My love

in The Ink Well2 years ago

img_0216.png
Source
Image was edited using canva

6:30 AM

I was pacing about in my room, I felt very uneasy, very disturbed even. Why would Anthony call me by 5:00 am saying we need to talk, I noticed the urgency in his voice.

My name is Rose Christian. A 24 year old who’s a major shareholder and CEO in the same company I work in - “L&R’s”. Anthony O’Neil is or should I say was my boyfriend. We were the perfect couple, so in love, we literally did everything together. We were together for three years until we broke up two months ago after saying he needed a break from our relationship over a text message. He never called to explain why, it was almost as if he just...disappeared. Few weeks later, my healing process is disrupted. I’m watching the news and I see business mogul Anthony O’Neil is getting married. My Anthony...

Out of the blue he then decides to call me so he’d explain things in person. I was furious yes but deep down I was hoping it would turn out to be an expensive joke, he’d come back to me. It’s absurd for him to break up with me, meet someone new and plan to marry her under 2 months!. That’s not the Anthony I know.

I got dressed for work and had my driver take me to work. I wasn’t mentally stable enough to drive. It was almost as if the time we fixed- 1:00pm would never reach, it was as if each minute took an hour to pass by. I just couldn’t wait to see him.

1:15 PM

I was sitted at Houston’s which was the proposed venue. He wasn’t there yet, that was unlike him, he was always there early, he never liked to keep me waiting.
Five minutes later I see one of his luxurious sports cars park in front of the restaurant. For some weird reason my heart skipped a bit.
I watched him get down from his car and step into the restaurant. He looked as handsome as I remember, he had an exquisite navy blue Giorgio Armani suit on which made him look every inch the urbane CEO he was, the business mogul. If I wasn’t already in love with him I would’ve swooned over him now. I know I’m attractive but his would be considered lethal.

“Good Afternoon Rose” - the words rolled off his tongue so easily.
“Good Afternoon to you too” -I said
“Can we order now?” -he said.
I couldn’t pretend anymore - “Anthony I’m not hungry. Please just stop with the formalities and tell me why you left me!”
He beckons on the the waiter to get a bottle of wine and two glasses. As the waiter pours into our glasses I noticed he hasn’t made eye contact with me, where was his mind?
As soon as the waiter leaves he looks at me. For a moment his eyes darkened with an emotion I was all too familiar with. But then he quickly hides it.

“I’m sorry”- he said with remorse
“That’s not what I want to hear Anthony”- I was getting pissed at this point
“I know I messed up a lot. I left you without an explanation and two months later you’re seeing I’m engaged. Rose I’m truly sorry. I still love you but I can’t do anything about the situation it’s beyond my power. She’s already carrying my child”- he said as if he was close to tears.

At that moment i would’ve thought I turned deaf but the only thing that kept echoing was his last sentence. He’s having a baby with her?

“You gave me a promise ring, we’ve been together for three years, we did everything together, we were in love, I loved you, I still love you. Anthony we went on trips together, we celebrated holidays together. We had our ups and downs but we made sure we sorted them out. What happened to all the promises we made to each other? Huh? You were my everything! We picked out names for our kids! What happened? What did I do wrong? Am I not enough for you?- Tears were freely rolling down my cheeks, my mascara was smudged but I didn’t care. I didn’t even notice I had raised my voice a bit and people’s attention had diverted to me. I didn’t care.

“Are you not going to answer me? Coward!” - I said with a shaky voice but he didn’t say anything. I see him fighting to wipe the tears away from his face.

“Don’t start crying here please! You’re the one who caused all this. Just one question; are you getting married to her because you got her pregnant mistakenly?” - I said while I tried to compose myself.

He brings out a handkerchief and cleans his face thoroughly before replying- “Rose, it was a mistake getting her pregnant but the marriage has nothing to do with this. Please try to understand. I’m begging for your forgiveness”

I had to know why he did it.
“Why are you marrying her?” -I struggled to say while I lost the composure I managed to build.
He looked like was battling within himself to tell me the reason why until my attention is diverted to the lady that just walks in. She’s the one. The same one I saw him on TV with. The one he’s getting married to.

She walks up to our table and then clears her throat to make her presence known before she faces Anthony.
“Babe aren’t you done with this?”- She said while referring to me as “this”.
She then continues- “We really need to meet with the wedding planner”
After that she proceeds to give me a dirty look before seductively placing her hand on his chest, gives him a peck and still has the guts to look back at me and fake a smile.

Anthony wouldn’t let anyone look at me or talk to me this way. Much less her. He has to say something. Watching her peck him already made me cringe, but this? Nahhh. I waited for him to say something but he didn’t.

He gets up to leave but stops to say something. He looks at me, his look lingers a bit but then decides against what he was about to say and ends up leaving with her.

As they leave, I watch him. I’m watching his retreating figure. He was my whole world, my everything, The love of my life, the only one who showed me the meaning of true love and he was walking away from me, walking away from my life, right through that door.
After they left, I heard murmurs around me. That was when I realized people were actually watching what transpired. Even the press was there. I felt embarrassed but I should’ve known about the press, after all Anthony was famous.
They all looked at me with so much pity as tears fell from my face but I didn’t care. My world was shattered.

Sort:  

Wow. This actually happened to an older friend of mine. Rose just has to move on. I'm sure she’d find a better person.

Yes hopefully she would. It’s not the end of the world.

Sometimes business outweighs the love you have for a person... but such a betrayal is too much.

Way too much I must say.

You have some wonderful writing skills, @madamnaomi. In this story, you developed some strong characters, and built the story with action, dialog and suspense. But we are left in the end not having the answer as to why Anthony left her. If not for the baby, then there must be some very compelling reason. We wish we knew what it was!

Be sure to engage with other writers in the community. We ask that each writer read and comment on at least two stories for each one published in The Ink Well. Thank you.

I’ll do so. Thank you for reading, I’m glad you enjoyed it.

This story reminds me that I am really glad I don't live the "lifestyle of the rich and famous"! My guess is that the new fiancé is somehow blackmailing him for his money.

Probably so😂. Hopefully rose will get out of this.

Congratulations @madamnaomi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 2250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2500 upvotes.
You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you so much