Oasis

in The Ink Well4 months ago


Source

 

The wind whispers melancholy, leaving a whistling echo in my ear, while my body is in a critical state.

Dehydration consumes me, and my strength begins to fail, my eyes barely able to see more than a few centimetres, as a cloud of sand has risen, enveloping me in a suffocating dust.

The grains of sand dig like stingers into my clothes and seep into my skin, burning it with their scorching touch.

Days have passed since I was lost in this desolate desert, and not a drop of water remains in my canteen.

The countdown of my life has begun, and I feel its relentless advance if I don't find some oasis or some help soon.

My steps become weaker and weaker, my tongue sticks to my parched palate and my throat burns like the fire of the midday sun.

I close my eyes for a moment, trying to concentrate and conserve my last remaining strength.

Despair intertwines with hope in my heart, as I plead with the desert to give me a chance of survival.

Suddenly, amidst the vastness of the sandy landscape, I spot a flash of green and blue.

My eyes widen, renewing my determination. With all my remaining energy, I move towards this oasis of life in the middle of the aridity.

As I approach, I discover a small spring surrounded by lush vegetation. Excitement and relief flood my being, and I throw myself into the cool water, drinking greedily to quench my agonising thirst.

Each sip revitalises my body and renews my spirit.

Once quenched, I sit on the edge of the oasis, grateful for the second chance I have been given.

As I watch the wind play with the leaves of the trees and the sun set on the horizon, I reflect on the fragility of life and the importance of cherishing every drop of water, every ray of hope.

But in the distance I see a group of armed people on camels coming, my heart races, there is nowhere to hide and I will have to leave it to chance what they want to do with my life.

Sort:  

Hi @saraiwoman. Thank you for joining The Ink Well, but we must caution you that we do not accept AI-generated stories. Before posting again in The Ink Well, please read our community rules at the top of The Ink Well home page.

Additionally, we recommend reading our writing tips in our catalog of fiction writing tips.

And finally, we ask the following of every writer who publishes in The Ink Well:

  • Please publish an introduction post telling the Hive community about you, your interests and what brought you to the platform. This is a Hive best practice.
  • Please write stories of a minimum of 350 words. We prefer a minimum of 750 words, as it is rarely possible to provide a story that includes character development and a strong story arc in a shorter story.
  • Please read and comment on the work of at least two other community members for each story you post in The Ink Well.

Note that authors who do not follow our community rules and guidelines will not be curated, and may be downvoted or muted in The Ink Well community.

Congratulations @saraiwoman! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the January PUM Winners
Feedback from the February Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2024 Winners List