Graveyard

in The Ink Welllast month

The eerie feeling was subtle but I could feel it. The strands of hair on my skin were upright and I could feel goosebumps all over.
image.png
Source
I looked around the graveyard as if looking for someone or something but there was no one but me.

“I don’t know what that feeling was. Did you feel it too?” I asked my husband as though he could hear me, talk more a reply.

My husband died five years ago when he was coming back from work after I broke the news that I was pregnant or him. I could still remember the excitement in his voice since we had been trying for 10 years. I could remember how he sounded like he was about to bawl. It’s still resounding in my ears now like he’s still whispering it to me.

I could also remember how he promised to be a good father to our child and continue to be a good husband to me. I could remember how he promised me heaven and earth; telling me he was going to pamper me throughout the pregnancy and I was never going to be stressed. I can still feel my lips stretch out in a broad smile, thinking back on his words; his promises to me.

It was a sad and devastating event that went down. He was in a car accident, probably driving too fast out of excitement to get home to me. The sad and sullen state I was in after my husband's demise made me lose the child.

Now, I have neither my husband nor my child.

I lay on my back on the blanket that I had spread on the carpet grass near his tomb. I stared blankly at the sky with the sun almost blinding me but I couldn't feel anything at that moment.

“Andrea, you remember that was the same name we were going to give our child? Same as your name,” I smiled as tears rolled down my eyes.

I was in pain and anguish. I had a lot I wanted to say. It has been two years since he left me but I still haven't recovered from that loss.

“I wish I could see you again. I wish I could hold you while you hold me back. I wish I could rest my head on your chest while you stroke my hair, parting my back and whispering sweet words in my ear. I wish you were here to fulfil all your promises to me. I wish I could just be with you for a few minutes, Andrea. I really wish!!” I cried.

I cried really hard that I could feel my head hurt so badly. I cried so hard like I was about to cry my eyes out. I cried with everything in me; with all the pain I felt from within. With all the anguish and loneliness that befell me after he passed away. I cried till I heard things.

I paused, sniffling the tears as I wiped my face to listen well but the sound has ceased. I let out a deep breath before shutting my eyes.

“Andrea, even my mental health is at stake. I’m hearing things now,”

Just as I opened my eyes, a strong wind hit me, blowing the grass and the trees vigorously. I shielded my eyes with my hands as the wind grew.

“What’s going on, Andrea?” I asked rhetorically but the unexpected happened.

I got a response.

“You wished for me to be here. I’m here, Amanda.”

I froze on the blanket where I was sitting as I was too stunned to speak. I looked around with confusion and fear.

The wind was gradually slowing down and my view was starting to clear but then I guess I was seeing things as I could see a figure a few miles away from me.

It was a bit far away but I could see someone was standing there with a broad smile and a wave.

“Who’s there?” I asked. My voice travelled throughout the graveyard but not to the strange figure’s ears since I got no response but a smile and a wave.

I took a few steps forward with skepticism as I looked back at my husband’s tomb, trying his get his approval before I continued to walk forward.

As I walked forward, the wind gradually subsided till it finally stopped. By now, I was starting to see the figure better but I couldn't make sense of it.

Why is Andrea standing there? How is that possible?

My steps were starting to slow down as tons of emotions ran through me. I could feel the tears rolling down my cheeks as I shook my head.

“This can’t be possible,” I said as I was just a few feet away from him.

I watched as his smile subsided and his hand that was waving dropped to his side. A worried look resumed on his face as he covered the space between us.

“Oh, dear Amanda,” he said and I cried more.

He pulled me to his chest and wrapped his arms around me. His touch was cold, his embrace was freezing. He stroked my hair, patted my back and whispered in my ear.

“You are a strong woman. You are doing absolutely well,” his voice was cold and different but it still kind of soothed my soul.

“I’m not doing well, Andrea. I’m slowly losing myself.”

“I’m here, Andrea. Your wish was granted.”

I looked up at his face with teary eyes and a smile played on both of our lips.

“You’re never leaving me,” I said with certainty but I knew that wasn’t possible. We were now in different worlds and the living could not be with the dead.


This is my submission to the Inleo prompt suggestion for the month of May. The topic is "Ghost, graveyards, afterlife.....". You can join here. This is the calendar
image (6).webp

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

You are a very good writer, I learnt a lot from this your postz

Thank you, Mike

Losing a loved one can be unbearable, it's the worst feeling anyone could ever have, this is a very touching story, tears roll down my eyes reading this, I wish people didn't have to die😔

I wish people didn't have to die too , it's really painful 😣😣

Very painful, nice writeup dear I enjoyed reading every piece of it!!!

Be playing. Dead as how? Me I am not dead ooo. Thank God it’s Andrea you are seeing.

Better come back to earth and leave that planet Pluto you and Andrea Dey. Me I am waiting to see our child oo.

😂😂😂😂😂😂

Which child? Did you give me any child to keep for you? 🤣

Yes oo. You just come back to earth first and stop sleeping behind that graveyard thinking you are enjoying 😂

😂😂😂😂
What if I don't want to come back?

I no get choice oo. I will come and meet you there. Na do or die be our matter. Make i go prepare to read the new update 😉

I have enter one chance like dis ooooo 😂😂😂

😂. This is the best chance you will enter. No regrets my dear. 😂.

The loss of a loved one can be very painful, especially when this comes prematurely.
You describe the emotional crisis she is facing very well, from the grief, sadness to the optimism and hope that he would come back and then fear and skepticism when she sees the figure then the courage to forge ahead.
I enjoyed every aspect of your story, good job 👍

Thank you very much

Painfully, life throws at us uncertainties and such was the protagonist's situation, a loss of husband and child. Losing loved ones can be devastating and mentally challenging. Ghosts appear beyond the figments of our imaginations and such may be as seen above. Your description is heartwarming.

Thank you