spark a conversation about our likes, backgrounds, philosophy about life, etc. We both enjoyed each other's company, and for a while, we got carried away with the conversation.
"May I have your digits? I'll love to hear the voice behind this interesting and beautiful soul that sweeps me off my feet." I said to her.

"Of course, MJ. We chat as though we have known each other forever." Blessing complimented me, and I agreed.

Thankfully, it was a Saturday morning when I still lazied in bed with nowhere in particular to visit. Soon enough, we exchanged numbers, and I took the extra courage to ask for more of Blessing's pictures, which she readily obliged, and I shared with her a few of my best. I put a call through to her, and her voice was as innocent as an angel's. I practically needed no other convictions to trust that her personality would just be as fantastic as the attributes I already fell in love with.

"I don't mind coming to see you soon enough, Blessing. Can we find a time to meet up? Your base is barely one hour away." I confessed to her. She equally sounded excited, and thus, I made plans for a visit later in the day. "Coming back home from a journey's drive away should not be hectic." I thought to myself.

"What will you buy for me?" Blessing asked over the chat, just after a phone call conversation, as I prepared to travel down to see her.

"What does her majesty desire?" I teased after a moment of pause.

"Thank you, darling." Blessing said immediately that our conversation had hastily turned lovey-dovey-dovey in a jiffy. "I want Lattafa Opulent Red perfume or NOW Intense. Either of the two is fine." She typed on WhatsApp.

"Babe, what kind of names are those, and where can I get them? It's our first time seeing. Probably I can take my time to search for them next time." I suggested.

"Hmmm, probably you should wait until you can get any of them. We don't need to be in a hurry, right?" Blessing replied.

"True, but are you for real about the perfume?"

"Of course yes; I used to use them but can't afford any for now."

"Oh, I get. And if I'm unable to get it, I should not bother coming." I asked this time around, sounding a little more serious. I needed to be certain she was only joking, but alas! My teeth were set on an edge! She was serious.

"No nau, who comes to visit a lady without gifts? Come on!" Blessing said emphatically.

"Alright, dear, let me see what I can do." I replied.

Rather than head straight to the park, I went to Chuppet Shopping Mall and began to search out the perfumes Blessing listed. I was reliably informed that those were not frequently stocked because of their high cost. Determined not to give up easily, I went to yet another, and for a second time, my search was futile.

"Babe, I can't find them here; what do we do?" I chatted up Blessing on WhatsApp.

"You can order it or send me the money to make the order then?" She replied further, and I was convinced I was in for trouble.

"Alright, I'll get back to you shortly." I replied and headed back home after being struck by the hurting sun.

Just before getting home, I got Blessing's message, which contained her account details. I mistakenly opened the message but quickly reverted and marked it as unread, pretending not to access the message. I ignored her several calls afterwards and would not reply to any of her text messages that were more hurtful than civil. I wanted peace, and avoiding the red flags was one step closer to that peace. I went back to the comfort of my bed for a rest after a futile hunt as dusk approached, careful to avoid my hobby of engaging random people on social media.

Sort:  

Glad you were smart enough to avoid girls out for gifts. It rarely ends well.... Unless of course you are the type that is looking for something in return for gifts...but that's a very different situation.

Glad you ran away :)

True some people are out for material gifts irrespective of how sweet their presentations are. S major discovery is that, two weeks is way too much to start a relationship in this region. How do people have such boldness? Perhaps, it was not just a relationship and maybe a fling.
My advocacy is simple, friendship first before relationship. At such stage, we're able to discover some truths that would influence our progress.

We are now in a generation of love games, the better player wins. That's the sad reality, perhaps in my region though.

Thank you for your kind comment

Watching my sons date makes me very happy I have a wife and don't have to even consider dating!

My older son had a string of bad dates, boring girls, and generally women he would never want to stay with. During that time he spent considerable energy on improving himself. Finding hobbies to entertain himself, exercising and working out to make himself stronger. Reading and learning to make himself more knowledgeable. Generally learning to love himself and enjoy his own company.

After a while told me "I'm happy if I find someone and just as happy if I don't" ... that's when I knew he was in a good place for dating. A couple months later he found a nice girl. Interesting. Intelligent. Self sufficient with good job and family. Even better he found her attractive.

He was sick recently and my wife and I were away with my sick mother so couldn't go help him. When we called him his girlfriend was there getting him medicine, giving him food and helping him while he was weak. He's recovered now but it was great for us to know he found someone willing to help him when he was down. Plus I'm sure he would do the same for her if she was ill.

There are many, many women (and men) out there who aren't worth the time and effort to make a relationship with.

.... but there are good people out there too....just harder to find :)

Good luck!

I'm glad your son found someone like her and you're right, the good ones still exist and just have to be located

Yes.

And part of your job is to be a treasure hunter...amidst everything else you have to be in a day 🤣

You be don enter one chance. Relationship never start, Dem don dey bill you

I'm glad I escaped right immediately

Congratulations @jjmusa2004! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 85000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 90000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Unveiling the BuzzParty Meetup 2024 Badge

Thank you @jjmusa2004 for this update. Now I have something to use and pursue somebody without offending their ancestors. If I tell somebody I don't accept visitors, they will act up, I will be using this technique from now on 😂😂😂😂😂😂

God will forgive you.
What if he gets what you asked for?

Just extend my cut. Thanks in advance

😂😂😂😂😂😂

You won't believe I thought of that 😂😂😂😂

Don't worry, I know that it is very rare for that to happen so I have no worries.

Some men can go the extra mile to get what they want, even years.

If you meet someone like me, small no like this, I keep walking forward without looking back.

Sha don't forget my cut. Thanks in advance

I'd like to meet these men who go the extra mile, maybe, I will be able to bill them enough to build my stakes. Win-win. I will delegate to you or put you on auto vote...Shebi, you like that kind of cut, right? 😂

My beggar has no choice... Well done 3-1

😂😂😂
I am a winner girl 💃💃💃

You learned a great lesson from your experience. Meeting people on social networks is not always rewarding, there are some who just want to take advantage of others.

Thanks for posting.
Happy friday.

You're right, majority are out to devour and care less for others. Thank you for your kind comment

You were wise enough to work out that this woman was at it for the scam. Excellent decision to avoid similar pursuits that could cause you to be out of pocket.

Thank you very much for your kind words. It was a decision I was proud to have made and a lesson well learned