You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fast and Furious|The inkwell fast and furious festival day two

in The Ink Well3 years ago (edited)

Hi @dwixer You are a good descriptive writer. My comments are not intended to be anything derogatory as I'm not an expert at grammar myself. However, I agree with @jayna that an online grammar program or The Ink Well Tips post that addresses grammatical issues in your story may help with sentence structure, tense, and punctuation.

That said, I liked the wording you used for your descriptions.

In Task 1:
I feel your character is upset about a situation and has surrounded herself with items she likes to her taste in the living room. The description reads as if the room is a bit cluttered; however, the character overlooks it. But then she throws items away. I also notice you have a TV that was placed on the wall. I also mentions a TV in my descriptive room, but it was for Task 2.

You mention this:

The large living room looks tidy with no trace of toys except for the large big flat screen TV suspended on the wall right to the armchair.

Are you referring to the TV on the wall as a "toy"? I'm not saying it can't be for some people. However, I ask because you mention the room looks tidy with no toys EXCEPT the TV. Maybe you meant to use another object to complement the toys. For example, "no trace of toys, except a tiny [stuffed animal or some miniature item]".

Finally, you use similar adjectives to describe the TV in the same sentence [large big]. Maybe another word such as the actual dimensions, color, or shape.

Thanks so much for sharing all 4 of your descriptive Day 2 stories. I tackled all of them, and it takes time to develop each with separate ideas.

Take care and have a good rest of your week.