Creative Nonfiction Prompt #42

in The Ink Well9 months ago (edited)

Creative Nonfiction in The Ink Well Prompt #42

Source

Welcome to The Ink Well's weekly creative nonfiction contest!

In this post, we'll announce the winners from last week's contest and provide the prompt for the coming week.


Before You Write Your Creative Nonfiction Post...


We ask that you read our Creative Nonfiction Tips post to learn about the creative nonfiction genre and review our guidelines.


Important notes:

  • Creative nonfiction stories are based on your real-life experiences.
  • We are looking for real short stories! Not advice columns, reports on crime or corruption in your city, observations on nature, recipes, religion, politics, or any other nonfiction content. Just real-life short stories.
  • Ideal story length is between 750 and 1500 words, but your story must be at least 350 words, at a minimum to be curated.
  • Please focus on quality content. Read and edit for errors! Use a grammar checker before you post your story.
  • We expect everyone who posts in The Ink Well to read and comment on at least two other stories for each one published.
  • Do not post stories featuring physical abuse, graphic violence, erotica or NSFW content.

divider

Last Week's Creative Nonfiction Winners

Thank you to all who participated in last week's prompt Intuition

Last week's participants

@jjmusa2004@blessworld@holler
@popurri@kinganny@rare-gem
@bemier@mrenglish@universoperdido
@hazmat@wallay@abdul-qudus
@fashtioluwa@george-dee@marynn
@marriot5464@lightpen@vanessakor
@jazclassic@ibbtammy@samsmith1971
@supernova004@nancybriti1@rammargarita
@juniorgomez@amiegeoffrey@rukkie
@inessita@lydiapauline@jhymi

Honorable Mentions of the Week

@diikaan
Landlord Palaver

The facilities are seldom maintained, rents constantly hiked without prior notice and eviction notices served without a grace window as stipulated by law. In their houses, landlords take the position of demigods where everything starts and ends with them and their tenants have no input or choice whatsoever.

@lightpen
In defiance of my intuition

One of them raised up his hoodie and what I saw underneath was a pistol. Immediately I saw the weapon, I complied with all their demands.

@amiegeoffrey
The Whispers of my Soul

The look on my face was like that of a prodigal son who rebelled against his father; I felt broken because I rebelled against my intuition, I managed to collect my phone, but when I double-tapped the screen, a part of the screen was even broken, I guess they stepped on it mistakenly, and lastly, the battery even reduced to 10%. "I should have listened to you", I soliloquized, but all I heard was "It's too late now!"

@jhymi
Saved By The Sixth

I woke up one morning, a week later and knew something was amiss. That churning and queasiness in my stomach that spelt impending doom was at full blast. I barely donned my bathrobe as I raced out of my room and dashed outside like a woman possessed. I saw him handing the papers to Dad with a pen. And my world stilled. Slowing down to a painful halt as my mind worked in double time. I saw the law enforcement. I saw the house being seized. All manner of destruction before my mind's eye like a movie.

Third Place: Wins 2 Hive

Our third place winner is @popurri, with the story:

Promise kept

Source

I entered with my daughter to the first room full of huge stained glass windows that covered the walls and ceilings, the colorful painted light illuminated the room. The atmosphere was humid and even though there were people sitting on the benches and walking in the different rooms, it felt quiet. We went up some granite stairs to the place where the image of the virgin was, a holy card that according to the story was found in the hand of the Indian Coromoto when he died.

Second Place: Wins 3 Hive

Our second place winner is @marriot5464, with the story:

Silent Whispers In My Heart

Source

When I reached my apartment, an eerie silence greeted me. It was so unlike my Emmanuel to be so quiet, especially when there was power. Either he filled the space with music or loud noise from the TV from watching his favorite Nollywood show, but that day, it was as though time had stopped in his absence.

First Place: Wins 5 Hive

Our first place winner is @nancybriti1, with the story:

One night in front of a broken house

Source

To tell him that it was an assumption, that my instinct as a woman was giving me signals, would have been to accept the madness he was accusing me of. So I simply looked him in the face and perhaps in order not to argue at that moment, I gave him my silence. Still, silence also speaks loudly, I thought, trying to ward off the dark presage of a breakup.

divider

This Week's Prompt #42:


Object

There are so many interpretations for this word that it should produce some really interesting creative stories. Someone could be the object of your interest, or you might be inexplicably drawn to a particular object. Let your imagination roam over the stories that make up your life to find something wonderful to share.

This week we ask you to write a creative personal story that reads like fiction using words related to 'object'.

For this topic, there are several possible approaches. For example:

  • Reflect on a situation where someone became the object of your unwanted affection. Pursue the feelings of rejection or acceptance that you ultimately experienced.
  • Perhaps a well-worn, special object became a talisman that you felt brought you luck.
  • Maybe you objected strongly to an otherwise socially acceptable strategy that your friends’ or family members’ had already decided to embark upon.
  • Discuss your sense of loss when a favorite object was carelessly destroyed.

Tell us about it! And remember to integrate storytelling elements like characters, scene setting, dialogue and action to bring your story to life!

Have fun and good luck! We look forward to reading your stories.

divider

Contest Rules

  • You have 6 days to write your story from the date of this prompt post. Be sure to check the deadline countdown.
  • Write a real-life story with the creative elements of fiction, like characters, dialogue, scene setting and a story conflict.
  • Post your story in The Ink Well Community.
  • Please use the tags #creativenonfiction and #inkwellprompt on these posts. Other possible tags: #writing #inkwellprompt #nonfiction
  • Stories must be written in English. If you've translated the post, it's best to add the original version below the translation. Do not write mixed language paragraphs.
  • Read and comment on at least two stories in the community. Add a link to your story as a comment on this post.

And be sure to remember to join The Ink Well community!

divider

Prizes

Prizes are only for stories written for this week's prompt

  • First place : 5 Hive
  • Second place : 3 Hive.
  • Third place : 2 Hive.
divider

Interested in joining our community? Start by joining Hive!

Join here at Hive Onboard.

Already a Hive member? Click Subscribe at the top of The Ink Well community home page.

Questions? Ask The Ink Well on Discord .

inkwell

We invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @samsmith1971, @gracielaacevedo, @grindan, @yaziris and @itsostylish.

How to Follow Our Curation Trail

You can follow our curation trail by going to our hive.vote curation trail page and clicking the follow button.

How to Delegate to The Ink Well

We welcome delegations! These support our community in many ways, including helping us to provide support to quality content creators through curation and contests.

50 HP100 HP500 HP1000 HP5000 HP

A big thank you to all of our delegators:

@jayna, @felt.buzz, @zeurich, @itsostylish, @marcybetancourt, @agmoore, @marlyncabrera, @stormcharmer, @iamraincrystal, @preparedwombat, @gracielaacevedo, @chocolatescorpi, @timix648, @samsmith1971, @grindan, @jackdeathblack, @josemalavem, @riverflows, @generikat, @mineopoly, @hazmat, @treasuree, @kenechukwu97, @innfauno12, @kingsleyy, @morey-lezama, @evagavilan2, @popurri, @mrenglish, @stuartcturnbull, @nelson-george, @marilour, @rinconpoetico7, @funshee, @amiegeoffrey, @loveah, @wongi, @balikis95, @juniorgomez, and @jhymi.

twitterbannerFind us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Sort:  

Great prompt! So many interpretations--then the prompts always are open that way. Should get some interesting pieces. I am tempted....😇

Resistance is futile, @agmoore! 😄

Congratulations to @nancybriti1, @marriot5464 and @popurri and to the special mentions for their great work!

Thank you very much, my friend

Thank you so much @theinkwell . Congratulations to all that won and the honorable mentions.

My previous @v4vapp proposal has expired. I have a new one which is running but unfunded right now. I'm still running @v4vapp and all my other services.

I've just updated v4v.app and I'm getting ready for some exciting new features after the next hard fork.

Please consider asking your friends to vote for prop #265 or consider unvoting the return vote.

For understandable reasons in the current crypto climate it is harder to get funded by the DHF, I accept this so I'm asking a wider audience for help again. I'll also add that I power up Hive every day and usually power up larger amounts on 1st of the Month. I'm on Hive for ideological reasons much more than for only economic benefit.

Additionally you can also help with a vote for Brianoflondon's Witness using KeyChain or HiveSigner

If you have used v4v.app I'd really like to hear your feedback, and if you haven't I'd be happy to hear why or whether there are other things you want it to do.

Many thanks, friends. Honored and grateful for that first place. Also congratulations to all the other winners. Hugs to all

This is a great prompt! Really want to write on this .

Congratulations to the winners.
Here is my entry
https://ecency.com/hive-170798/@wallay/the-object-that-got-my
Supported @mrenglish

Congratulations @theinkwell! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - July 2023 Winners List
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 12
Be ready for the August edition of the Hive Power Up Month!

Congratulations to all the great featured writers

Congratulations to the winners for the previous prompt.
@jhymi put in a nice one, glad to see it made the honourable mentions as I really enjoyed reading that one.

Here's the link to my entry this week
https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@hazmat/love-at-first-sight

I've also engaged on posts by other authors.

Congratulations to all the winners.
Here is my entry: https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@kinganny/house-number-24

Thank you for the opportunity to participate, here's my entry

https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@jjmusa2004/the-missing-ball

Congratulations @theinkwell! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 1000 HP on Hive Power Up Day and got the biggest Power-Bee!
See you at the next Power Up day to see if you will repeat this feat.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 13
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - July 2023 Winners List
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 12

Hello, The Ink Well. Here's my story on this prompt--
https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@kemmyb/water-globe-memories

Comments--
-Innfauno12
-Jjmusa2004

Here's my entry 🌺🤗
https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@jhymi/little-objects

Supported
-marriot5464
-kemmyb
-ibbtammy
-stuartcturnbull