Motor Mouth

in The Ink Well2 years ago

image.png

Running Mouths

Jack was what most people would call a motor mouth. He often shot out what he said before giving it any serious thought. He was impulsive and free spirited. When he saw something he didn't like, he told you about it.

Family life was a circus because his little sister and his mother were also motor mouths. His father on the other hand was a very quiet man who had a wrinkly smile and a twinkly eye. If it wasn't for his father, Jack and the other two motor mouths would never listen to each other.

Jack wondered how his dad did it. His sister Beth was yacking about how mom had over cooked the noodles and undercooked the meatballs. Mom completely ignored her and started talking about how the teller at work got proposed to in the lobby of the bank. She went jabbering on about a lost romance. Beth had no idea what she was saying so Beth cut her off saying,

"If the meatballs weren't frozen maybe we could have a n eatable dinner. Suzie's mom bought a new air-fryer at the mart and paid only 45 dollars...."

Jack tried to get in his two cents by talking about the basketball game after school when he noticed his dad's proud smile. He wondered to himself,

"How does my dad keep his cool in a room full of motor mouths?"

After dinner his dad excused himself and went to the garage. Beth helped her mom with a few of the dishes and then laid on the sofa scrolling through her phone.

Refreshment

Jack felt like he wanted to get some fresh air and there was a local tavern on the corner he would sometimes find himself in at this time after dinner. There were a few regulars and there was a nice pool table. Jack liked to talk with George Rodgers, an older divorced man who would tell him stories of the way things used to be in this town.

After a couple drinks George and Jack started talking about the local building code issues. It turns out that their neighbor wanted to build an extension but the city ordinance was against it because it went to close to the property line.

George wanted to say something about how things used to be, but then Jack cut him off and told him how lousy the ordinance was and how all the politicians are corrupt and stuck up old men who don't even visit their tavern. Jack was not much of a listener. He also had a hard time to keep his cool.

Jack lost his cool and gave George a push. The bartender asked Jack to step outside for some fresh air. Jack told off the bartender.

Then again he did feel like he wanted to go outside. Things were getting hot in the bar. Outside he was under the summer evening sky. He heard frogs croaking in the distance and saw fireflies zooming across the yard. He blurted out,

"You F'n flies! You F'n frogs! Would you just shut your traps!"

A Real Motor

Then another sound came from the corner. That was his alley. Jack stumbled down the alley into his open garage. There he found his dad tinkering in the garage with an old Moto Guzzi. He didn't even know that his dad had a motorcycle let alone such a beauty. The chrome of the V7 twin motor shined in the dark garage. His father looked up and smiled. He said,

"It's time to give it a rev."

The bike was on a stand and his dad said,

"Go ahead pull the throttle, I'll hold the clutch."

The sound of the engine moving the motor gears through the bike made Jack completely quiet. His motor mouth stopped and he just listened to the hum of the engine. His dad said,

"Get on. We'll go for a spin."

Jack felt like he was on a magic horse flying through the town. That day his dad taught him how to shift. He caught on quick and for the first time Jack was speechless. It wasn't just power, it was fun and smooth and a comfort to be driving his dad's Moto Guzzi on the back roads like a good old boy.


This story was inspired by the inkwell prompt motor. I also tried the plot writing technique by jotting the plot on a post it before writing. I'm more comfortable with writing the plot in my head before typing it but everything works. I couldn't be completely faithful to my original plot line, but I was able to stick the main outline.

Cover picture is from Pixabay. The other picture is from my desk.

image.png

Sort:  

It took a beautifully stylish, high revving, Italian cruiser to silence young Jack. The irony that it took a motor to silence another motor is not lost🤗😂And when he allowed himself to be immersed in the world of the motorcycle's hum, he was transported to a different time and place, living out the memories of a previous generation... true connection can be found when we quieten ourselves long enough to be able to truly listen to the messages around us. I enjoyed this piece my friend. I'd love to share it in Dreemport this evening❣️

I'll leave you with a link to let you know all about the project/community and how to use it alongside your other blogging platforms to get more eyes on your content and grow with a community within a community so to speak.
How do I use Dreemport
Building a better name with Dreemport

!LUV !ALIVE

@mineopoly! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (6/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

I've known many Jacks in my life, and many of them don't end well haha. Fortunately, it was a happy end for the protagonist along with his beloved father.

My favorite Jack.

This song may have influenced the slag "jagoff"

!LOL

I asked my Mom why ADHD runs in our family.
She said because it won't sit still.

Credit: minopoly
@gabmr, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @mineopoly
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(1/4)

His father on the other hand was a very quiet man who had a wrinkly smile and a twinkly eye.

I love the rhythm of this, a kind of assonance with 'wrinkly' and 'twinkly'. It's a beautiful line. I love how the father just goes about his business with all the other noise around him.

"You F'n flies! You F'n frogs! Would you just shut your traps!"

Oh man, the irony of this is just delicious.

aND i LOVE the ending.

Loved this story A LOT!

Thanks @riverflows,

I've been too busy this weekend to keep up with anything online but I'm really glad you liked the story. I will try to keep up with a story a week and I will keep my eyes open for your story.

It's fun to see how others think about the same prompt.

untitled.gif

It sure is! Amd I like reading quality work like yours. This was super clever and well writtenas well.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people(@mineopoly) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Even good today, interaction is a lot of involvement. thanks for sharing

Hi @ricestrela,

I learned that the inkwell has a prompt challenge and I wrote about this week's prompt "motor". I read your story also.

sam.jpg
Upvoted on behalf of the VYB Curation Project

Thanks for the encouragement @samsmith1971,

I sometimes wonder how you make the time to write. Life is often like a typhoon and sometimes like a tornado here and then gone.

That house will be like a pub where everyone is talking and nobody is listening. Haha. Ooopppsss, the Dad saved the day! He is the only one with a real mouth.

So nice to finally see a scenario where Jack became speechless. Sounds like the joyride hit the spot. Hehe.

Glad to see this post on DreemPort, shared by @samsmith1971.

Thanks for sharing @samsmith1971 and thanks for commenting @kenechukwu97,

The motormouth was finally quieted by the rev of twin V.

!PIZZA

You certainly have a cast of characters. Most readers are likely grateful they don't know these motormouths in real life. That's a nice twist at the end. The father, who uses words sparely, finally silences his sun with a real motor.

Great use of the prompt. Plotting the story in advance does not mean you have to strictly follow the plan. You are creating something, and sometimes that something has a will of its own.

Thank you for jumping in here with an interesting and well-crafted story. Did you you post a link to this under the prompt post? That's how we usually keep track of the prompt stories. Also, we do see a comment that you made on another author's story. Thank you. We usually expect our writers to support each other by commenting on at least two stories in each cycle. That feedback from fellow authors is valuable.

Looking forward to reading more stories from you!

Thanks @theinkwell,

I always appreciate your inciteful comments. I didn't think of posting a link in the prompt section. I will do that to make my writing more visible. I will try not to make it look spammy.

I had fun with the prompt and it didn't turn out exactly as I had planned. I got into the story and followed Frank through his wanderings. The plotting did give me a guide to where the story was leading. I will drop in a couple times a week to support writers in the inkwell. I would like to improve my writing and appreciate honest comments and criticism.

!LUV

@theinkwell, @mineopoly(1/5) sent you LUV. wallet | market | tools | discord | community | daily

⚠ The LUV command will soon require a limited number of other "!" commands accompany it. Details here.

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
mineopoly tipped kenechukwu97 (x1)
mineopoly tipped pjpavan (x1)
samsmith1971 tipped mineopoly (x1)
@mineopoly(1/5) tipped @zyzymena (x1)
mineopoly tipped samsmith1971 (x1)

Join us in Discord!

I liked the story, like jack I know many people who don't think about things before they say them and even I have done it sometimes.

Hi Pablo,

I guess it does some good for a motormouth to take a spin on a MotoGuzzi. The hum of the bike calms the nerves and there is nothing to say. If he does open his mouth he will swallow some bugs.

untitled.gif

!PIZZA

There is a certain feeling of power that words are not necessary for when riding @mineopoly. And that is a ride Jack would never forget.
I took my son over to the local high school parking lot and had him riding and shifting within 5 minutes, although it did help that I taught people in just about anything on the road to drive. I was a driver trainer for people in big dump trucks with 2 shifters, a main and a Brownie, and also had many years driving everything from bikes to huge tractor-trailers and sets of doubles to front end loaders and various equipment for working on the roads and hillsides.
This post was obtained through Dreemport.

Hi @jamerussell,

You sound like a very kind and patient instructor. Like you my father had many licenses and learned to drive a tractor before anything else. But honestly my own father had a hard time even to teach me to drive a manual transmission. He would blow his patience. My little brother ended up teaching me on his old BMW motorcycle. That was a really old bike but a good bike to learn on. My dad owned a Motto Guzzi but didn't want me to touch it. I loved the way it sounded.

!LUV

@jamerussell, @mineopoly(1/5) sent you LUV. wallet | market | tools | discord | community | daily

⚠ The LUV command will soon require a limited number of other "!" commands accompany it. Details here.

This is a beautiful write up. I also love to have my plot complete before writing my story. Jack was a motor mouth that couldn't seem to stop talking but the beautiful bike left him without words, something he wasn't used to. I can imagine what a visit to Jack's family would look like. One need to either be a motor mouth or learn how to be a great listener.

You got it @zyzymena

This is a classic bike

The coolest

!PIZZA

Thanks for the gift my friend.

top_5_dreemport_cycle_243

Hi my friend, @mineopoly I though I would share with you that your short story that I shared in Dreemport was ranked in the top 5 for the day in cycle 243 (it ranked 3rd!) by the public curators. We'd love it if you would consider signing up and sharing more of your work with the community. Dreemers can earn Dreem tokens for curating and ranking a random daily 5 which enables them to share one of their own posts with the Dreemport community to be curated and ranked by the public. The top 5 also earn additional Dreem tokens. The community/platform allow you to gain more eyes on your content and improve engagement and support between community members. Let me know if you would like some help signing up. It's super easy and quick and complements Hive very nicely. !PIZZA

Thank you. I am already signed up on dreemport and try some curations but always find a lack of motivation to continue.

hehe well if you curate and align with Guild you will start building a Dreem token portfolio. Also if you submit a URL and place you earn more tokens and potentially new readers and engagement.

Got it !PIZZA

I checked through the submission process. First I curate five posts. Then I go through a bunch of boxes of information. I don't really want to do that. Can you explain why you do it? It seems like a lot of extra work to promote your post or a friend's post. Why do you do it?

Your curate 5 posts and rank them according to your preference... You reject any that you feel are spam or insufficient written content to qualify as a decent written post because Dreemport focusses on the writing in posts... that's it from the curation side. Those posts have all already been screened for plagiarism and copyright infringement by Dreemport staff screeners so you are there simply as an objective reader to read them, hopefully, engage with some of them, encourage, maybe give them some support with an upvote. Get fresh eyes on your own content and give other people's content fresh eyes... potentially gain new followers and develop new relationships across Hive and other platforms. By doing this daily 5 you can then share a post of your own... (at this moment you cannot share those of other people - only Dreemport staff can do this) - which will be sent out in randomised bundles of 5 to other public curators to read. But as Dreemort grows, your posts will be shared with a wider audience. By submitting your post you also put yourself in line for upvote by Dreemport and you earn Dreem tokens for aligning with the Guild standard on what is spam/ insufficient written content. Its about increasing exposure, engagement, building relationships and expanding your horizons... and you don't have to curate and/or share every day although the more you do, the more you benefit !LUV 🤗

@mineopoly, @samsmith1971(1/5) sent you LUV. wallet | market | tools | discord | community | daily

⚠ The LUV command will soon require a limited number of other "!" commands accompany it. Details here.

I got it. You explained well and clarified some points about curation. I will try to curate and share a post once in a while. !LUV

@samsmith1971, @mineopoly(1/5) sent you LUV. wallet | market | tools | discord | community | daily

⚠ The LUV command will soon require a limited number of other "!" commands accompany it. Details here.

👍🤗 !ALIVE

@mineopoly! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Congratulations, @mineopoly! Your story has been chosen for the weekly #theinkwell magazine and has received a vote from Curie. Please keep supporting the community by commenting on other writers' stories.
https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@theinkwell/the-ink-well-highlights-magazine-58

Thanks for the encouragement. I am finding some cool stories and will work on interacting with authors here. I know it is a special opportunity to be in a community like this. Just as iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another. I really admire you and the moderators for your efforts in community. Consistency has never been easy for me, but I hope I can be consistent in supporting The Ink Well.

!LUV

@theinkwell, @mineopoly(2/5) sent you LUV. wallet | market | tools | discord | community | daily

⚠ Starting June 16, LUV will allow 3 or fewer "!" commands in a reply. Details.