You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: theinkwell writing prize | The Secret to Outliving Everyone

in The Ink Well4 years ago

Hello @amritadeva, welcome to The Ink Well - what perfect timing!
I liked this story, it's an interesting question about whether any redemption is involved 😉. You may have already found the writing tips post - inside you will find links to all the previous tips. We have only just started this challenge but I am sure other story tellers will join us as the days go by. I hope you enjoy your stay.

Sort:  

Great opening! I like the way information unfolds gradually. She is my last living cousin, daughter to my youngest brother, I was twenty-four when she was born. Well that's a riddle - is it a sign of dementia or a typo cousin/niece? Back to reading.....

Thank you so much for reading and giving your feedback! And it's a typo :). Not a native speaker, in Dutch we don't have two words for cousin / niece. Will change it right away!

Thank you! Yes, definitely looking forward to reading the other entries!

I found the writing tips and community rules, but nothing really specific on how strict we should be following the prompts as we join the contest. Was it okay for me to share this story as an entry? Or would it be better to write something really related to the prompts?

The prompts are there to get people writing - you can choose any or all and either include them or use them as a jumping off point for your writing.

The main criteria for this competition is that entries have a story arc. You may want to think about whether your story meets that criteria and whether you want to submit another entry to the writing prize.

You have plenty of time to think about it :)

Thank you! And yes, will think about it! :)