The Inkwell Writing Challenge | Season 2 Week 3 : THE COUNCIL HAS SPOKEN

in The Ink Well3 years ago

Copy of Cream  Gray Massage Logo2.png

@theinkwell
The Ink Writing Challenge | Season 2 Week 3

Prolog
Season 2: Week 1
Season 2: Week 2

Season 2: Week 3 - Prompt: Outside the window

Try as I might, sleep wasn't better last night. In fact, tossing and turning into the early hours of the morning produced a tension headache as soon as my head rose from the pillow. The effects threatened to exacerbate the situation to a semi-migraine by the time I prepared coffee.

The headaches are coming at regular intervals this past year. My skin craves release from this armor that's suffocating me. A break is in order. But the right season hasn't emerged.

The one day I need a clear head to assess the assaults that are mounting on all fronts is the day that's the most unclear. Enemies are stacking up like the leftover creme-filled donuts in the fridge. And I hate the taste, but they take the bite out of that mud I consume.

mariavictoriaherediareyes0Hvh69RZjXsunsplash.jpg
Image by Maria Victoria Heridia from Unsplash

Coffee in hand, I stare to somehow draw strength, but outside the window offers no solution for my current predicament. The telephone breaks my concentration.

"Neutra" the Elders of The Supreme Council interpret your lateness as defiance," Daraj pleaded. "You're trying to add insubordination to your list of punishments as well?

"There's nothing to be punished for. I'm on my way."

Thirty minutes later, the taxi driver pulled into the assigned parking out front of my brownstone. The ridge towards her destiny allows for time to contemplate.

I figure it'll all come down to how I stand my ground. They know my lineage. I have inherent rights. Events this past twenty-our hours won't allow me to retreat.

I have to be realistic. They recognize how powerful I've become. Ten thousand followers I've managed to secure. My backing has cracked their strength. But I'm only one. They are three. And when they combine forces, it'll be hard to overcome. I've been accused, sentenced, and expected to voluntary giving myself up for execution. All this before lunch. Those three work fast when threatened.

I try to avoid this place as much as possible, but business dictates otherwise. I'm directed to sit outside the conference room. The wall behind me help support the back of my neck and ease the tension. However, it didn't provide any relief. I need more allies who believe in my project I whispered to myself.

"You may go in now. They've been waiting," the receptionist spoke as her acknowledgement I had finally arrived. The tone of her voice I feel was to serve as a bit of admonishment. She's of no consequence, I muse. I could crush her without a second thought and feed her to Norgod for a snack.

carlosarandaM7j4zXy57g4unsplash.jpg
Image by Carlos Arands from Unsplash

I look past her and stand at the glass window of the conference room. The words "MEETING IN PROGRESS" flashed at regular intervals. The long, square conference room table look menacing. Walking through the door feels like entering The Barren Expanse.

The powerhouse figures sat at the opposite end. All three huddled close together as through portraying unity in numbers.

"Please sit, Ms. Harbinger. We're so glad you could take time out of your busy schedule to join us. We have some pressing issues to attend to that need resolving." Chairman No. 1 spoke as if measuring his words and my attendance was voluntary.

Momentary hesitation. I proceed to sit at the extreme opposite end of the table, facing all three. Daraj vacated his seat to move next to me. I advanced a faint smile in his direction. "Hello Neutra. How have you been doing?" he said pleasantly.

"Fine." I looked away so as not to arouse any suspicion the two of us had been communicating. He was the only one who called me by my nickname.

Formal the rest were, as though we were all strangers. Correction. Adversaries. My silence should have sent a signal I felt the same.

Avoiding eye contact with the rest in attendance, I look at the decor. Archaic. Hasn't changed much since the last time I was summoned. But then, old timers are more resistant to change.

Clockwise, I discern their voices.

pexelsjopwell1325761.jpg
Image by Jopwell from Pexels

Chairman No. 1; Chairman No. 2; Chairman No. 3; Daraj, and Zanupog, the leader of the Separatists, who's also my sworn enemy. Three others in attendance I didn't recognize. Summoning the forces against me no doubt, I suspect. They'll need thousands more than that to defeat me.

Chairman No. 1, a tall thin man, who believed himself to be the most powerful of the three, cleared his throat and called the meeting to order. He turned to the three new members. "First order of business is I'd like our three new members to meet Ms. Natalie Harbinger. Her tenure has been us is the longest and is an outstanding manager. She's head of our Pecahomi Bay Resort near the Trecherous Depths."

"Natalie, I'd like you to meet our three newest head managers for our remaining quadrants left abandoned these past years. Now they'll have qualified caretakers like yourself. We can now move forward with our plans. Of course, you already know Zachary Knowling."

Purposely calling me that other name. And why is he calling Zanupog "Zachary Knowling?" An act of superiority, intentionally provoking me to insubordination. The Supreme Council. The day will come when I will rise. Your absolute authority will end as the Keepers will come for you. One day soon.

I didn't acknowledge Zanupog (or whatever name they're calling him). He didn't expect it. But I did turn towards the three new members. I catch their appearances from the corner of my eye.

My mom's face flashed before my eyes as I remember her teaching..keep your enemies close. But I didn't feel like pretending today. This migraine was making itself known to the rest of my body, so I manage a weak "Hello."

Chairman No. 2, the short, bald man whose suit was bursting at the seams, took over the conversation. "We've looked over your proposal, Natalie." I interrupted him with, "Please, call me Neutra." Third time. My eyes became glossy as I felt the pressure in my head begin to expand. Every word uttered above a whisper served to intensify the throbbing.

He continued. "I'm...sorry to have to tell you this. I mean, quite frankly, we feel the direction you propose to take us is not the right time. We don't have the available cash reserves to renovate and upgrade all facilities."

He looked at Zachary Knowling. Without responding, Zachary flipped his portfolio opened as though he had something that would best me.

Chairman No. 3, whose heavy voice carried the length of the room, now took his turn. "You see, Natalie, the fact is Mr. Knowling's proposal we believe has serious merit. We've discussed it in detail and feel it's in favor of further consideration." Now Chairman No. 3 flashed a wide smile in Zanupog's direction.

sheet1286228_640.jpg
Image by ekk814 from Pixabay

Zanupog eagerly rushed towards the flip chart. Immediately after exposing the 1st sheet, the words MERGER jumped off the page and flew across the room, slamming against my face as if I'd just run into a brick wall.

His proposal is to sell to our competitors in The Barren Expanse. His one mission in life is handing over all our hard work to those who know nothing about what we stand for. The Barren Expanse is the reason our world is in the shape it's in now.

Zanupog had the nerve to address me directly, "It's not our fault we have to pursue an alternate course of action. That damned tanker spill last year is the problem. Our numbers since have been reduced significantly."

What will become of our home, The Abundant Waters? I thought as my eyes also turn toward him. And why are they calling him this other name? He's Zanupog, leader of the Separatists. He's against everything we stand for. He's working for those above ground to destroy us.

My hatred of him knows no levels. I suddenly realize that finally I have confirmation that Zanupog is operating under the full knowledge and protection of The Supreme Council.

I sit staring at him. All eyes turn towards me as though they expect an outburst, upend that hideous conference room table, and then storm out the door, slamming it.

That was in my infancy. Instead, "Interesting," was the only word I uttered as I wrapped myself in another coat of armor and willed my body into stillness.

Without warning, a loud knock on the conference room window shifted everyone's attention towards the looming figure of a man on the other side of the glass before the door opened, and Captain Amos walked through. This was the only time any of the original members ever heard me gasp, then close my eyes in obvious distress as he turned his gaze towards me.

"Ladies and gentlemen. I took the liberty of inviting Captain George Amos to our board meeting," stated Chairman No. 1, then continued, "his expertise in environmental issues will be useful to our negotiations for our acquisition partners."

figure258118_640.jpg
Image by kalhh from Pixabay

Captain Amos took a seat next to The Supreme Council. The circle of deception was now complete.

Chairman No. 2 added, "We're excited to have Captain Amos on board as his years of service and knowledge is invaluable. He was there at the beginning of The Treaty of the Graveyard Abyss. We can rely upon his judgment to bring us up-to-speed on any concerns that may impede our merger negotiations. His specialty is the in-depth knowledge in and around the Trecherous Depths region."

Captain George Amos received loud applause from the group. He glanced in my direction and saw I had none to give. He smiled, then stated, "Neutra, seems like we'll be working closely again. How delightful. It's been a long time since we worked together," as he walked towards the end of the table where I was sitting then placed his hand on my right shoulder. I brushed his hand away.

Everyone continued their individuals conversations as if they hadn't notice.

The others turned back towards Zanupog's flip chart as he continued to outline his proposal for merging our ventures. Sounded like a total acquisition and loss of control and resources to me. I thought about voicing my opinion, but I could hear my mother's voice saying "be still".

Chairman No. 3 then states, "Zachary, thank you for your excellent presentation today. We've already reviewed it, and feel this is the direction in which we want to proceed. We'll obtain approvals to begin talks immediately. That's our final decision".

As though it weren't enough, Chairman No. 3 hurls this new directive towards me, "Natalie, you're now responsible for Captain Amos' safety as he explores your venture, provide an environmental assessment of any issues discovered, and monitor the Trecherous Depths."

I looked from left to right at all in attendance. The only conclusion I could reach was that toxic madness had overtaken the lot. The total rebuke by The Supreme Council of my authority handed me today was a major setback to my goals.

Meeting over, The Supreme Council and attendees quickly disperse, dragging the weak Zanupog along. He dared not look in my direction. Instead, he was talking up the new people. They have yet to discover his underhandedness.

I sit for a moment to regroup. I can't wait to retreat to my safe haven behind my resort. I must discover what went wrong with the Keeper's attempt to silence Captain Amos and dispose of the supposed evidence he had against me. I could feel my entire carcass deflate under its armor.

kellysikkemaOz_J_FXKvIsunsplash.jpg
Image by Kelly Sikkema from Pixabay

Slowly I rise and make my way from the conference room. Inches from the receptionist's desk, Captain Amos placed his hand on my shoulder. This time, I couldn't escape his iron-clad grip. And I didn't want to make a scene as he whispered in a growling tone, "The game is up, Neutra. You've been exposed. I've documented your misdeeds. You're not the only one who can command the Keepers. The Supreme Council and The Barren Expanse now have in their possession the evidence."

Then I noticed the receptionist had left for the day. It was perfect timing I thought. I'll take care of Captain Amos myself. Reason flew out the window as I grabbed the letter opener from the desk. I stab in every direction until he let go. Turning around quickly, I continue to stab, this time directly in his left eye. Piercing screams fill the room as he slumps over onto her desk, landing in a pool of blood. I drop the weapon hear him.

The service elevator will suffice as I make my way down and escape through the back entrance. Captain George Amos will never lay his hands on my shoulder again.

underwater4731696_640.jpg
Image by sergeitokmakov from Pixabay

Once again the marsh hides my clothing, this time soiled with the traitor's blood. Undressed, I surrender to the coolness of the Trecherous Depths. It relieves the migraine as I submerge myself further. The ocean's pressure at this shallow depth only serve to assist in my complete transformation. My legs are fused. My feet are wide. My voice changes. My form is sleek. I fill out as I expand my wings. A beautiful siren in the form of my ancestors. Freedom has overtaken me.

I think of homeland as I allow myself to drift downward towards the serene canopy of the ocean floor. It's peaceful as I embrace familiar friends I once protected. They understand my battle.

However, with all the beauty of nature surrounding me, I feel alone in the dark. Suddenly, a broad figure appears, but keeps its distance. I smile with relief as my eyes become accustomed to the murky waters. The beautiful outline I know as my mother takes shape. She stands in the shadows, extending her arms, palms down, as though inviting me to approach.

underwater5151969_640.jpg
Image by davidfoxx from Pixabay

Sadness overtakes me. I want to proceed towards home. I feel I need too, but I gladly accept. She whispers softly in my ear, takes my hand, and leads me towards the dark, turbulent waters of her imposed captivity.

The Graveyard of the Abyss.

@traciyork 30-day blogging initiative #nablopomo (Day 15 : Published my Ink Well Challenge Season 2, Week 3 post today)

@flaxz initiative #iamalivechallenge (Published a post for my blog today)

Thanks,
@justclickindiva

Happy rest of the week everyone with whatever your endeavors.

SOURCES:

a) JustClickindiva's Footer created in Canva utilizing its free background and images used with permission from discord admins.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) All Community logos, banners, page dividers used with permission of Discord Channel admins.
e) Ladies of Hive banner used with permission of and in accordance with the admin's guidelines.

Your Personal Terminal Discord Invite

Copy of Copy of Decorative Shape Facebook Cover1.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations @justclickindiva! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Project Activity Update

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 31 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
10