Creative Nonfiction in The Ink Well: Prompt #27

in The Ink Welllast year (edited)

Creative Nonfiction in The Ink Well: Prompt #27

SourceSource

Welcome to The Ink Well's weekly creative nonfiction contest!

In this post, we'll announce the winners from last week's contest and provide the prompt for the coming week.

Before You Write Your Creative Nonfiction Post...

We ask that you read our Creative Nonfiction Tips post to learn about the creative nonfiction genre and review our guidelines.

Important notes:

  • Creative nonfiction stories are based on your real-life experiences.
  • We are looking for real short stories! Not advice columns, reports on crime or corruption in your city, observations on nature, recipes, religion, politics, or any other nonfiction content. Just real-life short stories.
  • Ideal story length is between 750 and 1500 words, but your story must be at least 350 words, at a minimum to be curated.
  • Please focus on quality content. Read and edit for errors! Use a grammar checker before you post your story.
  • We expect everyone who posts in The Ink Well to read and comment on at least two other stories for each one published.
  • Do not post stories featuring physical abuse, graphic violence, erotica or NSFW content.

divider

Last Week's Creative Nonfiction Winners

Thank you to all who participated in last week's prompt!

Last week's participants:

@jjmusa2004@sublimethoughts@sssindhi
@ricardo993@garorant@timix648
@buezor@agmoore@borderline.babe
@deraaa@kinganny@praizking
@hazmat@nancybriti1@rukkie
@cool08@ubani@princess-dara
@lara-bee@merit.ahama@kemmyb
@edystringz@marriot5464@mrenglish
@popurri@rammargarita@yuki-nee
@george-dee@cypher09@kei2
@treasure-joshua@nelson-george@princessbusayo
@atomz@amiegeoffrey@inessita
@glorydee@lrscarmen@abigail04
@stuartcturnbull@lizizoo@wallay
@treasuree@marilour@kingsleyy
@diebitch@universoperdido

Honorable Mentions of the Week

@rammargarita
My Big Mistake

Since I was 16 years old, culminating my last school year at the Liceo Antonio José de Sucre, in Cumaná-Venezuela, I made friends with three classmates, who liked to smoke cigarettes. Since at that stage I was defining myself as an adult, I suggested that they teach me to smoke. At the beginning I choked on cigarette smoke, but in a short time I even learned to inhale it. We would invite each other to study at my house where I lived with my mother and my four siblings. When we were preparing the study material, we would smoke behind my mother's back.

@funshee
The Party Jollof Rice

If you are a bit familiar with Nigeria's social culture you might know that Naija jollof rice is the queen of the party. Any occasion without it will seem incomplete no matter what other food items were on the menu. It is a kind of food loved by everyone and endorsed by a majority of the partygoers. So, when you are thinking of organizing that party, it might be the first on your menu.

@kemmyb
Danger In Ecstatic Happiness

The accountant paid everyone in cash. Our bags held bulky brown envelopes. We were ecstatic. A staff member immediately declared, "Lunch is on me, guys!" He made a call to a restaurant we often visited and packed lunch was delivered to the office. It was like a mini party that afternoon.

@mineopoly
Hot Pepper Vodka

Then it hit. Vodka never really tastes like anything on the lips or on the mouth, but when it goes down it burns and hot pepper vodka burns even more. I was a little dizzy and sweating more. Then I ran to the toilet. I stayed there for what seemed like eternity. My other roommate Collin stayed with me. There was a loud porcelain echo humming from the porcelain goddess and ringing through my head.

Third Place: Wins 2 Hive

Our third place winner is @popurri, with the story:

The oral examination

Source Canva

To prepare for the Botany oral exam, with my friends, I went around the botanical garden trying to recognize the plants with their common and scientific names, as well as the family they belonged to. It was not very easy to do it in such a short time, but I did my best. I was a young girl who was born in a city and lived in an apartment where, apart from the plants my mother kept in vases in the backyard or in the living room window, my knowledge of plants was very limited.

Second Place: Wins 3 Hive

Our second place winner is @diikaan, with the story:

Sharp Guy Vibes

Source

That was when I knew that I had messed up, so I quickly released her hand and started stuttering at my words. I had mistaken this lady for my friend Jenny, who had a similar skirt and coat. I felt my face turning red as I tried to come up with an excuse.

First Place: Wins 5 Hive

Our first place winner is @marilour, with the story:

Vital transition

Source

I walked through its landscapes, in long and extensive walks, perceptions sharpened and senses renewed. Synchrony and harmony began to flow in a great heterogeneity and disparity, in the unfathomable and inscrutable of the Venezuelan Amazon. I rediscovered myself and found myself again, in my disconformities, with my lights and shadows, among resonances, signs and fragrances. New nuances emerged, strengthening my identity and revalidating my existential sense, imprints were forged in my essence, which will accompany me forever.

divider

This Week's Prompt #27:

Secret

Secrets can change the way we view the world and they can change us, irrevocably.

This week we ask you to write about secrets.

For this topic there are several possible approaches. For example:

  • Tell us about a secret crush you had as a teenager.
  • Perhaps you discovered a secret that your partner or family kept from you.
  • Children often have secret places or hideaways that they create imaginary worlds around.
  • You might have a secret-self that you hide from the world. Introduce yourself.
divider

Contest Rules

  • You have 6 days to write your story from the date of this prompt post. Be sure to check the deadline countdown.
  • Write a real-life story with the creative elements of fiction, like characters, dialogue, scene setting and a story conflict.
  • Post your story in The Ink Well Community.
  • Please use the tags #creativenonfiction and #inkwellprompt on these posts. Other possible tags: #writing #inkwellprompt #nonfiction
  • Stories must be written in English. If you've translated the post, it's best to add the original version below the translation. Do not write mixed language paragraphs.
  • Read and comment on at least two stories in the community. Add a link to your story as a comment on this post.

And be sure to remember to join The Ink Well community!

divider

Prizes

Prizes are only for stories written for this week's prompt, and your story must follow all rules to be eligible.

  • First place : 5 Hive.
  • Second place : 3 Hive.
  • Third place : 2 Hive.
divider

Interested in joining our community? Start by joining Hive!

Join here at Hive Onboard.

Already a Hive member? Click Subscribe at the top of The Ink Well community home page.

Questions? Ask The Ink Well on Discord .

inkwell

We invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @agmoore, @gracielaacevedo @yaziris and @itsostylish.

How to Follow Our Curation Trail

You can follow our curation trail by going to our hive.vote curation trail page and clicking the follow button.

How to Delegate to The Ink Well

We welcome delegations! These support our community in many ways, including helping us to provide support to quality content creators through curation and contests.

50 HP100 HP500 HP1000 HP5000 HP

A big thank you to all of our delegators:

@jayna, @felt.buzz, @zeurich, @marcybetancourt, @agmoore, @marlyncabrera, @stormcharmer, @generikat, @iamraincrystal, @preparedwombat, @gracielaacevedo, @chocolatescorpi, @samsmith1971, @grindan, @jackdeathblack, @josemalavem, @riverflows, @itsostylish, @morey-lezama, @evagavilan2, @popurri, @mrenglish and @stuartcturnbull.

twitterbannerFind us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jayna ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congrats to all winners and honorable mentions of the week! I look forward to seeing what the coming week brings!

Thank you very much.

Thank you @jayna

Congratulations @marilour @diikaan @popurri

And to all the honorable mentions
🎉🎉🎉

Thank you very much.

Congratulations to all the winners! Excellent work. I look forward to participating again this week. Greetings and continued success

Thank you very much

Congrats to the winners. You have all done extremely great.

Thank you very much.

Thank you

Felicidades a todos los ganadores, excelentes historias!

Thank you very much.

Thank you

Greetings to all
I am very touched, honored and grateful for this deference. Thank you @theinkwell team for the appreciation, it is a great encouragement and motivation.
I extend my congratulations to the other winners and fellow honorable mention recipients, in Creative Nonfiction in El Tintero: Prompt #26.
Have a great weekend

Congratulations to all the winners🤗❤️💕❤️🤗

Thank you very much.

Congratulations guys. Great work everyone

Thank you very much.

Thank you very much

Thank you very much for the honorable mention, and a big congratulations 🎉 to our winners.

Let's go again this week and bring all those secrets 🤫 to life.

Thank you very much.

Congratulations to all winners and participants

Thank you very much.

Congratulations to all the winners.

Thank you very much.

Congratulations to @diikaan, @marilour, @popurri, and the honourable mentioned...your stories were amazing!! Kudos to other writers too!

Thank you very much.

Your welcome ma'am 🙂

Thank you very much

You are welcome ☺️

here is my little secret I'm sharing with you guys
https://ecency.com/hive-170798/@omasilem/adolescence
I engaged the works of @funshee and @princessbusayo

Happy new week, Inkwell!
Here is my entry to the prompt word:
https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@princessbusayo/he-kept-it-away-from-us

I supported @funshee and @omasilem

I feel grateful and honored, it is a great encouragement and an opportunity to learn how to write real life stories.
Congratulations to the other writers for their wonderful stories.

congrats for all the winners

i'm gonna revealed my little secret at my story
https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@faitz007/secret-between-brats-like-us

i have engage on @mhizrutty and @kingsleyy

Big congratulations dear friends @popurri
@marilour and @diikaan . Same goes to the honorable mentions. Well-done guys.

Thank you very much 🤗

Here is my entry for this week's contest. I commented on @ faitz007 and @ seki1 works.

https://ecency.com/hive-170798/@borderline.babe/can-you-keep-a-secret

This week is fun. I loved reading the stories! it felt like I was getting closer to people on hive. 🙏🤗🤗

Here is my entry
https://hive.blog/hive-170798/@arduilcelebren/my-secret-paintings

supported @lenaspiritual , @mrenglish, @kinganny so far

Hello writers!
This is the link to my entry for this prompt...thanks and do have a wonderful day😊👋

https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@timix648/discovering-the-hidden-truth

Congratulations to the winners
I have engaged on @funshee and @arduilcelebren

And this is my entry https://ecency.com/hive-170798/@pearlsuddy/my-secret-crush

Hello everyone

Here’s my entry for this week’s prompt

https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@ibbtammy/my-friends-secret

I supported @funshee @universoperdido @cypher09

Hello @theinkwell. My secret is out now! 😄
https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@kemmyb/the-secret-night-out-non

Comments--
-Universoperdido
-Dianelson
-Marynn

Here's my link🌺:
https://ecency.com/hive-170798/@jhymi/the-movie-that-is-my
I supported
-dianelson
-ibbtammy

Creative nonfiction can be painful. Even a simple story like a secret hiding place when I was little reveals too much. Do you know why children go to secret hiding places? It's because they are scared and they find safety in confined spaces. When it comes to childhood I prefer to write fiction even though the character is really me.

Consider the character of Professor Digory in Narnia and Digory as a child in The Magician's Nephew. The character is exactly the author (Clive Staples), but he chose to write about himself in a fictional context. Sometimes I feel it is easier to write fiction.

I hope I am not late. Here's my entry

https://ecency.com/hive-170798/@talon12/secret-that-tears

I interacted with @princessbusayo and @omasilem

There are 2 pages
Pages