The new girl, Chima (fiction)...a short story

in The Ink Well11 months ago (edited)

"A round of applause for Chima," the Mathematics tutor instructed. I watched as the tutor beamed with smiles all through the 2-hour period of his class. Chima, the newly transferred student, had suddenly become his favorite student within an eye’s twinkle, making me irrelevant and unnoticed. Her continual response to difficult questions excited Mr. James, our Mathematics tutor, while thunderous applause quickly erupted from my classmates. However, bitterness and envy lurked within my marrow, soon to overwhelm my very being.

I felt a gush of betrayal as I watched the loyalty of my classmates and other tutors, including Mr. James, shift to Chima. Before now, I was adored as the brightest, choosing those students I would explain the difficult equations and topics to after each class. My days of glory as the overall best student at Bright High School were gradually drifting from my grasp, and I seemed helpless as to what I could do to retain it. Since I was in high school for 5 years, I had never come in second place in class, and I was not going to fold my arms and watch my hallowed place crumble to pieces. It was obvious to everyone (me included) that Chima was not just intelligent; she was charming and beautiful. Her skin color was chocolate, and she had a pair of blue eyes and a white set of teeth. Her chubby cheeks quickly accentuated her bilateral dimples every time she smiled, which she did often. Her height almost intimidated me, as her huge build defied the sonorous voice emanating from her. I wondered if she even noticed me or cared to ask around who ran the show before her majestic arrival. I knew I was good-looking and was setting girls over their heads. I was 17 years old.

"Aren’t new students supposed to thread silently, observing their environments? Chima has barely been in the school for two weeks, and she has become very popular among staff and students." I eventually expressed my dislike to my best friend, Sarah concerning Chima, in the middle of an entirely different topic.

"Do I smell jealousy?" Sarah laughed, poking me by my armpit in an attempt to tickle me, which I resisted vehemently. She may have seen contempt written over me as her jovial countenance quickly dissipated, hopefully realizing her best friend was not in the best of states. "You don’t have to take it personal, Greg; if you get to know her, you’ll understand she’s a beautiful soul". Sarah spoke with some seriousness in her tone.

Fine, I didn’t realize she bewitched you also." I replied, picked up my school bag, and walked out of the classroom, disappointed and angry. As I exited the classroom, I bumped into someone who headed straight to the ground, but due to my swift grasp and her efforts to prevent a fall, I was able to hold her arm to maintain equilibrium, thereby preventing a fall even though the books in her hand suffered the fall. "Chima again?" My thoughts ran wild, and a part of me wished I had just let her have the fall.

"Thank you, Greg. I’m sorry I didn’t notice you earlier." Chima smiled apologetically.

I froze for a few seconds, as though I was being won over by her charm, smile, and humility. "Wake up, Greg; she’s the threat to your peace." I shrugged myself off to reality, faking a smile that had behind it a chunk of dislike.

"It’s fine; I’m sorry also." I muttered almost inaudibly. I looked back at Sarah, whose expression and gestures loudly and clearly told me to use the opportunity to make friends with her. After handing over Chima’s books back to her from the ground I picked them from, I walked away, not certain if I had replied the "Thank you" from Chima.

A week before the end of session examinations during the revision classes, I sought any window to get close to Chima as I noticed she was not as lively and answering questions as in times past. I was somewhat glad that the attention she so much enjoyed was being shifted away from her. I was curious what the problem was, even though I was not going to let my guard down.

"May I?" I asked Chima at the dining hall even though I suspected she would not object after battling between my thoughts of reasoning and courage to approach her.

"Certainly, Greg, you’re welcome. How is the exam preparation faring?" She asked with a smile, her countenance beaming up, though she could not hide the obvious trouble behind it.

"Not bad; I’ve missed the one person that has pushed me to study harder." I said it with a smile.

"Really? Who? How?"

"I’m sure you know; don't feign ignorance. Anyway, this is not the usual you. I have observed you over time, and I know something bothers you." I said affirmatively. I saw her wear her worried look once again, shying away from looking at me.

"Come on, you can talk with me." I pressed further.

"It’s not something I should worry you with. I’ll be fine." She replied, looking away. I noticed her fidgeting fingers. This was a window to learn something about the mysterious Chima that threatened my place, and I was willing to explore all avenues.

"Well, I insist." I said I was genuinely concerned with what could have caused her to change within such a short period. "A problem shared is half solved, remember?" I teased in an attempt to cheer her up, which seemed to have succeeded.

source

Okay, I'm not sure I should be telling you this, but I’m past due to pay my tuition, but my parents are financially challenged, and the school may not allow me to write my examination at the end of session." She said it, almost weeping.

I did not know what to say or how to console her. The envious me rejoiced at what she said but was quickly rebuked by the sober self. I reached out to her fidgeting hands with my left hand and squeezed her hand gently and reassuringly. "I believe a miracle will come through for you. I’m sorry you’ve battled this trouble for a while." I encouraged her. We chatted over dinner, and I enjoyed our conversation, appreciating the sweet soul she was.

Two days later, Chima excitedly walked up to me, beaming with smiles like a toddler who had been gifted a bicycle.

"And what is making this sweet sixteen smile sheepishly?" I asked, feigning ignorance of the reason for her bliss. I had called and disclosed this to my dad, who reached out to the school immediately, clearing Chima’s tuition fees and making a deposit for the final year session. I knew my dad would gladly oblige after I sang the praises of Chima’s intelligence to him.

"An anonymous person has cleared my tuition fees and even paid extra!" She said it excitedly, hugging me in our class corridor.

"Wow, that’s good to know; congratulations. Now we can focus on the examination ahead," I replied, hugging and patting her at the back.

"Thank you for encouraging me, and my gut tells me you know something about this." Chima withdrew from the hug, giving me a searching and accusing look.

"Not really." I shook my head sideways, my smile readily betraying my denial.

"I didn’t tell anyone else, Greg. Thank you." She whispered, rubbing my arm gently. "I’m taking you to the tuck shop for a treat." Chima said, dragging me forward.

"And what about me?" Sarah’s voice interrupted us from behind, causing us to look back. Chima waved at her to join us. Sarah walked up to us, blushing. "I see you both have gotten along". Sarah teased. I smiled while walking between Chima and Sarah as we headed to the tuck shop.

Sort:  

Love of neighbor was stronger than envy, this was good for Chima, good luck in the contest, Greetings!

Thank you very much, I'm grateful

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 165 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!LUV
2

@jjmusa2004, @pixresteemer(10/10) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

You do such a nice job with character portrayal, @jjmusa2004. It is not easy to do, especially in the space of a short story. Character development, combined with great action and dialogue make this story very readable, engaging, and enjoyable. Thank you for sharing your story in The Ink Well, and for reading and commenting on the work of other community members.

Thank you very much, I'm glad it's enjoyable and I appreciate you for motivating me to do better

Congratulations @jjmusa2004! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 30000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 35000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the second day
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the first day
Join the HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - Register Before It Starts And Win Big!

This was a window to learn something about the mysterious Chima that threatened my place, and I was willing to explore all avenues.

A great use of the prompt and a classic take of jealousy and hatred turned into blossoming love. I like the lesson here - you can't judge a book by its cover, even if that cover is beautiful AND intelligent. There's always another story beyond the surface.

Thank you so much, I'm glad you enjoyed the piece

Beautiful storyline. I liked how you portrayed the characters, it's really lovely.

Thank you dear, I'm glad you like it

Nice story. I love the description.

"Do I smell jealousy?" Sarah laughed, poking me by my armpit in an attempt to tickle me,

Do she smell jealously, because I do. Heheh.

I think I love Sarah’s character.

Some people are going through a lot and we just can’t really know.

Thank you so much, I'm glad you liked the script

Congratulations, @jjmusa2004 !
Your story has been selected as one of the best of the week and is part of the Magazine's 115th Featured Author
https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@theinkwell/the-ink-well-highlights-magazine-115
Thank you very much for your efforts. We enjoy the development of your work. Keep writing!

Thank you very much, I'm honoured