You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Yapping And Yarning At Sundown. ⛅ (An Original Prose Poetry)

in The Ink Well4 years ago

I don't know Walt Whitman until know, a brilliant poet and fantastic writer, you're entirely right, there's a little bit of semblance here;

Houses and rooms are full of perfumes,
the shelves are crowded with perfumes,
I breathe the fragrance myself and know it and like it,
The distillation would intoxicate me also, but I shall not let it.

It's a natural imagery that alludes to a home which one is familiar with. In this poem I talk about the struggles of native parents and I as a small boy growing up being exposed to poverty helped me become a better writer than I am now.

You're a born poet!

I'm so glad thank you for this, steem gave me an opportunity and I'm glad I'm also doing that on hive

Sort:  

I'm actually not surprised you hadn't read any Whitman before now, even though your poetry brings his to mind - #inspired! - full of life, hope, and power. @raj808, please correct me whenever I say crazy things about a poem, but it's my response to the poet's words so I guess there's no use disputing it, eh? I hear echoes of the great Whitman in Jose's "yapping and yarning," aka poetry. :)