Creative Nonfiction Prompt #33

in The Ink Well11 months ago (edited)

Creative Nonfiction in The Ink Well Prompt #33

Source

Welcome to The Ink Well's weekly creative nonfiction contest!

In this post, we'll announce the winners from last week's contest and provide the prompt for the coming week.


Before You Write Your Creative Nonfiction Post...


We ask that you read our Creative Nonfiction Tips post to learn about the creative nonfiction genre and review our guidelines.


Important notes:

  • Creative nonfiction stories are based on your real-life experiences.
  • We are looking for real short stories! Not advice columns, reports on crime or corruption in your city, observations on nature, recipes, religion, politics, or any other nonfiction content. Just real-life short stories.
  • Ideal story length is between 750 and 1500 words, but your story must be at least 350 words, at a minimum to be curated.
  • Please focus on quality content. Read and edit for errors! Use a grammar checker before you post your story.
  • We expect everyone who posts in The Ink Well to read and comment on at least two other stories for each one published.
  • Do not post stories featuring physical abuse, graphic violence, erotica or NSFW content.

divider

Last Week's Creative Nonfiction Winners

Thank you to all who participated in last week's prompt Nature

Last week's participants

@arduilcelebren@amiableamara@faitz007
@aimharryianne@mrenglish@hazmat
@czander@balikis95@timix648
@kinganny@cool08@mathpen
@george-dee@merit.ahama@jjmusa2004
@nelson-george@popurri@nkemakonam89
@marynn@cypher09@vivaebony
@lightpen@blessworld@nancybriti1
@ubani@nmore@dianelson
@chincoculbert@smc.arike.oba@mineopoly
@kingsleyy@jhymi@amiegeoffrey
@treasuree@rukkie@wongi
@juniorgomez@rammargarita@abigail04
@ibbtammy@aloysiusmbaba

Honorable Mentions of the Week

@nancybriti1
The thrill of the first time

The son of the owners of the house was our guide. He and I hit it off immediately: we liked each other very much from the first moment we saw each other. On our tour of the hacienda, he took me to where the horses were and promised me that the next day he would teach me how to ride.

@dianelson
A moment of peace

Then I submerged my entire body. I couldn't swim back then, I still can't swim now but it felt surreal just simply being in the water. I raised my face to the sky and let my body float.

@nmore
Almost Went to Heaven

I am standing on top of a majestic mountain, gazing out at the breathtaking view before me. The sight that meets my eyes is awe-inspiring. Below me, a tranquil lake shimmers like a jewel, hidden amongst lush forests, and rolling hills. The water is a deep, clear blue, reflecting the sky above it. The sky is like an infinite canvas painted in shades of blue, stretching out on the horizon.

@Wongi
Nature Always Comes Through

Till date, I still love star gazing as it is very soothing and it helps whenever I feel the urge to clear my mind. From my room window, I get a very nice view of the sky at night, what more could I ask for.

@chincoculbert
Humans are humans, fishes are fishes

But I didn't die, instead I became one with the water. It felt like a nerve in my brain had been calmed, I just laid there as the water did it’s thing with my body. It felt good, it was amazing even and it certainly was the best encounter with nature I've ever had.

Third Place: Wins 2 Hive

Our third place winner is @vivaebony, with the story:

Nature's Sanctuary

Source

However, an unexpected event occurred in my life. I lost one of my favorite aunties and the news constantly kept flashing anew in my head, destabilizing my thoughts and tearing my feelings apart. My visit to the garden became more frequent as it brought me solace and the warmth of the surroundings enveloped my heart.

Second Place: Wins 3 Hive

Our second place winner is @popurri, with the story:

Chasing the Butterfly

Source

We approached it very carefully, my dad in front and his four daughters behind him. But a short distance before we reached the tree, she sensed our presence and flapping her dark wings, she flew through the vegetation.

First Place: Wins 5 Hive

Our first place winner is @mineopoly, with the story:

The Acorn

Source

In times of trouble I would kneel down. I would empty my mind of the present times and reflect on the age of the tree and the history that has passed through this forest. Each of these trees has a story. I listened and they spoke. Sometimes I would even speak out loud to the trees.

divider

This Week's Prompt #33:

Reflection

Reflections can take many forms—how we view ourselves or how others see. It could also be taken literally—a reflected image seen in a mirror or pond.

This week we ask you to write a personal story using any of the words related to reflection—reflect, image, picture, reflected, mirror.

For this topic there are several possible approaches. For example:

  • Tell us how you make time in your busy life for reflection and how it calms and rejuvenates you.
  • Perhaps you engaged with a friend and didn’t like the reflection you saw of yourself through their eyes.
  • Maybe you only realized that you’d put on a lot of weight because you saw a reflection of yourself in a shop's window while passing by.
  • After a meditative period you decided to alter your chosen path with either beneficial or disastrous consequences.

Tell us about it!

Have fun and good luck! We look forward to reading your stories.

divider

Contest Rules

  • You have 6 days to write your story from the date of this prompt post. Be sure to check the deadline countdown.
  • Write a real-life story with the creative elements of fiction, like characters, dialogue, scene setting and a story conflict.
  • Post your story in The Ink Well Community.
  • Please use the tags #creativenonfiction and #inkwellprompt on these posts. Other possible tags: #writing #inkwellprompt #nonfiction
  • Stories must be written in English. If you've translated the post, it's best to add the original version below the translation. Do not write mixed language paragraphs.
  • Read and comment on at least two stories in the community. Add a link to your story as a comment on this post.

And be sure to remember to join The Ink Well community!

divider

Prizes

Prizes are only for stories written for this week's prompt

  • First place : 5 Hive.
  • Second place : 3 Hive.
  • Third place : 2 Hive.
divider

Interested in joining our community? Start by joining Hive!

Join here at Hive Onboard.

Already a Hive member? Click Subscribe at the top of The Ink Well community home page.

Questions? Ask The Ink Well on Discord .

inkwell

We invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @millycf1976, @gracielaacevedo, @grindan, @yaziris and @itsostylish.

How to Follow Our Curation Trail

You can follow our curation trail by going to our hive.vote curation trail page and clicking the follow button.

How to Delegate to The Ink Well

We welcome delegations! These support our community in many ways, including helping us to provide support to quality content creators through curation and contests.

50 HP100 HP500 HP1000 HP5000 HP

A big thank you to all of our delegators:

@jayna, @felt.buzz, @zeurich, @marcybetancourt, @agmoore, @marlyncabrera, @itsostylish, @stormcharmer, @iamraincrystal, @preparedwombat, @gracielaacevedo, @chocolatescorpi, @samsmith1971, @grindan, @jackdeathblack, @josemalavem, @riverflows, @generikat, @mineopoly, @timix648, @morey-lezama, @evagavilan2, @popurri, @mrenglish, @stuartcturnbull, @nelson-george, @marilour, @rinconpoetico7, @funshee, @amiegeoffrey, @loveah, @wongi, @balikis95, @juniorgomez, and @hazmat.

twitterbannerFind us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Congratulations to all the winners. Outstanding stories this week🤗💕

Congratulations to the winners and the honorable mentioned. I must also commend @theinkwell team. You are doing a great job.

Congratulations to the winners and honorable mentions.
Good work @inkwell

Greetings respected writers.
Congratulations to the winners and honorable mention recipients👏👏👏
Happy weekend

Thank you so much @theinkwell, I'm so grateful.

Congratulations to @mineopoly, @popurri, and the honorable mentions.

Congrats to alll winners 💪👏👏🤗🤗 Reflection is a great prompt I will start working now and share it in the morning tomorrow 🤗🤗

Congratulations to all the winners. I am very grateful and happy for this mention. Nice Saturday

Hello respected writers.
Congratulations to the winners and honorable mention recipients👏👏
Have a splendid weekend

https://ecency.com/hive-170798/@cool08/the-seen-me
My submission above
Congrats to all the winners and the honorable mentioned

Congratulations to everyone that won.

Hahahaha. I didn't expect to win anything. Congratulations to nature and all the stories this week and the curators. You are always a source of encouragement to me.

Big congratulations to all the winners and honourable mention.

Thank you very much for the award and congratulations to all the winners.

here is my entry:
https://ecency.com/hive-170798/@arduilcelebren/dogs-teach-us-the-art

supported: @universoperdido , @princess-dara so far. Thank you for the opportunity 🙏🤗

congratulations to the winners... keep it up

Congratulations to all the winners and more wins to all participants.

Here is my entry
https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@ginika/self-reflection-on-my-weight-gain

Here's my entry:

https://ecency.com/hive-170798/@jhymi/the-girl-in-the-mirror

Supported

-Samsmith1971
-Dianelson
-Universoperdido

Here's my entry:
https://ecency.com/hive-170798/@jhymi/the-girl-in-the-mirror
Supported
-dianelson
-universoperdido
-samsmith1971

Good evening....
Congratulations to all the winners and honorable mentions 😊

Here's my entry @theinkwell
https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@smc.arike.oba/his-words-a-short-story-non-fiction

There are 2 pages
Pages