The Ink Well Highlights Magazine # 155

in The Ink Well13 days ago

TheInkWellMagazine.png

Image modified using a picture by Becca Clark from Pixabay

This periodic magazine highlights a small selection of short stories posted to The Ink Well community that stood out and were awarded a Curie vote. Thank you to all authors in The Ink Well for sharing your creative work!

Important Note

We are showcasing authors who have contributed well-written and edited stories, have read and commented on the work of other authors and comply with all of the community rules posted on our home page. These activities help our community thrive.

The following are just a few of our favorite stories from April 11 to April 17 / 2024.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @deirdyweirdy

Superwoman!

image.png

Image by the author

Sprinting as fast as I could back to our house I began knocking loudly on the door shouting " I’ve called the police and they’re on their way." Of course, there wasn't a phonebox for miles but it had the desired effect as the door was wrenched open and the two men dashed out, fleeing through the alleyway opposite. My parents were unharmed but the takings had been taken.
Only recently I found out from his son that the neighbour I'd run to for help had set up the robbery, knowing my mother's Monday morning routine.

@deirdyweirdy
TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @kei2

A Witch and Her Monster

image.png

Image generated with meta.ai

“Icka, it is me, your father,” he echoed.

I stopped yelling and he began to hum again. I recognized the song. I was shocked that I could remember but It was the lullaby he sang to me the day I was born.

“I didn't run away from you Icka. That night, we fought to protect you. The witch didn't leave us just like that, since she couldn't have you, she turned me into a beast.” tears rolled down his face.

@kei2
TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @universoperdido

image.png

Unsplash

"Forgive me, Miriam...! I...!" Stammered my father with his throat choked with shame.

"Go away! I hate you! I never want to see you again! How dare you look at me and your son's face after what you did!"

My mother's side lashed out with hurtful anger, and contempt and was riddled with pain. My father quickly gave up and exclaimed retreat, the end of the battle confirmed with a banging on the front door and my mother crying in the middle of the living room.

@universoperdido

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @litguru

Homebound

image.png

Images generated using Stable Diffusion software

"If I may ask," Emma said, "what exactly is it about me that you don't like?"

Paul was taken aback. Why was she asking him this?

"It's not that I don't like you," he told her. "It's just that, ah, it's not healthy for a woman to be so attached to a... machine. I know you helped raise her, but it is now time to move on."

"Is that all?" Emma asked.

"Is that not enough?" Paul said defensively, feeling annoyed that he had to explain himself to an android.

@litguru

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @nancybriti1

Nothing to fear

image.png

Pixabay

That day, while my aunt tried to calm me down, all I could see was the kiss drawn on my hand disappearing and my mum not coming back. I think I fell asleep at one point, because when I opened my eyes, I was lying on the sofa with the TV on. Aunt Edelmira was still in front of the window looking out: it was already dark.
"I love my mum. I want to go home," I started to say and Aunt Edelmira came and hugged me tightly:

"Your mother is coming, Camila," she said softly in my ear, "Calm down. There's nothing to be afraid of.

@nancybriti1

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @zyzymena

A second chance

image.png

Pixabay

"I'm glad you girls came home so we can resolve this issue amicably,” my mother began. “It's unheard of that two sisters live under the same roof but do not speak to each other. No matter what you do to each other, it shouldn't have gotten to that."

"Look mum! I am not interested in making peace. I just want her to move out of my house. I am tired of condoning her nonsense," I blurted.

"Why do you raise your voice at me? My mother queried. “I spoke softly and I expect you to speak the same way to me." She chided.

@zyzymena

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

@jayna , @gracielaacevedo , @yaziris , @itsostylish , @samsmith1971, and @agmoore

p.s. You can see the past magazines here: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22,23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46,47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67,68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107,108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120, 121, 122, 123, 124, 125, 126, 127, 128,129,130, 131,132,133,134, 135, 136, 138, 139,140, 141, 142, 143, 144, 145, 146,147, 148, 149, 150, 151, 152, 153, 154

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Interested in joining our community? Start by joining Hive!

Join here at Hive Onboard

Already a Hive member? Click Subscribe at the top of The Ink Well community home page.

Questions? Ask The Ink Well on Discord.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

We invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @gracielaacevedo, @yaziris, @itsostylish, @samsmith1971 and @agmoore.

How to Follow Our Curation Trail

You can follow our curation trail by going to our hive.vote curation trail page and clicking the follow button.

How to Delegate to The Ink Well

We welcome delegations! These support our community in many ways, including helping us to provide support to quality content creators through curation and contests.

50 HP
100 HP
500 HP
1000 HP
5000 HP
click here
click here
click here
click here
click here

A big thank you to all of our delegators:

@jayna, @felt.buzz, @itsostylish, @blueeyes8960, @agmoore, @marcybetancourt, @marlyncabrera, @stormcharmer, @juniorgomez, @iamraincrystal, @preparedwombat, @gracielaacevedo, @timix648, @samsmith1971, @jackdeathblack, @josemalavem, @riverflows, @generikat, @mineopoly, @hazmat, @treasuree, @innfauno12, @kingsleyy, @popurri, @nancybriti1, @marynn, @jjmusa2004, @universoperdido, @rinconpoetico7, @nathy33, @marriot5464, @iyimoga, @morey-lezama, @evagavilan2, @moneykeep, @mrenglish, @stuartcturnbull, @marilour, @funshee, @amiegeoffrey, @balikis95, @cool08, @rukkie, @raymondpeter, @emreal, @tomiajax, @kushyzee, @rare-gem, @ricurohemi28, @benwesterham.

Capture.JPG
Click banner to visit our community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Sort:  

Congratulations, @deirdyweirdy, @kei2, @universoperdido, @nancybriti1, @zyzymena @litguru!
Your stories have been selected to be part of the 155th Featured Author Magazine. Thank you very much for publishing in our community!!

Thanks so much! I'm honoured!

Thank you, @theinkwell! 🌺

Thank you so much. I'm truly honoured and humbled by this.

Thank you so much @theinkwell.

Thank you very much for the recognition!

Respect and love to all those present. All of your skills always lead us to a new story. Big thanks to the community for bringing us today's wonderful curation with great passion.

Hi! I've seen many Inleo users post in this community, and we have an initiative running every month where we give them a monthly calendar with ideas to post. Usually the topics can be matched with specific communities and we would like to partner with them to get more users to know the communities as well as know about this monthly initiative. The participants get curation and participate in a draft for one of several Inleo Premium account at the end of the month.

If you would like to do this partnership (maybe for one or two of the days of the next calendars) let me know!