The Ink Well Fast and Furious Festival || Day Two

in The Ink Well3 years ago

This is my entry for Day 2 of the Fast & Furious Festival. You can find out more about it HERE.

There are 4 tasks given and we can choose to do any one or more or all. I am choosing to do Task 1 and Task 3.

fastfurious writing challenge.gif

Task One

Describe a room (eg kitchen, bedroom, living room) in a character's house in such a way that it tells us about a person's greatest hopes and fears

The door has 3 locks, evenly spaced from top to bottom enters into a 500 sqf studio apartment. The few furnitures in it are a super-single bed, on the right, a chest of drawers beside it, a full-length mirror and a small table on wheels. The mini kitchen, more like a pantry, has a microwave, and a hidden mini-fridge. No cooking allowed.

On Level 28, the small balcony overlooks the city skyline. One wall has been painted orange by the tenant to add some pizzaz, which has to be painted back when her lease ends. On the coloured wall, hang a 2 by 6 feet Jute mat, pinned with selfies/wefies, motivational quotes and reminders.

The bed has not been made, and there are some clothes strewn over it. A laptop is sitting atop the clothes. A lava lamp on the drawers throws odd moving shapes on the ceiling and walls. Beside the lamp is a Bluetooth speaker playing Indie music off Spotify.

──── ⋆⋅❣️⋅⋆ ────

Task Three

Choose a famous moment from history and create a new fictitious element: write about the setting. For example, "A romance for Napoleon just three days before the battle of Waterloo."

Date: 14th May 1969 (the day after the May 13 Racial Riots)

Two lovers are standing in the shadows in the back of her house with the last rays of the sun barely visible. She wasn't sure what made her step outside, but when she saw him there, she knew it was her heart.

"What are you doing here? You will be killed!" she whispered, pushing him deeper into the shadows.

"Ana, what are you doing outside? You better get back in!! Abah will be back any second now, and if he knows you stepped out, he will be very angry!" her mother called just loud enough for her to hear. Mother had just started breastfeeding her baby sister, so she knew she wouldn't come out after her.

Ana stood at the door to answer her Mum. "I just want to make some tea. I will be quick." Then she quickly stepped away before mother could say anything.

The concrete stove was outside under a makeshift roof 5 feet away from the main house. She had been given strict instructions to stay indoors, especially after dark and you never disobeyed father. But here he was—this crazy Chinese boy.

"What is wrong with you? If Abah saw you... he might slaughter you himself."

"I had to see you Ana. I had to know you were okay."

"I am okay. Now go. Go and stay in your house. Lock your doors. Don't get out. If anything happened to you, I don't know what I'd do. "

"I know, I know. Brother got hurt badly. They slashed him with a parang. He could have bled to death, but you know Ako. Nothing can kill him. Now he is talking about revenge."

"Ya Allah!! Why has it come to this?" she started sobbing softly as she rearranged the firewood, trying to start the fire.

He reached out for her hand, and she let him hold it. He raised it to his lips and for the first time, she did not play shy or hard to get.

"I want you to know, I love you Ana. I don't care what they say. Malay, Chinese whatever!! I don't care. When it is safer, please say you will run away with me. Let's go far away."

"I cannot do that to Abah. It will break him. Where will he put his face? You know I love you but, but..."

"Ana, I would rather die than not be with you."

She started sobbing again, trying to hold her voice down. And he pulled her to him. He held her tight like he'd never let her go.

"Where is she?", her father was back. She could hear her Mum saying something and then the baby started crying.

"Go, go. He is back. Go, he will kill you.'

She pushed him into the dark, harder than she had intended and quickly wiped away her tears, entering the house. She bumped into father at the doorway. One look at her, and he knew.

"Where is he?!" but he had already left. There was no one there. "You stupid girl!!" and a sharp slap followed to make his point. "I told you already, it cannot happen. If anybody sees the two of you talking or even looking at each other, that will be the end!!" He dragged her in and pushed her towards mother.

"Keep an eye on her. Don't let her out of your sight," then he looked at Ana. "And you, you will never ever see that boy again. Do you understand? Never. You want him to stay alive? Never!!" And he walked off into the room to pray.

You can find out more about the racial tensions that led to the May 13 riots on Wiki. I was a year old then, and my parents have talked about living through those times and how scary it was.

──── ⋆⋅❣️⋅⋆ ────

I definitely didn't take as long as I did with Day 1, but still longer than 25 minutes. If anyone is hitting the end as proposed, share your tips and tricks with me please...

Thank you for reading😊
Till next time, Carpe Diem❣️
Sh33la

Sort:  

Well written -- day three REALLY hit hard after the attack at the Capitol we have just had here in the U.S., and so I went on and read about May 13 ... that was deep and SAD and heartbreaking on so many levels, and you really captured that in your story ... WELL DONE

Thank you so much @deeanndmathews
That means a lot to me <33

Thanks for engaging with this #fastandfurious post, @deeanndmathews!

!tip 0.2

Please use https://peakd.com to send tips - because of HF24 tipU can not reliably send tips :(

Thank you so much, @jayna ... but @tipu is fussing with you...

It is. I think I've figured out how to correct it. Thanks @deeanndmathews!

Fascinating both tasks. Precision, but fluency in description. And as for the history, brilliant that you have used romance from a cultural fact that was highlighted in your country.

Thank you for the feedback @ricardo993
I appreciate it ;D

Thanks for engaging with #fastandfurious authors and content, @ricardo993!

!tip 0.2

Please use https://peakd.com to send tips - because of HF24 tipU can not reliably send tips :(

 3 years ago  

The bare necessities for this person who doesn't need a lot of space. All is needed is room to concentrate on whatever is being worked on with the laptop. It's definitely an efficiency apartment with no working stove. The person doesn't have time for mundane tasks. He saves all his energy for creative thinking perhaps.

Thanks for sharing this setting.

Great assessment of the room assignment. Thanks for commenting, @justclickindiva.

!tip 0.2

Please use https://peakd.com to send tips - because of HF24 tipU can not reliably send tips :(

Thank you for being part of the festival.

Task 1

There are many elements that describe the atmosphere but none of them made me aware of the character's hopes or fears. I felt that something was missing from the story, no doubt the description of the environment is defined.

Task 2

A beautiful story of repressed love, however I did not find elements that would tell me what the atmosphere was, or if it was several atmospheres.

I enjoyed the final story, I'm not an expert in literature or anything like that, I just like to read. I hope that my advice is taken in the best way, it is my personal opinion and I expect the same when I make my productions, a feedback that invites me to improve.

Greetings 🙋🏽 @kaerpediem

All feedback are welcome :D
In fact, I would like to know how others relate to the stories ...

Thanks for your comment and engagement, @soyunasantacruz.

!tip 0.5

Please use https://peakd.com to send tips - because of HF24 tipU can not reliably send tips :(

Thank you very much, it has been a pleasure.

Both tasks are beautifully written! I was more entranced with the second one on the racial tensions. I can't imagine what it was like then. I'll have to read more on the riots.

It's a time that's brought up every now and then to warn us to let our grievances get to that ...

Glad you enjoyed the read
Thank you @kemmyb :D

Thank you for your comment on this post for supporting the author and the #fastandfurious festival, @kemmyb.

Wow. Thank you tip ma'am 🙂

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

You did that brilliantly!!! Especially enjoyed the room description.

Thank you @jaynie
Hope you are well <33

Pleasure. And yes very well thanks.

Thank you for engaging with this post, @jaynie! We are rewarding engagement with the Fast and Furious Festival.

!tip 0.2

Please use https://peakd.com to send tips - because of HF24 tipU can not reliably send tips :(

My pleasure love. And thank you 💗

Hi @kaerpediem, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rem-steem!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

Dhan'yabāda @rem-steem & @bdcommunity
I hope I got the thank you right <3

You developed the description of the room in an impeccable way, I got to know where was everything that I could need, regarding the historical fact I have very little knowledge of the events, which makes it difficult to appreciate the intention, however the dialogues and the development I liked the plot very much, well done.

Thank you for commenting and engaging with other writers' work in the Fast and Furious Festival, @gilliatt!

!tip 0.2

Please use https://peakd.com to send tips - because of HF24 tipU can not reliably send tips :(

Thank you so much for the feedback
Happy you enjoyed it :D

I really like how you approached both of these tasks, @kaerpediem. The first is very descriptive and you demonstrated some great scene setting skills! The second one was very intriguing. First, I love historical fiction, as it brings to life events and times in history that I haven't experienced. This kind of Romeo and Juliet type story, set against the backdrop of unrest is very poignant!

I wasn't too sure how to approach Task 1 - I tried to keep the character out and was worried it may not be enough - so this makes me very happy ;D

Star crossed lovers will always pull at our heart strings eh ;p

 3 years ago  

On Level 28, the small balcony overlooks the city skyline.

In my own little way, I miss the old office location on the 27th floor where I do see the city skyline every day. LOL!

Wow for the second story! I'd love to read more on how the star-crossed lovers lived out their love story. I hope you'll write more about it :)

untitled.gif

Is that the one with all the reno going on?

Hmmmm, you are putting ideas in my head now :D

 3 years ago  

yes it was that office with all the hammering & drilling happening from way back 😂🤣

Oh goodie I'd love to know more how the love story would end 😉👍🏼
!WINE

Posted using Dapplr


Cheers, @iamraincrystal You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @kaerpediem.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting


WINE Current Market Price : 1.100 HIVE

Thank you for your support. If you haven't heard of VAULT, time to explore. It might be our next payout scheme which I'm looking forward to work with.

https://hive.blog/curation/@hiveupme/hiveupme-latest-update-08-09-2020

Thank you for the feedback @dwixer
Most appreciated :D

Thanks for being part of the conversation, @dwixer!

!tip 0.2

Please use https://peakd.com to send tips - because of HF24 tipU can not reliably send tips :(