You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Ink well Newsletter - Breaking news - Hive, Steem and What it all Means

in The Ink Well4 years ago (edited)

Hi Chiny.

Interesting point and the answer is both... for now.

My reasoning is simple. Both ocd and curie will be on both chains. The Ink Well community will be on both chains. So my advice for everyone would be to write their posts on either hive or one of the steem websites, so they've got the markdown/html (body of text for the post) ready, then simply make sure they're signed into both blockchains and publish (copy/paste) to both.

I am going to monitor what happens in regards to both steem and hive over the next few weeks. I won't be able to comment or ask the other mods to comment interact on both blockchains, as this is essentially doubling our workload. I'm already overworked with everything I do on steem so the thought of doubling it... well I just wouldn't be able to do it.

This raises a big question, where are we all going to do our comment engagement, supporting each other by reading and feeding back on each other's work. This was a big reason why I started The Ink Well, partly to reinvigorate creative writing on steem through rewards (thanks to the curation guilds and their kindness in supporting us) but also to try and get fictioneers and poets talking and commenting again.

I think there is going to be a week transitional period where we'll see who and how much of the steem community have migrated to Hive, and how fully (i.e. if they have simply abandoned steem to be only on hive). I suspect that it will be about 80%-90% will move over to Hive and conduct the majority of their engagement and content creation there. If that's the case we'll probably follow suit in running everything from Hive, but also posting to steem for as long as it offers up us all extra value.

For now, my advice is to post to both blockchains (once hive is up and running on Friday), but we will be answering, and commenting on steem... but this could change very quickly and I would announce any change and follow up to make sure everyone knew by commenting to them personally.

Which is why I'm monitoring closely what happens in the next week or two. My personal opinion is that steem will be taken over by Justin Sun as the witnesses that have been keeping a stalemate simply move over to Hive. I can only see a few possibilities for steem in that instance, Justin Sun develops it in full competition to Hive (unlikely as the history of what has happened over the last 4 weeks shows his 'one ring to rule them all' attitude means his blockchain would be centralized, leaving Hive the clear winner for a decentralized social network/blogging platform) or he might try and turn it into a niche content community for China, Asia and South East Asia (I can see this being more of a possibility), or who knows, the guy is a billionaire, he might just do some crazy shit and burn it all to the ground in a fit of rage. Anyway, if Hive is a success and steem falters, it's likely the curation guilds will move over to Hive only, and then possibly The Ink Well will abandon steem entirely. But, and this is important to note, this is all my own conjecture, my opinion doesn't mean sht lol. Anything could happen. So I'm keeping The Ink Well community, and all the active members here, options 100% open until it all plays out.

If you post to steem and hive you'll be earning both steem and hive tokens, so my advice is to do that. The Ink Well's content will be published on both steem and Hive.

I will announce any change to that with plenty of time for everyone to read about it and again with an announcement that is important like that, I would use the mass tag like I did in this post, even though it's not something I like doing.

Hope all this clarifies things. As usual, this is raj commenting from the community account 🤣

Lol, I might actually proofread, edit and spruce up this comment to make it into a post. I'll give you a shout out for helping inspire it if I do 😉

Sort:  

Haha. Thanks. Sure, there will be massive engagement after launch as people will be excited and all. The question here is, will it last? I've seen people fall out of steem but still made it back in the end. It will be a huge plus if both communities can coexist.

The price too will determine the whole. As much as we love the community, it's still money after all. Whatever happens, I hope my ink continues to flow.

The price too will determine the whole. As much as we love the community, it's still money after all. Whatever happens, I hope my ink continues to flow.

Absolutely. I had a conversation with what I didn't know at the time was a major behind the scenes witness of hive yesterday and he addmited what I said about the carrot and the stick.

Steem/hive whatever you call it has one USP at the moment for most.... rewards!