Fast and Furious|The inkwell fast and furious festival day two

in The Ink Well3 years ago

Hello hivers, Today I'm writing for the inkwell fast and furious festival day two. We are provided with four tasks to help develop our creative skill in giving a character a setting.

Task One
Describe a room (eg kitchen, bedroom, living room) in a character's house in such a way that it tells us about a person's greatest hopes and fears.



Dora sat at the large living room. The french windows gave very little light, chopped, as they were in fragments of small square panes adding to the inspiration of the house within. At the corner of the wall was an ancient clock ticking slowly with a well decorated glass covert on it; the clock looks old except for the covert that had been added to fit a taste. In the middle of the room stood a long table, at one end of it is an armchair and the other corner three sofas clothe with decorative materials of different colours, the ruddy brick floor smiled at the smoking ceiling and on the wall are paintings of an African woman breastfeeding a baby and of a lonely woman sitting in a dilapidated building. For some reasons the portraits are hanged opposite the decorated sofa to capture attention easily; The large living room looks tidy with no trace of toys except for the large big flat screen TV suspended on the wall right to the armchair.
At the left side of the TV is a bookshelf filled with books of different genre. Dora finds comfort all day sitting at the small square table beside the library where she calls a friend.

Task Two
Choose a painting by an artist - this can be a favourite of yours or a well-known artist from where you live. Now imagine a living room inspired by that painting, and show the room after a couple have had the worst fight of their relationship.



(Image not shown due to low ratings)








(Image not shown due to low ratings)





Images were hidden due to low ratings.
Sort:  

Hello, I am very pleased with your publication.

My observations with love.

Task 1

Enjoy the description of the environment but can't find the character's hopeful or fearful traits.

Task 2

Beautiful painting, excellent as you link what the painting expresses with the problem of the couple. Good work I liked.

Task 3

I liked the story but I think there were more elements missing from the atmosphere.

Task 4

Good story related to the image, I understood that they were small notes that gave origin to a later story.

All the answers are very good, congratulations. @dwixer

Jejej I think I'm giving the wrong impression 🥴 I don't pretend to be the teacher. Hehehe

I'm learning too, it's the first time I've done something like this.

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

This is a true talent of writing. Good content!

By the way, I am @starstrings01 and I've chosen this post for 100% curation in Hive Cross Culture's curation project.
• You will receive a percentage of the rewards from our curation post.
• And this post would be featured in our next weekly digest article.

Hive Cross culture is a community for conversation about culture. This can be national, local, community, or personal culture, subculture or your ideas about culture, language posts etc. We also invite and support bilingual posts, and are searching for ways to support and grow the local communities on Hive. Come join us in our discord chat if you are interested!

Hi @dwixer,
Great work. I think your first and last nail it. You suggest a story merely by telling readers about furniture in a room. There are no toys, no children, and yet there is a conspicuous picture of a woman and her baby. There's a picture of a "lonely" woman. And a sofa facing the pictures. It seems you are telling us about someone who longs to have children but does not have them, or perhaps someone who had a child and lost it. In any event quite vivid.

Also, in your last task, almost every word paints a scene of a street under by rain. I can almost feel the damp, and hear the rain beating on my roof. Well done!

I enjoyed reading your Fast and Furious Festival post for Day 2, @dwixer. You really did well with your attention to each of the tasks!

You have some very nice details that help to create a sense of the space and the mood, especially in the after-argument piece.

And I really like this detail in your Titanic vignette:

The persistent chirping of the birds had began to fill the atmosphere from the woods beside the seashore.

One of the tips posts that might help you with your writing is Help for the Grammatically Challenged. It provides tips for finding grammar and spelling issues in your writing. I hope that helps!

 3 years ago (edited) 

Hi @dwixer You are a good descriptive writer. My comments are not intended to be anything derogatory as I'm not an expert at grammar myself. However, I agree with @jayna that an online grammar program or The Ink Well Tips post that addresses grammatical issues in your story may help with sentence structure, tense, and punctuation.

That said, I liked the wording you used for your descriptions.

In Task 1:
I feel your character is upset about a situation and has surrounded herself with items she likes to her taste in the living room. The description reads as if the room is a bit cluttered; however, the character overlooks it. But then she throws items away. I also notice you have a TV that was placed on the wall. I also mentions a TV in my descriptive room, but it was for Task 2.

You mention this:

The large living room looks tidy with no trace of toys except for the large big flat screen TV suspended on the wall right to the armchair.

Are you referring to the TV on the wall as a "toy"? I'm not saying it can't be for some people. However, I ask because you mention the room looks tidy with no toys EXCEPT the TV. Maybe you meant to use another object to complement the toys. For example, "no trace of toys, except a tiny [stuffed animal or some miniature item]".

Finally, you use similar adjectives to describe the TV in the same sentence [large big]. Maybe another word such as the actual dimensions, color, or shape.

Thanks so much for sharing all 4 of your descriptive Day 2 stories. I tackled all of them, and it takes time to develop each with separate ideas.

Take care and have a good rest of your week.

 3 years ago  

Wow! You did all 4 tasks. Congratulations.

I loved all the scenarios. In each task you described the spaces and I as a reader went into each one of them.

The scenario I liked the most was the first one because you were very thorough with the elements.

It was a pleasure to read you @dwixer !

Greetings