Behind Closed Doors

in The Ink Welllast month (edited)

Image generated by me using BingAI

Thank you, Mrs. Thompson," James said, his voice filled with gratitude. "You've given us hope for our marriage, right babe?"

"Yes.. yes she has" Mrs James who was sitting right beside her husband said, emotions betraying her voice

"I didn't do anything. I only counselled while you guys did all the work. I'm happy for you guys" Sarah smiled warmly at the couple as they rose from their seats and made their way to the door, their hands entwined in a silent pledge to work on their relationship.

Sarah Thompson, the esteemed marriage counsellor, reclined in her seat in her cosy office. A smile playing on her lips but worry etched in her face. She poured herself a glass of water and gulped it down. Something was bothering her

Just as the couple left, Sarah's secretary, Janet, poked her head into the office through the glass door. "Mrs. Thompson, your husband is here to pick you up." She said stepping into the office.

Sarah nodded, her thoughts already drifting to the evening ahead. She watched as Janet turned to leave, all of a sudden Janet paused, her curiosity getting the better of her.

"Janet," Sarah said, her voice soft with introspection, "any problem?"

"Mrs. Thompson may I ask you a question" Janet replied instead with a soft inquisitive tone.

Sarah sat up from her chair, a curious expression on her face. "Of course, Janet. What is it?"

Janet hesitated, her brows furrowing with perplexity before she finally spoke up. "How do you... I mean, how do you do it? Keep your marriage, like, strong and all? You've been married for, what, like, twenty years? And yet, you guys seem so... together. Meanwhile, I've only been married for, like, five years, and I feel like... like I'm barely holding it all together." She paused, her words trailing off with a burst of emotion.

Sarah's eyes widened in surprise at the unexpected question. A small smile playing on her lips. As easy as it might sound, she didn't have an answer to that question" Please let my husband know that I'll be with him shortly." She replied instead.

"But you're yet to answer.."

"Janet?"

Taking that as a clue that she was being discharged "I'll let your husband know" Janet said and made her way out of the office.

As Sarah and her husband, David Thompson, drove home together, a heavy silence hung in the air, broken only by the soft hum of the car engine.

David glanced at his wife, concern etched on his features. "Is everything okay, honey? You seem quiet today."

Sarah forced a smile, her mind still lingering on the conversation with Janet. "I'm fine, David. Just work."

But David could sense the tension in her voice, and he knew there was something more troubling her. "You know you can talk to me, right? Whatever it is, we'll face it together."

Sarah sighed, the weight of her thoughts finally spilling out. "It's just... Janet asked me today how we've managed to keep our marriage strong for over 20 years. And I realised... I don't have an answer."

David reached out and took her hand in his, his touch a comforting anchor in the storm of uncertainty. "Maybe it's because we're not afraid to confront our issues head-on. To communicate openly and honestly, even when it's hard."

He parked at their driveway and switched off the engine. He tried to hold Sarah's hands but she pulled back.

Sarah grabbed her bag and looked at her husband. "Are we?, David?l. Are we really confronting the issues here" she opened the door and got out, slamming it shut behind her.

"Come on honey. Don't tell me we're going to go over this again" David yelled at Sarah who was already stepping to the house.

David got down and followed her into the house. He got In to meet Sarah standing at the kitchen counter.
He walked past her and slouched on the couch in the sitting room picking up the remote control.

"James," she called out, her voice tinged with frustration, "we need to talk."

"Can't it wait? The game is about to start."

Sarah clenched her jaw, her patience wearing thin. "No, it can't wait. We've been avoiding this for too long."

With a resigned sigh, James muted the television and turned to face his wife. "What is it now, Sarah?"

Sarah sank into the armchair opposite him, her hands trembling with suppressed emotion. "I'm tired of pretending, James. Tired of putting on a show for the world while our own marriage is falling apart."

James frowned, his brow furrowing in confusion. "What are you talking about? We're fine."

A bitter laugh escaped Sarah's lips. "That's just it, James. It's all a facade. I'm tired of all this. I'm tired of playing the role of the perfect wife while you sit back and do nothing."

James bristled at her words, his own frustrations bubbling to the surface. "Perfect wife? Role? What exactly do you mean, Sarah? You're the one who's always busy with your counselling nonsense, leaving me to fend for myself and the kids. You barely have time for me and the kids again. Yet, we don't complain. I don't complain because I love you and I know what that job means to you and I'm ready to sacrifice whatever it is to make us work."

Sarah's eyes flashed with indignation. "Counselling nonsense? That 'nonsense' is what's keeping a roof over our heads while you seat at home and watch TV! I've worked tirelessly to build my career, I'm working tirelessly to put food on our table and what do I get in return? What do you do? You sit at home and watch TV."

David paused, he smiled and dropped his face "So I lost my job months ago and can't provide like I used to and you see it like all I do now is sit at home and watch TV? This is what this is all about?"

Sarah realises that she might have overstepped her boundary with what she said. "That's not what I meant, all I'm saying is maybe you should apply elsewhere than do this all day. I don't like seeing you like this" she said in a soft tone.

"Sarah," David said softly, his eyes filled with understanding, "I was actually going to tell you over dinner that a job I applied for just called me. It may not be as high-paying as my previous one, but it's a start. I want to support our family again. I want to help with the kids fees and pay the rent and get you gifts like used to"

Sarah's heart swelled with a mix of relief and guilt. She had let her emotions cloud her judgement, forgetting that David was doing his best despite the challenges they faced.

"I'm sorry, David," she whispered, tears welling up in her eyes. "I shouldn't have said those things. I was wrong to let my frustrations get the best of me."

David reached out and took her hands in his, his touch grounding her in the present moment. "We both have our faults, Sarah. But what matters is that we're willing to work through them together. And you see I was right earlier when I said that we're not afraid to confront our issues head-on and that communicating openly and honestly, even when it's hard, has helped us get here."

Sarah nodded.

David was right, communicating openly and honestly, even when it's hard, has really helped them get through issues in her marriage. She knew at that spot that she had found her answer for Janet tomorrow. She smiled, her heart lighter with the knowledge that she and David were in this together.

"I love you, David. And I'm so sorry for doubting us."

David pulled her closer into his arms, holding her close as if to reassure her of his love. "I love you too, Sarah. And I'll always be here for you, no matter what."

Sort:  

This story has a strong arc and good character development. When we first meet Sarah she is acting as a confident professional. Then we get a glimpse of her 'real' life, the way her husband sees her and the way she feels. As we get this view, the character undergoes a kind of growth. She comes to understand more about her husband, herself, and the marriage the two of them share. At the beginning of the story she is not sure enough to give Janet advice, but in the end she is confident.

Great use of dialog, also in this story, @marriot5464. Thank you for sharing it with us.

Thank you for reading @theinkwell