You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THAT ROADSIDE (A Short Story - Non-fiction)

You had a good concept for this story but unfortunately stylistic errors weakened the narration. When an author's handling of a story distracts form the narrative, that's a problem. Specifically, you need to work on verb tenses and paragraphing. A simple rule, if you begin in past time, stay in past time - Keep it simple.

As for paragraphing, there's no hard and fast rule - it's an art. Basically a paragraph should be at least three sentences long - it should have a beginning, middle and end. I break that rule all the time, but you have to master the rule to know when to break the rule. I often insert a short one sentence paragraph for dramatic effect - for emphasis. You did that with your final paragraph - ie, two short sentences. But generally, you favoured shorter paragraphs - you set your own pattern and then broke it with one awkwardly long passage when you uncovered your lover's infidelity.

As I said at the beginning, you had a good concept, but little foxes spoil the vines. Go back over the story and learn from it. That's how you become better. Sometimes I mess up big time and I'm embarrassed. I've taught writing and I know Literature - it means nothing when you're being creative because it's virgin territory. You learn from every new story. And you never stop learning in this craft. Keep up the good work!

Sort:  

Hmm. Alright.

Noted... @johnjgeddes
I will take note of your corrections and make use of it.
Thank you for reading through😊