The Heir

in The Ink Well29 days ago

Jayden rested his hands on the railings with tons of thoughts in his mind. After the family meeting where his dad told him to get married as soon as possible, he had no idea where to begin.
image.png
Source
He had no girlfriend that would lead to a fiance and eventually a wife but now, he was given the ultimatum of two weeks to bring a woman home.

As the only son, first child, and heir to the Anderson family, there was no going back on his father’s words. Since his father was on a life-supporting machine, he believes he might die at any point, and that fear drives him to think he would not see Jayden’s children before he dies.

“Is everything okay, sir?” Cora, my private chef asked as she walked over to the balcony and I nodded.

“Yeah, yeah. You’re leaving already?” He asked and she beamed with a smile as she nodded.

“I have the beef stock in the fridge. You just need to microwave it and make your bowl of pho.”

He had never really noticed Cora’s facial features as much as he was seeing them all right now. She had vibrant blue eyes that sparkled with curiosity and a beautiful bright smile. He was almost not listening to anything she was saying when she called his name again.

“I'm sorry, I get you. Thank you,” he quickly chipped in.

“I guess that’s all for the day,” as she turned to leave, taking just a few steps to the door, Jayden called her back.

“Erm, Cora,” she turned back to face him with a straight face.

“Yes,”

“Can I drop you? I mean, I would like to drop you,”

“Drop me?” she asked with a raised eyebrow, moving closer to him.

“Okay, to be honest. I was going to ask to have a couple of drinks together. That's if you do not mind,” Jayden wasn’t certain how she was going to take it since this was the first time he was asking her out for a drink even though she had been working for him for almost two years now.

“Mr Anderson, is everything okay?” she asked with genuine concern plastered on her face.

“Call me Jayden, please, and yeah, everything would be okay if I have a drink with you,” Jayden said softly and she smiled sheepishly.

“Okay, Jayden. Let’s do that,” she said in the most seductive tone he had ever heard in his life.

There was something about her that night that caught Jayden’s attention. For a chef who had cooked for him for two years, he hadn’t ever noticed so much about her as he did that night. It was probably the tension of getting a woman that was on him or there really was something different about her.

They both went out for a drink that night and that became the genesis of their subtle love story which they both weren’t ready to accept just yet but Jayden needed things to be done as soon as possible. His two-week ultimatum was almost up.

So one afternoon, while they were hanging out, Jayden popped a question to Cora.

“What do you think about dating? Ever been in a relationship?”

Cora took a long sip of her drink before looking up at him with a chuckle.

“Of course, I have been in a relationship and I think the concept of dating is a beautiful thing,”

“I haven’t ever been in one,” Jayden mentioned and Cora almost choked on her drink.

“What? That can’t be possible!”

“Well, it is. That's why I find this a little difficult!” he swallowed hard and Cora wondered why.

“What, Jayden?” she could almost sense what the next words were.

Jayden held her hand, rubbing his thumb on the back of her palm gently. “Would you be my wife? Marry me, Cora.”

“Excuse me!” Cora’s tone was a mixture of anger and shock as she yanked her hand off his hold. “Be your wife? You must be kidding!” she laughed it off.

“But I’m not,” Cora stared dead into his eyes to read through him. She saw no smile forthcoming and she knew Jayden was serious.

“I must seem easy to you!” Cora said before getting up and walking out of the restaurant without looking back even though Jayden called after her.

Three weeks after the ultimatum to bring home a wife and inherit the company had passed. For Jayden, all hope as the heir to inherit the company was lost.

He wanted to make things right regardless so he went over to Cora’s place. She had stopped picking up his calls and coming over to his house. He wanted to give her space and three weeks after seemed like enough time.

“Hi,” he said with a soft smile as she opened the door for him. She returned the smile, which was a good sign.

They sat on the sofa in silence but soon, Jayden broke it as he began to explain things to her. He mentioned how stupid he felt after asking her that day and told her he rushed things all because he needed a wife to inherit the company.

Cora felt his sincerity and how responsible it was for him to man up and be accountable for his actions. She forgave him and they sealed it with a kiss. Now, Cora agrees to be his girlfriend.


This is my submission to the Inleo prompt suggestion for the month of April. The topic is "HERITAGE - CULTURAL, FINANCIAL AND BIOLOGICAL". You can join here. This is the calendar

image.png

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

cora realized his sincerity and agreed to his proposal. That was awesome! One needs to understand the intention of his/ her friend before agreement.

Wealthiest man, good morning. You are not far from the truth, we need to know what we are getting into before we agree

My wife works with a chick named Cora. I've seen her photo. Was tough to block out the softball-coach-type (if you know what I mean) bodybuilder whose smile looks like it hurts.

I'm glad I found you. Thanks for keeping a steady posting schedule. In a world where every first day of school is picture worthy and perfectly executed recipes are all the hype, your content is refreshing.

Yes, I know exactly the type you're talking about.

I am glad you found me too, knowing that you will be reading makes me want to do my best. I am also glad to hear that you are enjoying my content. Thank you for your support

So, it's just us here anyway, I won't tell anyone you told me, and whatever other charm is required: was there any non-fiction in this one?

Lol, yes. How could you tell?

Cuz it's like something I might've written myself back in the day maybe once or twice.

Mind telling me where you're from? Nigeria? You can make up something, too, watch..

I'm from Meltland. It's not hot as you imagine. It's quite comfortable, actually, peaceful and everyone lives in picturesque surroundings for a living. It's great. Hospitals are obsolete cuz no one gets sick and all the big hip hop and music moguls don't solicit illegal activity from minors. Yeah, it's quite special where I'm from so we had to call it Meltland to keep tourists out. I mean, could you imagine, "Greatest Ever Land" would have a line outside and I haven't even told anyone it's tax-free yet.

= }

Okay. Let me try

I'm from a place called Great Nation, it's very comfortable and so organized that you stay in queues for everything; fuel, voter cards, Passports, including the inflated notes that are printed every day.

We are so special as a people that we leave for other countries so there will be space for foreigners to come over and enjoy the good things in my country. Yes, you got it, we call our place Great Nation to attract foreigners, we are not as stingy as you, lol.

Ah, yes, Great Nation, I've heard of it. It's buzzing with opportunity. Last I heard they're renovating all the local housing and raising rents to draw in less of the less fortunate and more of the unwilling.

That is a wonderful short story.
And wow! A whole month of writing prompt!

Thank you. I know! Lol. You can join any day you can't think of what to write on.

I think like to write about stress (April 5) hehehe.. because that's what we are in, in our work these days. hehehe

Good choice. Stress and burnout is rampant these days. I will come around and read it 🥰

“Would you be my wife? Marry me, Cora.”

Now I know Jayden needs course 101 to understand the concept of dating and relationships entirely 😂

Well, I am glad at last that Cora forgive him for his ignorance

😂😂😂 She is here again to pick quarrels with my character 😆😆😆

Should I send Jayden to you so you can teach him? But it's Kingkong that will foot the bill o

Well, I am glad at last that Cora forgive him for his ignorance

Thank you, Ma'am

😂😂😂

You are welcome 🤗

A wife for a company, apparently the girl has true feelings and values, she didn't do it until she knew if it was really love and not for a business. In the end she stays with the boy.

Thanks for sharing.
Happy day.

Thank you

Hello @sabrinah,

Although you have a strong arc in this story, there isn't much about it that is believable. The father gives Jayden a two-week ultimatum. The father is on life support. He wants to see his grandchildren. There's no way, biologically, he could see his grandchildren in less than 9 months. By then, he will long be dead (he is on life support, after all).

Also, Cora's quick turnaround is kind of hard to accept. His explanation, that he proposed because he needed to marry someone, is hardly persuasive. You created an interesting scene: a dying father who wishes to see his grandchildren. However, in a rush to get to a conclusion you wove a tale of not very believable events. Nice try, though.

Thank you for sharing this with us, @sabrinah.