In search of Mercedes

in The Ink Well2 years ago

image.pngsource

The bus bound for the city of Caracas is about to leave the terminal, the passengers settle into their seats, while a fine drizzle begins to fall on the town of Apartaderos, the mountains are covered with snow and the villagers take shelter in their homes. María Elena covers herself with her poncho and wool hat. Her very smooth face and red cheeks show that she comes from the villages of the paramo, more than three thousand meters above sea level. She is very young, barely 22 years old, small in height and with long, straight black hair. She is the village school teacher. She travels to Caracas to look for her sister who has not been heard from for months.

About six months ago her older sister, Mercedes, went to Caracas to work. Luisa, a cousin of her mother, had offered to help her so she could study in the capital. She wanted to be a nurse, it had been her dream since she was a little girl, so she accepted her invitation. During the first month she communicated frequently, saying that she was well, that she was working helping Luisa at home and taking care of her two children, Pedrito of seven years old, and Carolina with ten years old. When asked if she had started studying, she said she was looking for a place to do so. As time went by, the calls became more and more sporadic and in December, when she had promised to travel to the town for Christmas, at the last minute she said she could not. For the last two months they had not been able to communicate with Mercedes or with the family where she lived.

―Daughter, we are worried about Mercedes, it has been a long time since we have heard from her, ―her father tells her, ―your mother and I are thinking of going to Caracas.

―That is a very long trip father!, my mother can't walk too much, with her circulation problem and you can't leave the farm alone, who will take care of the sheep and the vegetable garden?

―Daughter!, your sister is more important and I have the feeling that she is not well, ― her mother tells her crying.

―Don't worry dear mother, don't cry!, I will go to Caracas, I will look for her and bring her to the house.

―I don't want anything bad to happen to you, can you imagine that you won't come back either. Your father and I are going to die of sadness.

―But don't think such things like that, you know that I may be small in size, but you taught me not to be afraid, to face problems and that's what I'm going to do. Tomorrow I will talk to the school principal to explain that I have to miss a few days. Carmencita can fill in for me. Give me Luisa's address, I don't know why, but I never liked her.

Before traveling, Maria Elena talks to her friend Carmencita, she asks her to talk to her aunt Clara who lives in Caracas to see if she can receive her at her house, because she needs a place to stay. Carmencita talks to her aunt and explains Maria Elena's problem.

―My aunt tells me that with pleasure you can stay at her house. That’s good, friend! This way I am calmer! Please take care of yourself. Here is her address and phone number, so that as soon as you get to the terminal you can call her to look for you. Look and take this too and give her a little package with money.

―I can't thank you enough Carmencita, you are my best friend.

―Come here ―she says and they embrace with tears in their eyes.

The bus enters the city of Caracas and Maria Elena sees with the first light of the morning how big and beautiful it is. When she arrives at the terminal she calls Mrs. Clara and waits on a bench for her to come and pick her up.
She is approached by a lady about fifty years old, tall, with short brown hair, dressed in gray pants and a swetter of the same color. With a smile on her face she introduces herself.

―Hello María Elena! How are you? I'm Aunt Clara,

―Hello Mrs. Clara!, it's a pleasure to meet you, thank you very much for receiving me.

―Come on girl!, we will have time to talk, let's go to the taxi that is waiting for us.

Maria Elena rests for a few hours in the house of Aunt Clara, who lives in one of the oldest areas of the city, with colonial houses with tile roofs and streets that climb up to the foothills of the mountain. Her house is cool and has lots of plants, and despite the worry she feels, she is very comfortable there. Also, Aunt Clara is a very loving and attentive person. She lives alone because her husband has died and her only son, Ernesto, has gone to work in another country.

After getting her strength back and eating, she decided it was time to go to cousin Luisa's house. Aunt Clara insisted on accompanying her.

―Don't think that I am going to let you go alone, you don't know the city and it can be dangerous where you are going, it is a place that is a little secluded.

―I thank you for accompanying me, but I don't want to involve you.

―I am ready and it is because I decided so.

They arrive at a big house in a dead end street, Maria Elena knocks on the door several times, nobody opens, but they hear noises inside.

―Luisa, open the door. I'm Maria Elena, I'm looking for my sister ―she shouts to make herself heard.
After a few minutes of waiting, the door opens. The face of a woman in her sixties with her hair tied in a bun and a gesture of disgust on her face, asks her.

image.pngSource

―Who are you looking for?

―I am looking for my sister Mercedes, she came to this house to live with my cousin Luisa, ―Maria Elena answers without being intimidated by that woman.

―I don't know any Luisa and neither do I know Mercedes, you have the wrong address.

―This is house number 10, on Los Almendros Street? ―asks Clara.

―Yes it is, but these people don't live here, they were given the wrong address, ―she answers, and closes the door in front of them.

―This can't happen! ―says Maria Elena, ―and now what can we do?

―Don't despair!, we will think of something.

―And if we ask the neighbors? Maybe some of them can tell us something.

―It’s a good idea!, where should we start?

―It could be by that warehouse, ―she says, pointing to the corner of the street. ―Look, maybe they know the person who lives in the house of Luisa.

They walk over there, and as they enter they see a young man and an old man serving customers. They wait until no one is there and take the opportunity to talk to them.

―What do you want? ―asks the old man

―Hello!, we want to know if you can help us find some people who used to live on this street, ― says Aunt Clara. And she explains what has happened.

The old man changes the expression on his face, as if he doesn't want to get into trouble. He tells them.

―We don't know these women.

―Are you sure you haven't seen this person? ―says Maria Elena and shows him a photograph of her sister.

―I haven't seen her around here.

Maria Elena observes the boy and realizes that he wants to tell them something, but he remains silent. As they leave the warehouse, María Elena asks Clara.

―Should we report her disappearance to the police?

―I don't know if it would be convenient to do, sometimes the police need proof, who knows what they will tell us.

―But I can't stay calm, I have to find Mercedes. My God, help me!

Discouraged, they walk to a small square and there they sit down to think about what they can do. The boy who works in the warehouse approaches them and sits down next to them.

―I knew your sister, ―he tells them, ―we had become friends. She wanted to study, but she told me that Mrs. Luisa wouldn't let her go outside the house and that she was constantly watched. She wanted to leave, but she didn’t want to leave the children alone, she had discovered their mother mistreated them. I advised her to leave because Lady Luisa was mental. I never saw her again.

―Please help me get into that house, ―said Maria Elena.

―My name is Pedro and I am going to help you. Tomorrow I am going to take an order and you are going to accompany me as my assistant, you have to pass yourself off as a boy, you know, put your hair up and put on a cap, I think that will be enough.

That's how it was, and very early in the next morning, Maria Elena and Aunt Clara waited in the Street. Pedro and Maria Elena, dressed as a boy, approached the house and knocked on the door. The same lady from last time opens the door, they enter the house in silent and go to the kitchen to take the merchandise. At that moment, Maria Elena begins to search through the house while Pedro entertains the lady. In one room she finds the children playing and asks them about Mercedes. They get scared, but she manages to calm them down and tells them that Mercedes is her sister. The little girl approaches and takes her by the hand and leads her to a room at the back of the house.

―There she is, ―she says, pointing to the door of the room, ―my mother has locked her in.

―And where is your mother?

―She is on a trip.

Maria Elena knocks on the door and screams Mercedes, while the lady comes up behind her and tries to stop her. Pedro goes to help her and tells her that he is going to call the police and they are going to accuse her of kidnapping. He tells her to open the door.

―It's not my fault, it was Mrs. Luisa, I'm just looking out for her, ―she says.

There in the room, numb from the pills Luisa forced her to take, is Mercedes. Maria Elena runs to hug her while tears run down her cheeks.

image.pngsource

A few days have passed since that moment of anguish, but also of determination and courage. Mercedes has recovered from the effects of the sleeping pills. Both sisters are resting at Aunt Clara's house, while the investigations finished. Their parents are now calm and anxiously awaiting the arrival of their daughters. Pedro visits them every day, it seems that he has fallen in love with Maria Elena and she reciprocates. Love sometimes appears in the most unexpected moments.

Now, Maria Elena feels calm next to her sister. It was worth the effort and risk she took, and she thanked his friends for their help.

Thanks so much for reading

Decidimos nuestra propia libertad.jpg

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Muchas gracias por el apoyo a mi publicación.
Saludos

What a drama you have created here! The reader gets thoroughly engrossed in the story. Your description of Caracas is a great break in the pace and puts us right in the narrative. You have believable characters and a credible story line. One question does remain, though. Why did Louisa drug Mercedes and lock her up? Mercedes seems too drugged to help with the children. Of course, you do say Louisa is mentally disturbed and that might be enough to explain her actions.

Thank you for sharing this story with us. You did engage with writers last week. Have you engaged this week? Thank you!

Hello @theinkwell, thanks for your comments.
I would have liked to explain Luisa's problem a little more but the story was getting too long.
The city of Caracas is my hometown and even though I don't live there anymore I have beautiful memories of old Caracas, the city of red roofs and I liked to set my story there.
I enjoy reading the stories, and even though I haven't been able to do it, I'm going to start.
Regards

This was really interesting. Her determination from her sister Elena, she never had doubts of finding her sister.

Hi @the-last-elf , thank you for your comment, that's what I liked most about my Maria Elena, her determination.
A hug

I really liked the story and I think that the fact of being a Venezuelan reading another, that favored, but I highlight your narrative, the sequence of images and the psychological descriptions. Very good contribution

Hello @franvenezuela. Thank you very much for your comments. It's a way to stay connected, I love it.
Thanks

What an amazing story, shows how important determination is because regardless of everything that came against Maria Elena, she pushed on and found her sister.

Thank you. She saw no obstacles in getting to her sister, love is a very powerful force.
A hug