Mom's dream [ENG][ESP]

in The Ink Well3 months ago

image.png
Image in pixabay by Tumisu

My name is Claudia and my life has always been normal, I had a happy adolescence with my mother who gave me everything she could, a good education, a nice home and of course love. I am trying very hard to give my mom the best, she has made so many sacrifices for me, that I want to give her a little bit of everything she deserves. In a few months I plan to take her on vacation to Paris, she has always wanted to see it and I am going to fulfill one of her dreams.

Lately my mom has not been feeling well, so I decided to do some tests with the insurance of the company I work for, the good thing is that they send me the results to my email and just today they are going to send them to me. I don't feel nervous about it, my mom must just be tired or lacking some vitamin, on the trip she will feel better.

I arrived at the company and greeted Lucia the receptionist and she greeted me back as kind as always and said "Claudia a doctor called asking for you, he said to go to this doctor's office today, there is something important he has to talk to you, it's about your mom". Immediately all the alarms in my crazy head went off and with a trembling voice I could only say "thank you". I went on my way to modify my day, going to that office became my priority, I had no head to do anything else, I was trying to convince myself that it was nothing, but if it was like that the doctor would not have summoned me.

I decided to ask for permission all morning to go to the doctor's office, the uncertainty was going to finish me off. When I arrived I was attended by the secretary, I told her the reason why I had come and I told her my mother's name. I really wanted to decipher the face of the secretary when I said her name, but these people seem to be trained not to show emotions. I waited for about half an hour, until I heard the secretary tell me "Miss Claudia you can come in, the doctor is waiting for you". My heart started beating a thousand per hour and I felt like running out of there, I felt that something was happening. Even though my legs were shaking like jelly, I managed to get to the door and open it.

The doctor looked mature, experienced, his hair had a lot of gray hair, he told me "Miss Claudia I am Doctor Fernandez, I am glad you could come, it was necessary to talk to you as soon as possible". I don't know why but the way he spoke to me made the fear I felt disappear, I felt that he was going to help me if something happened with my mom and that made me feel better. I extended my hand to the doctor with determination, hoping he would tell me what was going on with my mother.

His words were these "in one of the tests we did on your mom, we detected a tumor in the area of her uterus and we did the necessary tests to find out if that tumor was malignant and I regret to inform you that if it is, she must begin treatment quickly, the good thing is that as soon as the symptoms began, they went for tests, that is a good prognosis for her recovery, she must have several sessions of chemotherapy and radiotherapy to then remove the tumor in a surgical intervention". After asking the doctor for all the indications I went home, I did not know how I was going to tell my mother the news, but I had to be strong for her.

My mom knew that the results were due that day, so when she saw me come home during my work schedule she knew something was going on and she told me "what do I have Claudia and please don't lie to me". I asked her to have a seat, told her what I had and what we were going to do. We hugged and I convinced her that as always we would get through this. She started the treatment and there were very hard days but she managed to finish it, from that day a year has passed, the hardest thing was to see her beautiful hair fall, but we overcame all that together. A few hours ago she came out of surgery where they removed the tumor in its entirety, I am entering her room to give her the news, I asked the doctor to please be me who did it.

She knew that there was a very high risk that they could not do anything if the tumor had compromised another vital area or an organ, so she told me again this phrase: "Claudia, how did everything go and don't lie to me". With the biggest smile I could give her I told her that everything went well. We could not go on vacation to Paris as I had planned, but that money helped me to fulfill her most important dream, to continue living.

IMG_20220805_143601.png

Versión Español

El sueño de mamá

image.png
Imagen en pixabay by Tumisu

Me llamo Claudia y mi vida siempre ha sido normal, tuve una adolescencia feliz junto a mi madre que me dió todo lo que pudo, una buena educación, un hogar bonito y por supuesto amor. Estoy esforzándome mucho por darle a mi mamá lo mejor, ella ha hecho tantos sacrificios por mí, que quiero darle un poquito de todo lo que ella se merece. Dentro de unos meses tengo planeado llevarla de vacaciones a París, ella siempre lo ha querido conocer y voy a cumplir uno de sus sueños.

Últimamente mi mamá no se ha sentido bien de salud, por lo que decidí hacerle unos estudios con el seguro de la empresa para la que trabajo, lo bueno es que me envían los resultados a mi correo y precisamente hoy me los van a enviar. No me siento nerviosa por eso, mi mamá solo debe estar cansada o le faltará alguna vitamina, en el viaje se sentirá mejor.

Llegué a la empresa y saludé a Lucía la recepcionista y ella me regresa el saludo tan amable como siempre y me dice " Claudia llamó un doctor preguntando por tí, dijo que fueras a este consultorio médico hoy, que hay algo importante que tiene que hablar contigo, es sobre tu mamá". Inmediatamente se encendieron todas las alarmas de mi cabeza loca y con voz temblorosa solo pude decirle " gracias". Seguí mi camino para modificar mi día, ir a ese consultorio se volvió mi prioridad, no tenía cabeza para hacer más nada, trataba de convencerme que no era nada, pero si fuera así el doctor no me hubiera citado.

Decidí pedir permiso toda la mañana para ir al consultorio, la incertidumbre iba a acabar conmigo. Cuando llegué me atiende la secretaria, le digo la razón por la que acudí y le digo el nombre de mi madre. De verdad quería descifrar la cara de la secretaria al momento de decir su nombre, pero esas personas parecen entrenadas para no mostrar emociones. Esperé como media hora, hasta que escuché a la secretaria decirme " señorita Claudia puede pasar, el doctor la está esperando". Mi corazón comenzó a latir a mil por hora y me dieron ganas de salir corriendo de allí, yo sentía que estaba sucediendo algo. A pesar de que mis piernas temblaban como gelatina, logré llegar a la puerta y abrirla.

El doctor se veía maduro, con experiencia, su cabello tenía muchas canas, me dijo " Señorita Claudia soy el Doctor Fernández, me alegra que haya podido venir, era necesario hablar con usted lo antes posible". No se porque pero la manera como me habló hizo que el miedo que sentía desapareciera, sentí que me iba a ayudar si algo pasaba con mi mamá y eso me hizo sentir mejor. Le extendí la mano al doctor muy decidida, esperando que me dijera que estaba pasando con mi mamá.

Sus palabras fueron estas "en uno de los exámenes que le hicimos a tu mamá, hemos detectado un tumor en el área de su útero e hicimos las pruebas necesarias para saber si ese tumor era maligno y lamento informarte que si lo es, debe comenzar tratamiento rápidamente, lo bueno es que a penas comenzaron los síntomas, acudieron a hacerse los exámenes, eso es un buen pronóstico para que se recupere, debe hacerse varias sesiones de quimioterapia y radioterapia para luego poder eliminar esa tumor en una intervención quirúrgica". Después de pedirle todas las indicaciones al doctor me fuí a casa, no sabía como le iba a dar la noticia a mi mamá, pero debía ser fuerte para ella.

Mi mamá sabía que ese día daban los resultados, por eso al verme entrar a casa en mi horario de trabajo supo que algo estaba pasando y me dijo " que es lo que tengo Claudia y por favor no me mientas". Le pedí que tomara asiento, le dije lo que tenía y lo que íbamos a hacer. Nos abrazamos y la convencí que al igual que siempre saldríamos de esta. Comenzó el tratamiento y hubieron dias muy duros pero lo logró terminar, de ese día ha pasado un 1 año, lo más difícil fue ver caer su hermoso cabello, pero todo eso lo superamos juntas. Hace unas horas salió de la cirugía donde removieron el tumor en su totalidad, estoy entrando a su habitación para darle la noticia, le pedí al doctor que por favor quería ser yo quien lo hiciera.

Al verme entrar mi mamá no me deja ni saludarla, ella sabía que había un riesgo muy alto de que no pudieran hacer nada si el tumor hubiera comprometido otra zona vital o algún órgano así que me dijo de nuevo esta frase " Claudia como salió todo y no me mientas". Con la sonrisa más grande que podía darle le dije que todo salió bien. No pudimos ir de vacaciones a París como lo había planeado, pero ese dinero me ayudó a cumplir su sueño más importante, seguir viviendo.

Encabezado de correo electrónico 600x200 px - Gráfico de Tumblr - Banner de Tumblr.gif

Publication originally written in Spanish and translated by translator Deepl.

Separator made in Vistacreate application

Sort:  

I couldn't help but smile at the end of the story. I'm glad the surgery went well. It's never easy informing a parent of such a diagnosis.

It is certainly very difficult, but since they know us they know if we are sincere or not, hence the importance of speaking the truth, thank you for commenting, I appreciate and value the time you took to do so.

She has done a nice job, taking her mom's health first before traveling. She's really a caring daughter who shows love to mother. I just like her for that.

It was really a way to thank for so much love received and to value the effort of a woman who, since she knew she was going to be a mother, did not mind sacrificing her dreams, her time, her energy and her whole being, in someone she was already proud of. She gave priority to what was really valuable and important. Thank you for your time and leaving a comment, I appreciate it.

This is a lovely and poignant story, @nathy33. The love Claudia has for her mother comes through in everything she does for her. Readers will close this story hoping that the Paris dream will still come true after everything they have been through.

Thank you for sharing your story in The Ink Well. Did you know that all writers who post in our community are expected to also read the work of other community members? We expect community members to read and comment on the work of at least two other writers for each story posted. Thank you!