The Ink Well Highlights Magazine # 153

in The Ink Well21 days ago

TheInkWellMagazine.png

Image modified using a picture by Becca Clark from Pixabay

This periodic magazine highlights a small selection of short stories posted to The Ink Well community that stood out and were awarded a Curie vote. Thank you to all authors in The Ink Well for sharing your creative work!

Important Note

We are showcasing authors who have contributed well-written and edited stories, have read and commented on the work of other authors and comply with all of the community rules posted on our home page. These activities help our community thrive.

The following are just a few of our favorite stories from April 4 to April 10 / 2024.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @loveth97

False accusation

image.png

Pexels

“You're always in this room. Going through your dad's books looking for novels to read, and it's your job to clean it. I know you're the one that took my money. You better return it!” she shouted.

I was asked to leave the room, with threats not to speak to her again or enter the room if I didn't return the money. My hunger suddenly vanished, and I went to my room to lie down, I knew I didn't take the money and I also knew nobody in the house would have taken it. We were well provided for, and we didn't have a cause to steal. I lay there even when the others came back, refusing to eat or come out.

@loveth97

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @universoperdido

Blow From The Past

image.png

Unsplash

Picking up the phone and dialing was like crossing a bridge of painful shame.
"Hello, Roman, how are you?" I asked almost whispering, afraid of being hit by rejection.
"What do you want?" He replied curtly.
"I heard about Samuel and just wanted to know what happened."
"For what?" He raised his voice startling me. "My brother died four years ago and you're just calling now? It's clear he was very important to you."
"Then it wasn't you who sent me the message?"

@universoperdido

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @lara-bee

Childhood Envy

image.png

Unsplash

I got my report card on the day we were vacating and I came second in the class. I checked the name on the report card again to be sure was mine and immediately I confirmed it, I just started weeping.

I was so pained and couldn't control my emotions as I cried with my report card firmly held because I didn't want anyone to see my position.

"Who came first?" I asked myself and immediately wiped my tears while I went to ask around for my classmate's position.

I had barely asked five of them when I saw some students gathered around Anu. I rushed to check what was happening and discovered that Anu had come first in the class.

@lara-bee
TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @jjmusa2004

The interview

image.png

Pexels

"That was not intentional, and I sincerely apologize, ma." I said, trying to act soberly. The other people in the room asked more questions, to which I replied with as much sincerity even though I was teased often by the interviewers, and at some point, the atmosphere became one full of laughter as the interviewers took their time to relate freely with me being the last to be interviewed, including the lady who initially seemed harsh. I felt welcomed already in their midst. The man at the extreme ended the interview after some time of laughter. He seemed to be a major stakeholder, if not the boss, as I assumed.

"I hope to see you around soon, Miss Sandra; you're full of humor." He said it with a wave of his hand as he dismissed me.

@jjmusa2004
TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @deraaa

Balam

image.png

Pexels

“Ji-woo. You have to help me.”

Song Eun-Kyung’s frantic call stole the sleep from the poor maid.

“My lady. It is well into the night. What are you doing here?” Ji-woo asked with wide eyes, “You are not supposed to soil your shoes stepping into a servant’s quarters.”

“You are also my friend. Now, you have to help me.”

“My lady, I have many super powers but I can’t get you out of this marriage. I’m not running away with you either.”

@deraaa

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @wongi

On The Contrary

image.png

Pexels

“The assistant female senior prefect is…Maryann” the principal announced.

I immediately burst out laughing as this was a dream come true for me. After the incident at the backyard the previous week and the incessant bragging from Maryann, I silently wished she would become Vivian's assistant.

Finally, Vivian was announced as the senior prefect and the crowd went crazy. She was given a well deserved round of applause. Shortly after the swearing-in ceremony, the gathering was dismissed.

I sat and watched as Maryann angrily stormed out of the auditorium. It must have been a heartbreaking moment for her when she realised she was appointed the assistant to someone who she always mocked.

@wongi
TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @iskawrites

Children are the living messages we send to a time we will not see

image.png

Pixabay

She was not just pregnant, she was already 4 months gone.

“We cannot handle a new baby with Sara’s condition” Anastasia was weeping profusely now. Her blue eyes were a darker shade than normal and her eye bags sagging even more.

“You're 4 months gone. There's nothing we can do babe. Maybe this is God replacing Sara for us”

Anastasia turned angry eyes at him.

“You want her to die too?”

@iskawrites

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

@jayna , @gracielaacevedo , @yaziris , @itsostylish , @samsmith1971, and @agmoore

p.s. You can see the past magazines here: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22,23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46,47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67,68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107,108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120, 121, 122, 123, 124, 125, 126, 127, 128,129,130, 131,132,133,134, 135, 136, 138, 139,140, 141, 142, 143, 144, 145, 146,147, 148, 149, 150, 151, 152,

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Interested in joining our community? Start by joining Hive!

Join here at Hive Onboard

Already a Hive member? Click Subscribe at the top of The Ink Well community home page.

Questions? Ask The Ink Well on Discord.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

We invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @gracielaacevedo, @yaziris, @itsostylish, @samsmith1971 and @agmoore.

How to Follow Our Curation Trail

You can follow our curation trail by going to our hive.vote curation trail page and clicking the follow button.

How to Delegate to The Ink Well

We welcome delegations! These support our community in many ways, including helping us to provide support to quality content creators through curation and contests.

50 HP
100 HP
500 HP
1000 HP
5000 HP
click here
click here
click here
click here
click here

A big thank you to all of our delegators:

@jayna, @felt.buzz, @itsostylish, @blueeyes8960, @agmoore, @marcybetancourt, @marlyncabrera, @stormcharmer, @juniorgomez, @iamraincrystal, @preparedwombat, @gracielaacevedo, @timix648, @samsmith1971, @jackdeathblack, @josemalavem, @riverflows, @generikat, @mineopoly, @hazmat, @treasuree, @innfauno12, @kingsleyy, @popurri, @nancybriti1, @marynn, @jjmusa2004, @universoperdido, @rinconpoetico7, @nathy33, @marriot5464, @iyimoga, @morey-lezama, @evagavilan2, @moneykeep, @mrenglish, @stuartcturnbull, @marilour, @funshee, @amiegeoffrey, @balikis95, @cool08, @rukkie, @raymondpeter, @emreal, @tomiajax, @kushyzee, @rare-gem, @ricurohemi28, @benwesterham.

Capture.JPG
Click banner to visit our community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Sort:  

Congratulations, @loveth97, @universoperdido, @lara-bee, @jjmusa2004, @deraaa, @wongi, @iskawrites!
Your stories have been selected to be part of the 153th Featured Author Magazine. Thank you very much for publishing in our community!!

Thank you so much, I'm honoured

Thank you so much 🥳🥳🥳

Grateful for the recognition!

Thanks you so much😁

Thank you so much.

Congratulations to the selected writers 😘🌻

Well done to the selected writers and keep on writing everyone else.