The Ink well prompt #63 : Irregular frequency : A tale of love lost

in The Ink Well2 years ago


pexels-jep-gambardella-5087273_1.jpg
Pexels

When I remember Lara, I can't help but remember all the fun times we had, the laughs, the jokes, the game times, everything. At the same time, I ala can't help but remember the reason why we broke up even though we loved each other very much. Guess that's life trying to keep me from going back by remembering why things ended the way they did.

I met Lara five years ago, at the beach. That day was one of the few days when I actually allowed myself to take a break from my workaholic lifestyle, and I had gone with my friend Simon who insisted that I leave work alone and come relax for once. I did, and I wasn't really enjoying the time away from work until I met her. She was just coming out from the ocean, laughing and flipping her hair as she did so and she looked so very much like a mermaid coming to land. She was beautiful, with lovely brown skin and a figure to die for, long locks of glorious curly hair

From the moment I saw her, I just felt like I had to get to know her, and for the very first time in my life, I was greatful to Simon for getting me to come to the beach. Now, don't get me wrong, she is a total beauty, but it wasn't her attractiveness that drew me to her but rather her free spirit. I could hear it in her laugh, full of joy and happiness with nothing holding her back, and I could see it in the way she flipped her hair as though she had no care in the world. Now that was what I needed in my life, a free spirit to breath some spontaneity into my life

It didn't take long for Simon to know what was going on as he took one good look at me and laughed. He asked me which girl caught my attention and I used my eyes to point him in her direction, at that time Lara had come out from the water and had gone to rejoin her friends who were all laughing with her, all pretty but not like her. "Guyyyy, this girl is so fine, I would've wooed her myself but then you're already looking all love struck. So let's go get you your girl, and no you can't dodge, you need a change". So Simon led me to where she was gisting with her friends and asked if we could join them, when they agreed he immediately went into social butterfly mode and started engaging the friends in a series of conversation while I was basically just hanging around, being my usual quiet self. At least until she approached me and asked why I wasn't talking to anyone, apparently she'd been observing me from the side while Simon was entertaining the others. With a nervous laugh, I explained to her that I'm not really used to talking to people as I'm a bit socially awkward, and her response was that it was a shame but lucky for me, she's here to keep me company

Sneaking a glance at Simon, I could see my guy giving me a hidden thumbs up as he used his eyes to tell me to go for it; and so I did. I allowed myself to loosen up and enjoy her company, which was really nice and just the breath of fresh air I needed. After a while of talking, it was time for us to go so we'd exchanged numbers and promised to continue our conversation online.

After that, we were in the talking stage for at least two months before we officially started dating. And while the first few months of the relationship were lovely, it didn't really take long for me to notice the flaws in my free spirited darling. Where I was an ambitious and hardworking career guy looking for a way to build myself, she was a happy go lucky girl who didn't plan for the future as she preferred to "live in the moment", which was actually a cover for her hidden fear of the future and what life held for her. We had lots of arguments after that, some mild, others particularly nasty, but we always found our way around it. Until that one fateful day. I had gotten a promotion which would require me to travel abroad for a six months training before I came back to start work in Lagos city. When I told her the news, I was expecting her to be happy but instead she was sulking; feeling irked by the sullen mood, I decided to ask her what the problem was and she'd told me that I was moving too fast for her, that she couldn't keep up with all my career moves and when I asked her to try and step up so that we could grow together, she immediately became defensive and accused me of seeing her as an immature girl. That wasn't the main problem, what really got to me was when she said she'd regretted dating a guy like me who was too serious for her liking. I pretty much lost it then and the argument that followed was so terrible that by the time we'd calmed down, we both knew that the relationship was over. We were obviously not on the same frequency.

That was like three years ago, and although whenever I remember her my heart still skips beats, I try to remember the reason why things ended between us. I couldn't go for a girl who wasn't trying to build herself like I was.

Sort:  

Being on a different frequency with someone we are trying to build a long term relationship with is not a good idea.
You described well the emotions and thoughts of a person who is in such situation.

Thank you for sharing that story with The Ink Well, we appreciate your engagement in the community by commenting on other writers' stories.

Thank you so much , I really appreciate that you stopped by

Congratulations @luckydrums! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the May 1st Hive Power Up Day
Be ready for the 5th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thanks for stopping by. I really appreciate it

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment

Ok, thanks for sharing your thoughts. I appreciate it